We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless Family Dinner”
Review of The White Lion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Lion
Ranked #20 of 42 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Faultless Family Dinner”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I booked our table online at 23:30 on Friday night. The booking was for 7 people, 4 adults and 3 under 8's for 18:30 the following evening. I received a confirmation email first thing Saturday morning.
As it happened we were half an hour early. This was apparently no problem and we were shown immediately to our table.
The staff were all delightful from start to finish, charming and keen to accommodate us in any way they could.
The menu was impressive and very reasonable in price. The children's menu was particularly remarkable for containing several smaller portions of adult meals rather than only the obligatory chicken nuggets, sausages and beans that the children are usually offered.
The boys had lasagne, steak and chicken curry. The quotes on the way home were: "that was really, really, really good / that was the best curry I've ever had / yummy thank you Mummy"
The adults were all equally impressed and my Thai Green Prawn curry was sensational.
We were really too full for dessert but shared a couple which were scrumptious - Toblerone Tart - wow.
The setting is fabulous and we stood by the river for a while after dinner. I imagine it would be perfect for a lazy lunch or long dinner on a hot evening sitting by the water and taking in the view.
None of us could find fault with our evening and, with three fussy children, a vegetarian who doesn't like rice and a meat -eater who doesn't like vegetables, that is really saying something.
Highly recommended, we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    40
    17
    10
    15
See reviews for
42
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great spot to relax after a hard days paddling down the river Wye. My kids kept themselves busy on the river bank, catching fish and running around on the well kept river bank. Our meal was good value, served by friendly staff quickly and efficiently. Overall, a great end to a lovely day, unwinding on the banks of the river Wye, with good food and good beer.
Parking was our only problem, we parked in the public layby, on the bridge and walked two minutes to the pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Perfect spot for camping stop over on river Wye canoe trip. Food excellent, friendly and welcoming, very picturesque.
One of the best camping locations we have stayed in as a family. Would definitely stay again if paddling this way in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bobster673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stopped overnight here camping a few yrs back and food great. Came back today as staying in Ross and thought would try it again, and had another great experience. Staff very helpful and friendly and food, service excellent, will be back. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The White Lion - I am so pleased your enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Camped in 2011 and had a pleasant experience so returned this year. Right from the start found the landlord unwelcoming and apathetic. Was told we couldn't use our stove on the grass next to our tent - we were able to in 2011. Landlord blamed the council and said if he allowed it he would have to have the tents 3m apart - fire hazard. There were only 4 tents - plenty of room but of course the revenue would suffer I guess. Anyway we were told we could cook in the car park or on a dog poo covered bit of concrete decorated with over grown brambles - either way a health hazard. Landlords dog then hassled us for our food while pooing around our pitch.
Thanks for a wonderful stay - we won't be back. Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrmidons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear myrmidons

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.

I note from your negative review that you were unhappy about the facilities for cooking on the riverbank.

We have NEVER allowed cooking in the vicinity of other campers - this is a regulation by Herefordshire Council and signs stating this are clearly visible. In 2011 i used to email these guidelines to everyone who booked with us - if as you state you did cook outside your tent then this was without our knowledge as it is an extreme fire risk to other campers and our small river bank cannot accommodate many people when we a have to place the tents 4 meters apart - so to stop others camping just so you can break the rules is not something we will be doing anytime soon. The guidelines now appear on our website.

We have had alot of campers this year and you are the only negative review so we cant be that bad and they all managed to cook on the concrete jetty.

Sorry you feel aggrieved and i hope you have happy camping in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
806 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We met friends at the White lion as it was half way for us and them from Crickhowell and they knew it was great location for a sunny day by the river.
We ate the following...8oz Sirlion steak with mushrooms,onion rings,tomatoes and chips (good)£11.95 2x Tiger prawn stir fry with noodles (in like a sauce of sweet and sour-not mentioned on the menu over powering) £9.95. 2x trio of fishcakes with sweet chilli sauce and Dauphinoise or chips (rather bland) £8.95. Home cooked Ham,double eggs and chips (very good) £7.95
2x Pineapple upside down sponge (okay) £4.95 Crumble of the day (okay) £4.95.
The overall service from the young girls was pleasant but they did not too seem very knowledgeable about the menus and forgot about my espresso.
The location is great for a drink but nothing special about the food.(Glewstone Court is only approx 2 miles away and could have 2 course £15 or 3 course £20 for lunch which is excellent value)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I visited because I had identified this place as somewhere to get a vegan meal on a very long bike ride. The staff were helpful and pointed me to the 2 options on the menu - stirfry veg and chilli - YAWN! Sooooo 1990s. I ordered the chilli and waited longer than had been stated (by twice) to be handed the STIRFRY. I nearly ate it just to get some energy in me and get out, but I commented and the meal was swapped - it took 45 minutes to recieve the dish I had ordered...and just 5 mins to eat. Not a massive portion and really NOT very well done. I apologise if it not the case but I am pretty sure the chilli was a mixture of barbecue sauce and tinned beans! Was that it!!? For £7.50 I would expect a lot better. Perhaps the omnivores are happy here but this vegan could offer a whole lot of advice on how to cook quality meals.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitorbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#8 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
343 reviews
2.4 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
165 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion

Property: The White Lion
Address: Wilton Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The White Lion Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing