We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was a tad overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Winking Prawn

Winking Prawn
Reserve with OpenTable
Winking Prawn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Was a tad overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Drove past here on first day, and decided to give it a try when my parents joined us that day. Our grumpy teething 8 month old might have clouded my judgement a little.... So positives first. Friendly staff, lovely Marquee style area for BBQ food and a Esperanto restaurant. The decor was great, scrubbed bench tables, buckets and spades on tables. We chose the BBQ area rather than restaurant as it was cheaper and better suited for our family as it was less 'posh'. It was £16.95 per person and you could choose 2 main bits like chicken, steak. Prawns etc, then were given bread, salad, spuds for everyone. Steak was lovely. Everything else good, but portion size for 4 adults was a bit too lean. Hence why I think it wasn't best for value. Atmosphere was great and as I say staff were great. So I'd say was nice, but not nice enough for a very good.....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debdoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    294
    129
    74
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seaside perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wow, what a good find this place is. Lovely, colorfully painted, wooden bench tables across the road from a gorgeous sandy beach. We sat in the sun and drank cold chenin blanc whilst sharing a plateau fruits de mer. Really lovely lunch, my only complaint is the chips were cold but pleasingly came with skin on for extra flavour. Happy days.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun and funky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Such a fun place. You go in smiling and come out smiling broadly. We walked in for breakfast, a buffet of stupendously good value, and settled down to enjoy the food, the seaside beach atmosphere and the Beach Boys pumping our their hits that bolstered the joys of this surfside, ramshackle, cheerful place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location and fun for kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Fantastic location and views and fab ice cream.
Lunch service is slow when busy and as a result tables are cleared and cleaned as you might like but for what it is and where it is its great for relaxed lunches or BBQ evenings.
Kids love the sandpit and dressing up boxes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank animal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“More Fish Than Meat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I suppose the name should give it away but this beach side restaurant is almost totally fish focused which is fine if it's fish you want but if steak is your fancy for the evening you'd best make sure you give clear instructions on how they prepare it. I expect many reviewers will give The Prawn high marks but I am a bit circumspect about this place, great for families with kids and buzzing at most times in the day it was looking a bit careworn on the evening I visited and whilst the staff were efficient I had the feeling that they were nearing the end of a long hard day and had just about had enough of the great unwashed. Our meals were OK but at the prices quoted I thought the place was just a bit too informal however if I were 30 years younger I would probably give it good marks. One very good thing is that it is one of the few restaurants in Salcombe where you can park within a few feet of the building.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winking Prawn also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 
Salcombe, Devon
 

Been to Winking Prawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing