We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Glewstone Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glewstone Court
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I can't believe that we live so near to Glewstone Court and have never been. We had a lovely meal for my Mums birthday. The food was lovely and the staff were fantastic. The hotel is beautiful set in lovely gardens. I would definitely recommend it and we will definitely go back again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Even after 27 years in residence we still welcome first time visitors who are delighted to have found us. Your review was delightful and we hope to welcome you back, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

The grand looking Glewstone Court, owned by Bill and Christine, is situated amongst lovely countryside and is a great base to explore the local attractions of Ross-on-Wye, Symonds Yat, and the Forest of Dean. Bill, our host is a true gentleman and nothing was too much trouble; jovially serving a wonderful breakfast for the five mornings we were there. Our bedroom was comfortable, spacious, clean and tidy; ample room for us and our large dog, who also had the use of a doggy blanket and feeding mats. Although we did not use the restaurant and bar, many locals came to the hotel to dine and use the bar.

We will definitely visit again, to walk in the wonderful countryside and sample Bill's, and his excellent teams, hospitality. Thank you Bill and Christine for a lovely stay - our battery's are truly charged!

Room Tip: Nothing to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

My husband Bill receives almost as many compliments as our great food! and we welcome many four legged friends to join our two hotel dogs in the beautiful Herefordshire countryside surrounding us here near Ross on Wye. I am delighted that you left us recharged and relaxed. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed for a night and enjoyed a light lunch, dinner and breakfast, we booked through Secret Escapes, it was our treat to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Right from the start we knew this place was a real pearl. Check in by the owner, Bill was swift and courteous. He then had a staff member guide us round the beautifully decorated and furnished public rooms, reception, lounges, bar and dining room. These are on the ground floor, then up the spiral stairs to our room. We were in room 7, Poppy, a small room at the back which overlooked the orchard. Furnishings were shabby chic. Everything was clean. There are some nice touches such as home-made biscuits and a fridge in the landing with fresh milk and bottled water. We liked the fact that one orders dinner whilst enjoying a drink in the lounge, having time to peruse the menu, which features creative dishes based on quality ingredients, most of which are sourced locally; another touch which displays the attention to detail is the serving of amuse bouches. Our dinner was well presented, the service was attentive , without being over the top. Everything was perfectly cooked and the presentation was excellent. I won't bore you with the detail, but I'd recommend the rack of lamb. Breakfast matched the standard of the rest of the meals, with plenty of choice and a relaxed service. This is certainly a place We would recommend, either to dine or to stay. The emphasis is on courteous service and quality food. We would love to return as we were made very welcome. In all this was a great night away. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank WaywardSouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

I am so glad that you chose our small establishment to celebrate your Pearl Wedding Anniversary; your compliments on our staff, cuisine , service and surroundings are a joy to receive. We hope to welcome you back. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is the third time we've visited Glewstone Court and would do so again without hesitation. Sadly we weren't able to eat dinner there this time but in the past have had fantastic food. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable - altogether we felt as though we were visiting old friends. It is so friendly and informal, a lovely house with creature comforts (including dogs!) and generous breakfasts to set you up for a day exploring the countryside.
Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

It was a pleasure to welcome you back yet again for a visit to the Court; many of our guests have become good friends over the years and it is always so rewarding to receive such genuine compliments, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A little gem of a place, met for a leisurely coffee and lunch. Sat outside in the dappled shade under a tree in the garden. Staff very attentive, coffee soon arrived, then some while later we ordered a lunch off the light bites menu, I had the chicken caesar salad and my friend had the fish plank, both very well served and plentiful, in fact the plank could have been for two.

Will certainly go again

Room Tip: Cannot comment as only here for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Gloucestershire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this review which gives the impression of a delightful lunch in an English garden, with attentive staff; what more could we ask for? Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First impression upon arrival was good – beautiful surrounding area, good location, hotel looked as one would expect a country house to look
More than enough parking spaces even if each car took up three spaces (as noted from previous comments)
Very warm welcome from delightful young lady in reception
Beautiful view from our bedroom at the rear of the hotel and which looked out across a cherry orchard (although if one stood near to the window the view was marred by virtue of a line of washing just below.)
Our room had been fitted out so as to make one feel at home, good quality soaps and gels together with an assortment of magazines and books. Quite clearly a lot of time and effort had gone into making a guest feel as comfortable as possible for which the proprietors should be warmly commended
Unfortunately there was no hot water available in our room other than by using an electric kettle or an electric shower. (Would have taken an awfully long time to have filled the bath using such a method) We were subsequently informed (whilst having dinner later that evening) that “we may have noticed that there was no hot water” Apparently there was a boiler fault and this couldn’t be fixed until the following day. Appreciate these things do happen but would have been nice to have been informed earlier so as not to have nearly stepped into a bath of cold water and suffered a nasty shock!
Disappointed to note that taking tea outside in the garden area meant sitting on one of a number of cheap looking and somewhat dirty white plastic chairs around the same type of table and which were covered with cheap looking plastic table clothes. This was totally out of context with the manner in which the inside of the hotel had been equipped and furnished which is superb and very comfortable. . I would certainly hope that the proprietors consider some improvement in that area.
What could not be faulted was the choice on the menu and was without doubt, excellent and delicious food, superbly cooked and served by friendly staff.
Avoid window cleaning day (by contractors) or if not possible then park away from the spaces at the front of the property. Whilst standing outside talking to friends, on three occasions when ladders were being manoeuvred around the cars of guests to facilitate the cleaning, we noticed that they came within millimetres or so of striking cars. I hurriedly moved mine and only suffered a few splashes of dirty water. I did point this out to one of the window cleaners who assured me that they were being careful!!!
Regretfully, explaining negative issues take more lines than simply stating when things are excellent so I do hope that my comments are taken in context. I have endeavoured to be as constructive as possible about our stay, I would most certainly wish to stay there again and have since recommended it to others particularly in respect of its location, the quality of food and the way in which it is furnished.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front, beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BramcoteNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for posting this lengthy review; we are delighted that you would (and do) recommend our hotel despite some minor issues.
You will be delighted to know that the outside chairs have been replaced- the oil clothes we use are new and of good quality and from a well known shabby chic range and have had many compliments.
Regretfully as you were informed, our boiler had had problems and our fantastic plumber had been working all day until the evening attempting to solve the problem and locating the fault,he regrettably was unable to obtain the spare part required until the following day when it was duly repaired. We ask our window cleaners not to start work until later in the morning so as to avoid any disturbance to our guests but I will pass your complaint onto him for future reference.
We are great supporters of eco/ green policies and apologise if with difficulty you espied our washing line.
We are glad that in company with your friends, see previous report , that you all enjoyed our acclaimed food, service and the comfort here. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on a secret escapes break with friends,we were welcomed by a lovely young lady and checked in,we were then shown around by a rather stern lady shown to our rooms and dining areas ,I then asked about the tea and biscuits served on arrival (part of the offer) and received a bit frosty reply we can arrange this! Duly unpacked went downstairs for the tea and dared to ask for a coffee instead ,was informed its tea only! Went to sit in the garden as it was sunny but horrible dirty plastic chairs and cheap plastic table clothes with plant pots on! We dusted chairs off and sat down, tea arrived and we thought stern lady might wipe table maybe move flowerpots but no! It spoilt the welcome and couldn't believe this place couldn't have some nicer seats. Then one of our party got told off for taking a bit too much room up parking his car which is fair enough but it could have been said better as it did put his back up! Saying that we had a lovely room overlooking the garden which was spacious and comfortable with nice little touches of homemade biscuits and quality toiletries and bottles of water,no complaints re room ,the sitting areas are nice and in keeping with the Georgian era plenty of board games and books available should you wish.now on to the food which is great we loved ,it good quality and well presented the deconstructed banoffi pie is to die for! Breakfast was great too with fresh berries etc juices and local produce all lovely, we did enjoy our stay especially the food despite the shaky start which we laughed off later to be honest would I stay again answer is yes but nicer garden furniture please

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank sheilaNottsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

I am so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us - especially our great food. Henrike, who has been with us for years was distressed to think that you thought her stern and Bill is apologetic about asking you to move the badly parked car, regretfully as you now know, we have limited parking at the front of the hotel and it was taking up three spaces. Coffee should have been available for you and this message has been passed onto all the staff. Thankfully these hiccups do not seem to have affected your stay and we hope to welcome you back.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
2.4 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
233 reviews
2.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
415 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,151 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
496 reviews
2.0 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glewstone Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glewstone Court

Address: Glewstone, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: £78 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glewstone Court 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glewstone Court is an iconic Country Manor House dating back to 1709 with Georgian and Regency features. You approach the property past an awesome 300 year old Cedar of Lebanon. Glewstone was a finalist for the Restaurant of the Year and Breakfast of the Year in "Flavours of Herefordshire", Our food is innovative and prepared from good, fresh local ingredients; organic and free-range whenever possible. It has a comfortable atmosphere that permeates the bedrooms, lounge bar and restaurants. Herefordshire is superb walking county and although the Hotel is a 'hidden gem', you're still only 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye. Alternatively, relax by the log fires, or on fine days, or laze in the garden with a glass of beer, wine or bubbly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Glewstone Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glewstone Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Glewstone Court Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing