We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flanesford Priory Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flanesford Priory Apartments
Bristol
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just back from 3 nights break - we were in the courtyard apartment; just fine although the bathroom particularly was looking tired and is ready for a refurb in my opinion.
We walked lots and it was a warm and cosy apartment we returned to. I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabel-Alfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Flanesford Priory has been sympathetically converted into apartments and set in beautiful countryside. Whilst I wouldn't call it luxurious, it was certainly very comfortable, cosy, clean and provided everything one needed for a self-catering holiday. My one complaint was the lack of wall sockets near a mirror in which to plug a hairdryer.

There are plenty of pubs within walking distance. We had a super meal at the Mill Race on the Saturday night (advisable to book) which is about a 5 minute drive away in Walford.

We would certainly stay at the Flanesford Priory again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egoodchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Just back from a 3 night break at Flanesford. The priory is a lovely building and despite its conversion to holiday apartments you can still feel the history of this wonderful property. The apartment - The Castle - is a lovely well equiped apartment and spotlessly clean. The ground floor contained the Bathroom and double bedroom, while the 1st floor contained the kitchen/diner and lounge along with woodburner. There was also a mezzanine over the lounge which contained a single bed. The only negative I have is that there were no windows on the 1st floor so we were unable to enjoy the countryside views - this however was certainly not a show stopper. Goodrich castle could be seen but from the bedroom on the ground floor.

The location is lovely with a collection of places to eat within walking distance. Please take a torch though and have reflective clothing as there is limited footpaths along the roads and at night it can be pitch black as thankfully there is no street lighting to disturb the tranquillity of the countryside at night. The priory is right on the river Wye.

I would not hesitate to come back to Flanesford Priory. A wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bubwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby uk
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Priory in September 2010. What a lovely surprise. Our apartment was over 3 floors. Bed and bath on the ground and a lounge diner on the second with a mezzonine bedroom above. It is hard to expalin our wonderful it feels to be in such an old building, you sit in the lounge having a drink looking up into a vaulted ceiling. Whilst having all mod cons the restoration has kept all the original wall features and we had a couple of sconces in the walls too. A week in such a beautiflu area is barely enough to explore with the bonus of Ross on Wye and Monmouth being very close by for shopping etc. Luckily Monmouth has a Marks for good meals too. If you fancy a night out there is a pub a few minutes from the Priory just over teh bridge where a good dinner can be had reasonably priced. There are more to choose from in Ross on Wye, we enjoyed the Sherpa restaurant for a good change.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Me and my partner stayed in the Courtyard Apartment in August 2011. We found the apartment very clean and comfortable and appreciated the little extras needed on a self catering holiday. The kitchen itself had every appliance you could possibly need. The staff were also very welcoming and friendly

The setting and apartments are very picturesque and we enjoyed lots of good walks with our dog who enjoyed himself immensely. We also visited the nearby town of Ross on Wye which had a good selection of shops and places to eat.

We will definitely be returning in the not so distant future for another relaxing break. Next time we plan to canoe the river Wye which looked like a lot of fun. For anyone wanting to do this I would advise booking in advance as we could not book when we were there although it was a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2009Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanesford, General Manager at Flanesford Priory Apartments, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Next time let us know what activities you fancy trying out and we will try and book it all for you in advance.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Flanesford Priory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I can only agree with the other reviews. Beautiful building and setting.Convenient for most of the wye valley and forest of dean. Quibbles - yes the sound insulation could be much better and why doens't the bathroom mirror have a light ?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

we loved our stay here. Lovely and spacious, comfortable, beautiful location. Friendly and helpful service.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianhamilton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
2.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hostelrie at Goodrich
0.2 mi away
The Inn On The Wye
The Inn On The Wye
#19 of 40 in Ross-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
#1 of 4 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanesford Priory Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanesford Priory Apartments

Property: Flanesford Priory Apartments
Address: Flanesford Priory | Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 13th century Monastery, this building has been artistically converted into 10 self catering holiday apartments.Ranging from 2 guests to 8 guests the apartments are uniquely different.High beam ceilings and exposed stone work, combined with modern kitchens and large comfy sofas.The New Cider Press is a luxury 6 person apartment with private patio and views over the River Wye and Coppett Hill.Onsite parking, communal gardens and fishing available on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flanesford Priory Apartments Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Flanesford Priory Apartments Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing