We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in a 14th century inn”

Kings Head Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 102 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$21
Cuisines: European, French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The Kings Head in Ross on Wye is like moving back into history. It is not an over-elaborate inn, but the owners and the staff make it a pleasure to be there.

The historic atmosphere is practically palpable.

It is very near the shopping centre, the River Wye and not far away is the book-lovers' haven Hay on Wye. Symonds Yat (a must to visit) is quite near.

A great base for touring.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank irenefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016

We visited the Kings Head for an evening meal. They were very busy, but the excellent staff found us a table after a short wait.
Both our meals were excellent in presentation and quality. The staff even though very busy were fist class and pleasant.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Called in with wife, grandson and dog for morning voffee after shopping in town.
Good coffees and cakes.
Pleasant surroundings and more importantly dogs are welvome!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CymromewnLloygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a celebration so decided to use the restaurant again with the £5 voucher you receive if staying in the hotel. Service on a very warm evening was excellent and again the food was as good as it gets. I had the rump of Welsh beef cooked med/rare and it was melt in your mouth with excellent chips and the best peppercorn sauce I have had. My wife had the chicken and again spot on . We both enjoyed our puddings of Eton mess and a serving of ice cream. The only downside for me was the heat in the restaurant maybe a fan blowing some air through would help. Can't recommend this restaurant enough well worth the trip from Bristol.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank nickgb2572eg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Excellent interesting food. As our dog was with us with had our lunch in the library which had a lovely atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful. My birthday mojito was delicious!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kings Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Kings Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing