We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better staff than food!!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better staff than food!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We visited here this evening as a group of friends. This was my first visit since the much needed refurb. The bar area itself is lovely, bright and airy. The outside balcony area looked pleasant, however as it was a warm summer evening was packed with no where to sit.
We ordered drinks, slightly overpriced but within reason and food which appeared to be good value (two main meals for £10.99). The food that we ordered was three garlic mushroom starters, two 5oz steaks and a 8oz gammon steak. The starters were fine, good portion sizes and cooked as required. For the mains, one of the steaks ordered med-well, was not offered with a chainsaw to cut it as it should have been. Granted it's not cooked as recommended for the steak however it was unable to be consumed! I had at least five minutes of trying to cut it up into a bite sized piece with the steak knife and then a further 10 minutes trying to chew and swallow said piece!! The other steak was okay, however cooked rare. The gammon, I have been told was lovely!
Whilst hacking up the steak, a young waiter came to do a check back and asked how the meals were. We stayed ok but.... And he was gone. Around 1 minute later the bar man appeared asking if our meals were okay where I voiced my concern. He was kind enough to offer another meal instead but I had already been put off, so declined, he offered puddings which we were unsure at the time if we wanted or perhaps coffees. He was very apologetic and felt that he couldn't do enough to rectify the situation. We ended up having a complimentary round of soft drinks in a way of apology. All I can say on this is that if it wasn't for that member of staff (Simon), we would have gone away and probably never returned, instead we will be back and will support this as a local. Simon is clearly an asset to the business and should receive recognition in light of this! Thank you to him! :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Japsoneatsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    399
    126
    44
    31
See reviews for
126
678
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Visited Royal last Friday for Lunch. First visit since the new re-furbishment, which btw looks great.
Excellent lunch, Friendly and efficient staff. Beautiful surroundings with fantastic view of River Wye
Will be back again this Friday :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antibnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have stayed at the Royal many times, the last about a year ago, since then they have been busy refurbing and for the money I think this hotel is great value, polite staff and a good breakfast make this a good option if you want or need to stay in Ross.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loydy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Old fashioned hotel with lots of character in a town centre position but with lovely views over the river Wye. Refurbishment taking place. Great breakfast if a little slow with service. We did not eat in the evening in the restaurant. Cosy bar with a real fire and friendly staff. Ample parking. Our room was massive with a comfortable bed and three windows with panoramic views. Some of the furniture was a little tired but the room had character. The bathroom had a noisy fan which was not fixed during the stay (waiting parts) but as no window had to turn it on with the light switch. Bathroom not the best but acceptable. Ample parking.

Room Tip: Corner room on first floor facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnRW724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Went here to eat- waited 40 minutes for order to be taken, food took over an hour to arrive after being told 3 times over 25 minutes that they were plating ours up! Tables around us arrived after and served before. When the food did arrive it was poor and not worth the price tags- very low end pub grub but high end prices. After complaining were offered free desserts, but these took hlf an hour to arrive despite there being very few people left by then.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strudelpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I went here for coffee and a cake this week. The weather was lovely so we sat outside on the balcony where you have beautiful views over the river and countryside. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The coffee came with some melt in the mouth fudge - delicious - and the cake was good too! Will definitely go back and sample lunch next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungatheartGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwrtyd Wells
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We visited The Royal Hotel on Wednesday evening with our daughter. It has been refurbished since our last stay early in the year. It was a beautiful evening so we sat outside on the patio to eat our meal. The views over the river were stunning but unfortunately we couldn't say the same about the food and service. Service was slow and although the young staff were kind and helpful it was obvious that they needed more staff to cope with the numbers of diners. Meal was very mediocre.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
195 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing