We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in an attractive environment”

Kings Head Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 84 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$21
Cuisines: European, French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food in an attractive environment”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have eaten twice at The King`s Head when visiting my sister and her partner in Ross on Wye and enjoyed the experience on both occasions. There is an oldy worldy bar where you can have a drink before the meal. The restaurant is bright and light and airy and has a lovely atmosphere, the tables are not too close together and the staff are friendly and welcoming but also very efficient. We had starters, main courses and desserts and all four of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals. There is plenty of choice on the menu (including vegetarian options), they use a lot of local produce and we thought everything was well cooked and well presented. There is a good wine list too and the complimentary bottled water is a nice touch. We felt that for a meal of that quality it was good value for money and we look forward to eating there again.

Helpful?
Thank Annabellacottonsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    116
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening meal”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went out for family meal. Food and atmosphere were good, the service was excellent and the staff were very helpful dealing with my elderly mothers requests.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very good food and beer”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a restaurant that just misses being Excellent. It serves a local beer that is very drinkable if a little tepid. The food is of high quality and the menu is varied, but the duck I ordered, although flavoured with an excellent sauce, was slightly overcooked (possibly due to our late arrival without a reservation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TFredWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Variable food, terrible service”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were a party of 4 on a day trip hoping for a good lunch.We had one and a half hours before we needed to be on our transport back.We chose this pub because it had an outside patio to sit in the sunshine and it wasn't too busy.We ordered 2 ploughman's, a duck salad and fish and chips which cost us £60+ with beers.We waited 40 minutes before we complained.Food turned up 10 minutes later.Excellent ploughman's, OK salad but appalling overcooked fish and chips.You could not find the fish amongst the batter.Still, no time to send it back.We left half our food and drinks behind because of the tardy service.Such a shame.It spoiled our day out.Do not go here if you want anything cooked or if you haven't got over 2 hours for an expensive lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lautrecs99, Owner at Kings Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your two ploughman’s lunches with local chesses and home baked bread. Our patio is a sun trap and a particularly nice place to enjoy lunch or a few of our local real ales. We are sorry however, that you didn’t enjoy your freshly battered fish. It is a shame you didn’t make us aware you were unhappy at the time so we could try rectify any failings. Battered fish is one of our more popular dishes and is freshly battered just before serving. The portion size is approximately 7 to 8 ounces of fresh fish, in this instance the fresh fish was cod and is served with home-made chips and minted peas.
We recommend diners do tell us if they have a schedule to keep or as in this case a bus to catch, as all our meals are freshly prepared and cooked to order. We can then recommend dishes which are faster to serve and give an estimate of any wait. I can appreciate that when someone is waiting and in a hurry to catch transport, it can seem like a long time. However, after checking our records I can see the time it took from your party ordering to the time your meals were served was approximately 37 minutes. When you complained about the delay, one of our staff members did apologise to you, and informed you that your meals were just about to come out as they were being plated up by the chef. We do apologise if this was longer than you were expecting. We do try to be as quick as possible, but unfortunately on exceptionally busy days, such as this lunchtime, there can be a delay. Your bill did also included two rounds of four drinks which made up over a third of your bill. The total length of time you were with us was 68 minutes. We hope you managed to catch your transport comfortably in time.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner and Lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have eaten here many times and always enjoyed it. Came back a few weeks ago after the recent 'refurbishment' and was really disappointed in the scruffy restaurant design. There's a chipped and scuffed door 'sticking out from the wall' as you arrive at the restaurant. So off-putting! The walls are covered in what looks like rough pallet timber. What on earth is going on? Anyway, we've decided we won't sit in the main restaurant again, we'll ask to sit in the lovely library that reflects the warmth and character of this old hotel. Food: Dinner was ok, but service was slow ... we came back for a lunch recently and it was good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lil50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kings Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Kings Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing