We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect lunchtime meet up place”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect lunchtime meet up place”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Suggested that I meet friends there and was not disappointed, although none of the veggie options were to my liking the side dishes I chose were huge and tasty and we all enjoyed our meals which arrived promptly and very hot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    391
    126
    44
    31
See reviews for
125
666
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just arrived home from a lovely two night stay at the Royal Hotel. The room was spotless, plenty of room for the dogs basket and his food and water bowl. The bed was very comfortable, with incredible views of the countryside. The bathroom was well equipped, big bath with rain shower over, lots of hot water. The staff were very attentive throughout our stay and happily served our hot breakfast in the bar area (no dogs allowed in the restaurant). Nice choice of fresh fruit, pastries and juices followed by good quality thick slices of bacon and tasty sausage.
We had three good meals during our stay, meals and drinks from the bar can be put onto a room tab . The hotel is surrounded by lots of walks, our Labrador certainly enjoyed the river!
This was our first time in a hotel with our dog and we were very impressed with the standard of accommodation and positive 'dog friendly attitude' from the staff. Thank you everyone at the Royal for making us all feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janey1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Royal has amazing views with a beautiful terrace looking out over the Wye valley. Fabulous, friendly staff who really make an effort to make your stay excellent. Fantastic breakfast and beautiful rooms. Definitely the place to stay in Ross if you're looking for a friendly atmosphere and great local knowledge.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back overlooking the River Wye. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillski_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had a very nice one night stay in a family room with my Wife and 2 children. The room was lovely with a separate room for the kids with their own TV. Everything was clean and as you'd want it to be and the beds were comfy. The food was very well priced and we all ate there for a very reasonable rate. All the staff we dealt with we very pleasant and very friendly. I'd recommend this hotel very quickly to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I ate here yesterday lunchtime. We were greeted by a miserable woman on the bar who swore through gritted teeth at the customer in front of us because he was unable to understand the card machine. A nice start!

Two Sunday roast dinners were ordered. One beef, one beef and turkey. The one with beef and turkey appeared with only beef on it. It was taken away and the turkey added. The other appeared to have a full compliment of meat but one of the slices turned out to be inedible due to the amount of fat in it. It was replaced with minimal fuss.

Whilst both meals came with a rather large Yorkshire pudding, the pudding somewhat highlighted the small amount of vegetables that are served. It is only when you realise that you've just paid the best paid of £9.50 upwards that is all seems a bit of a rip off.

The view from the bar is superb. Possibly one of the best in Ross but that doesn't make up for swearing staff and an overpriced meal.

Sorry Royal Hotel but you can do better than that, surely.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A nice hotel, well located, with a nice bar and a good breakfast. It is in a nice spot for a walk by the river. I would choose it again if passing this way. The town itself Is attractive but a bit dead, with no interesting shops that I could see...a couple of very pricey art/antique shops would maybe attract other tastes, the only secondhand bookshop is about to close. But river walk is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restless5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a great weekend here staying on a Saturday night.
Hotel is furnished to a great high standard and the staff are exceptionally helpful.
Stayed in a superior room and it was amazingly comfy and lush, although a mini bar wouldn't go a miss !!
Had a meal in the restaurant and although it's the same menu as the bar was very nice and plentiful although a foreign body was found in my starter it was corrected and replaced virtually straight away. Breakfast we had in the room and although they don't advertise it they were very happy to be bring it up.
Defiantly going to rebook for another relaxing weekend as soon as we can and our wedding!! :-)

Room Tip: Superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing