We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Lodge(Symonds Yat)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Raglan House(Ross-on-Wye)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn On The Wye(Ross-on-Wye)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveller rating
569
437
134
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
569
437
134
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold english innsthe riversmall balconysuperior roomwye valleylovely hotelno liftbar areagreat positioneggs benedictlovely viewcar parkboth nightswithout exceptiontown centreweekend breaksurrounding countryside
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

On first sight the hotel,well out of the flooded meadows near the Wye looks very impressive-and it lives up to it(nearly).As other contributors have said it needs a bit of TLC which it will be getting shortly(closing on 27/04/14 for 8 weeks) and if that is done properly it will be a very nice place to stay.Breakfast,served in the restaurant ,very acceptable and the one meal we had there was good value for money.However,on the down side,the lighting seemed to be very dim in the restaurant and was totally inadequate in our room.Ah yes our room-we were put in room 1 which is a long way from reception,and up and down 27 steps as you meandered your way to it.Sally was unable to change it for us and it was a very long walk everytime for a couple in their late '60s.We will certainly be back after the refurb(another nice offer from GreeneKing please) but will ask for another room!!

Room Tip: If you are put in No.1 request a change
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Both
Thank you for your kind review. I am so sorry that we could not move you into an alternative room with less of a journey. I promise next time to allocate a room nearer reception. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Sally & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Well placed hotel to explore the Herefordshire countryside and perfect for looking round Ross-on-Wye.
Hotel decor is looking a bit faded and past it's best and the planned refurbishment keeps getting delayed... shame because this lets down what is a genuine piece of local history.
Food and drink is excellent value for money and we have never had reason to eat anywhere else during our stays.
Overall we have enjoyed our regular stays here on the way to Wales to visit family over the last few years.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review. It is good to know that you stay with us regularly and are happy with both the food and service you experience. We totally agree that this lovely old building needs lots of TLC and hopefully the forthcoming refurbishment will address many of our building issues.
We look forward to welcoming you post refurbishment.
Kind regards
Sally & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A two night stay in a room overlooking a bend in the river. A comfortable warm room with a very comfortable warm bed, ensuite and even with its own ironing board and iron. A very good breakfast and a lovely lounge overlooking the river, and a roaring log fire. All of the staff were warm friendly and welcoming. We have stayed here two years running for our Valentines treat, there is so much to do in and around Ross. We are already looking forward to next year.

Best wishes
David Pitt & Vivien Williamson

Room Tip: We payed extra for a view of the river but last years room which overlooked the garden was also very good.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidjohnpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest
What a lovely review....thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your Valentine's break with us. Time away is precious and it is good to know that you would choose us again.
Kind regards
Sally & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here in January for two nights and had a great time. The staff were great and we ate in as it was such good value. We walked into town to shop or have a coffee. Lots to see in the area, including, Symonds Yat, Monmouth and Ledbury.
We look forward to returning and would like the staff for looking after us so well.
We hope the refurb goes well.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room on the second floor over looking the river, it was great.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here in Ross On Wye. The town has many endearing qualities and great local attractions. We hope to be the venue of your choice on your future visits to this part of the world.
Kind regards
Sally & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

the weather wasn't brilliant but the sun shone inside, on our two night break. The staff from the youngest to the oldest were outstanding the food really tasty and well presented. This was good old fashioned service at its best. Good luck on your refurbishment. Let us know of your future deals
ALAN, PAULA CUNNINGHAM (SWANSEA)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan24125105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Both
Thank you so much for your great comments. They have certainly brought a smile to the teams' faces! We are so glad that you so enjoyed your time with us and cannot wait for your return visit post refurbishment.
Kind regards
Sally & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews