We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B in Excellent Location”
Review of Linden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linden Guest House
Ranked #8 of 41 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in Excellent Location”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed at Linden House for 5 nights. We thoughly enjoyed our stay very much. Patric was lovely, bless him he even cooked us a breakfast at 6.30 so we could get out & about early on one particular day. The cooked breakfast was delicious, plentyfull & cooked just how you like it using local produce & free range eggs, extra toast & tea/coffee were always on offer. Our en-suite room was at the front & very quiet. Comfortably furnished & snuggly warm. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the location could not be better & includes parking. We would DEFINATLY stay at Linden again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    45
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
99
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

It took about 2 weeks to book a short stay, because it was not convenient for the proprietor when we phoned. It then took several more calls chasing him up before we could book. When asked what time we would be arriving (later afternoon) that was not convenient because it was his meal time. Should have taken the hint and booked elsewhere. Room was comfortable, but when came back at the end of the day the bed had not been made. Also, no hot water in bathroom. Breakfast was meagre and with little or no choice. Owner insisted on giving us his opinion on a range of subjects during breakfast, which reminded us very muchof Basil Fawlty. A shame because this is a centrally positioned accommodation in a pretty market town, and could have made so much more of it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CFB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Linden House is located in the heart of picturesque Ross-on-Wye and is an ideal base to explore the Wye Valley and surrounding countryside. Host Patrick provided a very warm welcome. Our room was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We were able to sleep soundly although other members of our party found the bed in their room a little soft and creaky. Breakfast was cooked fresh to order and tasted wonderful. Patrick was a great source of local knowledge and gave us plenty of recommendations of places to visit and where to dine. Linden House is full of character and provides very good value for money. This was a great stay and we'd have no hesitation in recommending to others.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn24_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

If you're looking for a cozy getaway location with terrific staff and loads of architectural character and scenery then this is the place for you. Patrick has converted the upstairs floor to a private flat with two rooms, a bath, a full kitchen and a living room. I found the space ideal for my needs while I was attending meetings in the area for a week. He also has single rooms with ensuites downstairs that I have stayed in as well and found them quite comfortable. Breakfast is always fresh from the market and delicious. Linden house is a 5 minute walk from anything you need including shops, the market, restaurants, pubs, banks, National Express stop and amazing historical landmarks.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billmc0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Very comfortable B&B centrally located in Ross. A very warm welcome will be given to you by Patrick. Good value and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRB_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Guest House

Property: Linden Guest House
Address: 14 Church Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Guest House bed and breakfast is right in the heart of the heritage area of Ross on Wye. We aim for our bed and breakfast to offer excellent value accommodation just a minute's walk from a selection of restaurants and cosy coffee shops. If you are working locally or planning to enjoy the delights of the stunning Wye Valley, Forest of Dean and, of course, the very beautiful county of Herefordshire, our bed and breakfast is well-placed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Linden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Guest House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing