We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First impressions count!”

Wilton Court Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$51
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First impressions count!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My mum very kindly booked a night away for me and my partner on the bank holiday sunday. I'd look on the website before we left and was really excited knowing the reviews and accolades they'd received. Boy was i disappointed and shocked. The hotel is beautiful with beautiful surroundings. However on our arrival to check in we were, well i would say greeted but it wasn't much of a warm welcome, by who i assumed was the GM?! No 'Hi, how was the travel? Have you come far? First time in Ross-on-wye? Not even how are you! Just straight onto the tick sheet that he presented for the regimental styled check in. He didn't smile once. Apologies if we interrupted your break! From then on we weren't impressed. Certainly not 2 rosette standard food either. I only saw one member of staff smile all evening. A real shame. Would not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Strawberrypicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    35
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful fine dining experience”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked for a Saturday night following a recommendation from the owner of a B&B we were staying at - it was quite a formal experience (which we actually quite liked), the food was amazing and we would definitely recommend to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SwassiSwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfort and quality”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The location of the hotel was excellent for walking and sightseeing, and if in the area again would return to Wilton Court. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, our room was lovely and very comfortable. The meal in the restaurant was extremely well cooked and tasted delicious. We would definitely recommend Wilton Court to friends and family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food in delightful surroundings”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Wilton Court and dined both nights in their restaurant. On the first night each course was delicious; homemade breads, smoked salmon, soup, rump steaks cooked to perfection, lovely puddings and a gorgeous house red that was very reasonably priced. On the second night I had the steak again (as it was one of the best steaks I have had in the UK) but I found on the second evening the piece of meat wasn't as succulent, but still good. The breakfasts were magnificent - needless to say we didn't need lunches!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice place, shame about the food...”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It's regrettable that this beautiful venue, with lovely ambience & hard working & friendly staff are let down by the standard of the cuisine. Perfectly acceptable as good pub standard food, it just doesnt merit the prices charged for it, sorry. My partner's starter Mackerel was very dry and the Hake was described as lack-lustre. His medley of sorbet was the best course of the mealMy Hereford steak was cooked as I had requested, a little on the tough & gristly side but unacceptable for an establishment that wants to be known as a gastro-pub. The Eton Mess, was fluffy cream with some strawberries in it - no signature crushed meringue or raspberry sauce anywhere to be seen in it.and weighing in at £6+ for pudding was frankly a disgrace! Coffee with "petit-fours" - turkish delight & Elizabeth Shaw Mint Crisps was equally over-priced. We wont be going back to the restaurant, although we still like the prospect of staying at the hotel....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorenceScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilton Court Restaurant also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Wilton Court Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing