We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“camping - good night even if packed in”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Symonds Yat West Leisure Park
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Hottest weekend so far this year got a late booking. Arrived early morning and had a couple of pitches to pick from. but it seemed later on that I was actually mistaken and they managed to get several more tents on there. Despite this we had enough room to have a BBQ and this is allowed they even supply logs for disposable BBQs so they do not damage the grass. great location . lots of arcades if you like that kind of thing. we stayed on the family field and the curfew was maintained which was really nice.

Very very friendly staff an assets for sure

Room Tip: Get there early to get a good pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justgoflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Spent a lovely day @ symonds yat, fab weather, brill location. Anything you need is there, boats & canoeing & also an amusement arcade, plenty of campsites available and there are lots of caravans there, some are for sale. Overall 8/10

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOTTENHAMWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Campsite in beautiful position overlooking river-amusement arcade & river boat cruises available (nice but overpriced)
On arrival greeted by teenager who pointed for us to pitch up next to a noisy crowd of campers who were drinking smoking & swearing with music full blast as we have 2 young children we wished to set on the opposite side of the field but were told we couldn't yet every other family which arrived after us were put to where we had asked to stay.
Annoyed decided to take a shower but once shower blocks inspected decided against as would have ended up with more dirt on me after goin in there!
To add insult to injury was made to wait outside block whilst they were being cleaned in pouring down rain! When I did step in sinks floors & mirrors still had mud across them-would love to know what was being cleaned!!!
Would never return here need some adult organisation & cleanliness needs DRASTIC improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank VicB118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

No rides like website says, dirty old and skanky real dissapointment when we got there! Only went for a day trip cant imagine why people would pay to stay there! If you like amusements you'll love it, kids indoor play area was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kulie1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of June, on the positive this is an excellent location to go canoeing from and to explore the surrounding area, we stayed as part of a camping/ canoeing weekend and this was a stop off point en route. Ideal for that purpose but the rest was a let down. The site seemed to be run by a couple of teenage girls for the most part - not a problem as such but some adult management would have been an idea. We were not told that the toilets/shower block has a security code - not ideal if you had got caught short in the night. Only one toilet block was available to us which meant ques, not sure if the other blocks were broken or for 'premier members' but either way this was poor. The toilets/showers were of a poor quality and just about acceptable on the cleanliness front. Why oh why they charge for the showers I do not know - they should probably pay guests to use them. Also found the costs expensive - considering the facilities and condition of the site. I found this costing very strange and over the top. Probably the most serious concern is the lack of common sense/ care in respect of the fire hazard. Tents and caravans were crammed in far to tightly which was a major fire risk and this should probably be investigated further. This also tended to make it feel very over crowded. The amusement park was not really amusing, half the machines were out of order and the onsite shop was small and poorly stocked. Opening hours of the shop depended on whether the person was running the shop or cafe at the time. Such a shame as a nice location with huge potential, it just needs someone to love it a bit - wont be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flash-1982-1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were booked into the campsite at Symonds Yat East originally but on arrival at the campsite (more like a car park) went accross the river and ended up staying at Symonds Yat West (riverwyecamping.co.uk). Its right by the river but its not too close to the family field so you don't have to watch the kids every second. Facilities are fine - bit basic - just a couple showers and toilets - but never had to wait, and a small kitchen area for washing up and a freezer which you're free to use for your ice packs.
Originally we didn't want to stay here because of the fairground and amusement arcade next to campsite but it didn't cause us any problems - it all shuts about 6pm. There's a pub and a cafe too next door but we didn't use either. You can also book can canoeing at the campsite we didn't as our youngest wasn't old enough, so we went on a boat trip instead and that was good.
The staff at the campsite were all very friendly especially Len the carpark attendant - if it hadn't have been for him we would never have seen the Servern Boar - Thanks Len
Will definately go back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonesyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
4.8 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
236 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
416 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symonds Yat West Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symonds Yat West Leisure Park

Address: Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Ross-on-Wye
Also Known As:
Symonds Yat West Leisure Park Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing