We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly”

The Plaice Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 38 Restaurants in Salcombe
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Friendly”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Visited The Plaice with our two young children, were made to feel right at home, the children were given colouring in sheets and activity place mats which kept them happy and quiet,There was a good range of things to choose from on the children's menu and both our children loved the chicken nuggets, My wife and i had the seafood platter full of dipping sauces, fish goujons, scampi, calamari and prawns to name a few, good choice it was delicious. lovely range of desserts on display (my wife's chocolate brownie was to die for) The staff were brilliant with my children, very patient and friendly.The Plaice does not get the credit it deserves, will definitely be taking ourselves back this week for more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    11
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic new menu”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Have visited this restaurant a few times in the last couple of years whilst being on holiday in salcombe and always had a lovely experience, sampled some of the delights on the new menu and would definitely recommend that you give it a try, sizzling prawns are delicious and the pork burger was just as good, staff are more than helpful and very friendly. All in all a winner in our eyes. Will most certainly be back for more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaTJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Flustered staff, Grumpy management”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have been regular customers at the Plaice, it is one of the few places in Salcombe that you can always get a table. We put it down to not being licenced, as several times we have been the only customers. We go back as it is one of the few chip shops where you can get grilled fish, and my children love the children's chicken nuggets,clearly made from pieces of chicken breast. The fish has been cooked well in the past but yesterday's visit was terrible. The waitress was clearly new, not familiar with the menu ( didn't seem to know that there were children's meals) We asked for two children's and two adults meals. It took several times of us reiterating the order for her to get it right, as she kept reading the order as one grilled fish, not two. From.the clear raised voices from the kitchen area, it appeared that she had been getting several orders wrong. Staff checked the quantities on ours. When it arrived it seemed we had been given four adult meals, which we then queried. Every new waitress makes mistakes, but we were then astonished by the attitude of the management. They were reluctant to charge us for children's meals as they said that there were also nuggets on the adult menu. I said I had asked for children's ( 3 times!). The bill was grudgingly amended and the bill thrust towards us with no apology. I realise they were all having a bad day, but when they take it out on the customers, they will find that those customers never go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were greeted at the entrance by some locals who said you can't go wrong here. Sadly it's been a long time since we've experienced fish and chips cooked so badly. My partner ordered grilled COD it was like rubber and she could not eat it, she also asked for no tomatos but they were on the plate. We were offered a side portion or roast Mediterranean vegetables with ginger which sounded delicious, but sadly it wasn't. Sauces are supplied in sachets, we should have noticed the signs. We consider ourselves to be connoisseur in Fish & Chips, as our first port of call in any town with visit is the local Fish & Chip shop, sadly The Plaice Restaurant with not win any awards from us. They have no license but charge corkage.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“More than fish and chips”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the restaurant name as it does a lot more than fish and chips. We didn't want a big lunch so shared a coronation chicken baguette. Was enough for the two of us and was delicious. Prices wre very good, especially considering the area and the prices in other establishments. They obviously do various things with chips but also do a good range of sandwiches, baguettes and jacket potatoes. Ok, it's not the poshest place in town but it is welcoming and we will be back

Helpful?
Thank Superships1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plaice Restaurant also viewed

 
Salcombe, Devon
 

Been to The Plaice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing