We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant with food the whole family enjoyed”
Review of Yaks N Yetis

Yaks N Yetis
Ranked #7 of 84 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with food the whole family enjoyed”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Cracking little Nepalese / Thai restaurant in Ross-on-Wye, with decent food and wonderful service. The dual nationality of the menu works very well, and while there's nothing fancy about the place, there's plenty about it that could put bigger upmarket places to shame. The kids enjoyed chicken and noodles - we enjoyed curries as recommended to us, which were just as spicy as we wanted and washed down by a Gurkha beer. Atmosphere was relaxed and, notably, the other diners appeared to be having just as good, and laid-back, an evening as us. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Completetosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    105
    27
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scrumptious!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I ate here yesterday evening, even on a rainy Sunday in an almost deserted local town it was packed! Great Nepalese and Thai food, lovely fresh ingredients. Steamed dumplings, gorgeous liver (never thought I'd use those two words together ever!). Beautifully light curries and dhals. Charming staff! The only negatives would be, that it's a bit squashed in the restaurant and the toilets though clean, really need a refurb as it lets the place down a bit. But a great meal in a very relaxed restaurant at a very reasonable price.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Charming people, delicious fresh-cooked food”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just adding my 'yes!' to previous compliments paid to the wonderful staff who run this Nepalese restaurant. From the warm welcome to the moment my daughter (in her twenties) and I left, it was an experience lesser restaurateurs would do well to replicate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nepalese in rural Ross!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Really good food, with the choice of Nepalese or Thai, all freshly prepared. Excellent choice on the menu, something for everyone. Prices are very reasonable - and the cold "Gurkha" beer on a warm evening goes down really well!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Came here with my family there was 6 of us. It was Saturday before mothers day so we expected it to be busy and it was very.
The food was fab really tasty and the portion size was bigger for the individual curry's and more then enough for the other dishes.
The were a couple of issues.. the staff were a little slow but I get its ran by a family so didn't mind the wait really. It was sooo warm in there which made us feel a little uncomfortable so don't go in your jumpers on a busy weekend as you will boil!! Finally and possible the worst for me is the toilets..... just not ideal really old and shabby and It really makes a difference to me if a place has nice toilets.
But I have to leave this on a positive its a unique place and I would definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank danikasnll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yaks N Yetis also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Yaks N Yetis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing