We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely grounds, peaceful”
Review of Flanesford Priory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flanesford Priory
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely grounds, peaceful”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just come back from 3 nights here staying in The Castle apartment. The apartment was well kitted out for self catering. We took our dog so we had a dog friendly apartment which isn't plush but very comfortable. The views around are beautiful, it is very peaceful and the pub opposite - The Inn on the Wye is a good stop for some pub food and has a good sofa area which is dog friendly. The grounds at Flanesford Priory are well kept and there is a lovely lawn are with tables to enjoy in the sunshine. Even though it was fully booked with kids and dogs, it was never noisy :-). Really looking forward to coming back soon. Also good walks in a 10min drive at Symonds Yat Rock and Speculation Trail.

Room Tip: Although we didn't stay in it the Cider Mill looks stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairycakemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My son and I required a location central for a fishing trip on the Wye. Flanesford Priory offered good quality comfort. It is so easy for self catering to be tacky but this location is anything but!! The kitchen was well equipped, the beds comfortable, good bedding and towels, plenty of hot water and soft sofas to watch the TV [with a wood burner had we needed it] plus bags of parking space. There is a reasonable pub within walking distance
Nicely done and we shall return in search of the elusive Wye salmon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSA948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

stayed in the cider mill , what can i say about this place it was great with every thing we needed. all adults on my 40th birthday weekend didnt need to leave the cottage but went to both near by pubs for food both within walking distance,the log fire was great very warm w

Room Tip: the cider mill is the most modern and not in the main building has a bedroom down stairs with wet r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missbarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked a short break in Charlton Apartment between Christmas and new year. Unfortunately we found ourselves sandwiched between two very noisy branches of the same family, and the soundproofing in this building is non-existent. Luckily, the owners were able to move us, completely without fuss for which thanks, to Walford. This was cosy, comfortable, warm and quiet; slight issue with intermittent and very slow internet access, but other than that we had a most enjoyable stay in a beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: Unless you are part of a large party, suggest avoiding the apartments in the main part of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murgatroyd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A short break for the family, we stayed in the Cider Mill apartment. We were greeted to a wonderfully cosy building complete with wood burner and uniquely refurbished kitchen based around the original mill wheel. All the rooms were exceptionally comfortable and equipped; the property is well-deserving of it's 5 star status.

The homemade cakes left for us in the kitchen were also a lovely (and delicious!) touch that you don't see at other establishments.

We can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherRestaura... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bantry, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked a 4 night break in Coppett Apt. Adverse weather prompted us to sail a day early, contacted the proprietors who kindly offered an additional night at short notice and a super upgrade to Talbot apt at no extra cost. Everything was perfect, clean, comfortable and fully equipped. Miele appliances, Roberts radio and Victorinex knives...luxury!!!!
Super location for exploring, recommend 'The Hostelrie' for food.
A beautiful place to stay I am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bantry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We booked as two couples and chose the Coppett apartment. As others have described here the Priory is divided floor to ceiling to create the apartments and thus there are three floors containing the main bedroom and bathroom, the kitchen diner and lounge and the secondary bedroom is on the top mezzanine floor. From the lounge room the roof timbers are clearly visible and create the feeling of a mediaeval barn with the exposed stone walls and stucco plastering. Unfortunately for our friends the upper bedroom has an open balustrade and affords no privacy for the occupants from those in the lounge so you need to bear this in mind when you book. The apartment was well equipped with a high quality tv/dvd, deep sofa and woodburning stove. We were expecting to have to use the stove every night but with the electric heaters running as well we were, if anything, too warm. The ground floor bedroom is extremely warm with the storage heater on and we were obliged to turn it right down and to open the window. The bathroom is small but adequate and hot water was copious even with four of us queing to bathe every day. The kitchen is basic but you can prepare meals here although I don't think I would have liked to have cooked for four every night of our stay. Thankfully there are several eateries nearby and we had some splendid meals out so the kitchen was largely used for breakfast duties. As a slight negative our friends who slept upstairs were disturbed on one night by the neighbours television so if you are a light sleeper you may not be happy with the soundproofing. We, on the ground floor found it blissfully quiet. As for the location you are in walking territory and at the time of our visit there had been a lot of rain so the river was flooding and mud was plentiful. I would love to come here in the summer and see it in the sunshine and I think that we may well end up doing that next year.

Room Tip: See my comment above about the privacy issue of the balcony bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisydumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
2.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn On The Wye
The Inn On The Wye
#17 of 41 in Ross-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hostelrie at Goodrich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanesford Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanesford Priory

Property: Flanesford Priory
Address: Flanesford Priory | Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Flanesford Priory a relaxing, rural retreat within the heart of the Wye Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Luxury Self-Catering Apartments containing original stone features and high-beamed ceilings. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts with canoeing, biking and walking all on offer right on our doorstep. A picturesque wedding venue steeped in history with an experienced team happy to help you make your day individual and memorable. Our 5 star Cider Mill cottage is separate to the main building, containing the original Cider Press as a main focal point as the dining table you will be sure to relax in this home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flanesford Priory Apartments Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Flanesford Priory Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing