We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A suprise stay”
Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chase Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Bristol
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A suprise stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here on Saturday 23rd November at very short notice. The hotel we were staying in had a major electrical problem and we were moved to the Chase at very short notice at 11.45pm. The staff at check in were very welcoming and it was quick and efficient. We were pleasantly surprised by how clean and bright the room was and it was warm. The bed was very comfy and we had a good nights sleep. The morning brought a fantastic view of the large gardens which must be superb in the summer. We went down to breakfast which was excellent a great full English and attentive staff. A quick look around the hotel showed a very clean hotel and quite impressive. Check out was quick efficient. I can not comment on value for money as we did not have to pay. But for a clean impressive hotel with excellent staff you will not go wrong

Room Tip: The top rooms have spa baths and four poster beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    162
    94
    43
    16
See reviews for
72
232
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stay or one night as a spir of the moment thing as driving through ross on wye, great find, lovely georgian building with well keeped lawns, reception area stunning with marble arches & wooden staircase, check in quick & simple, had double room overlooking patio area & gardens, room was an average size & very clean, bathroom had bath & shower with lovely hot water but no extractor fan so bathroom could get very steamy, breakfast was wonderful in the morning, coffee quality great, selection of cereals & fruits to start, cooked breakfast was the best I've had the quality of the sausage & black pludding was second to none, Best breakfast we've had in any hotel we've stayed in!!!! Would stay again at the rate we paid, this hotel is a little GEM!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Comfortable superior room. Most staff very pleasant and welcoming and most food was excellent with only one breakfast not quite hot enough. Great presentation to evening meals but after three days the same menu would benefit from a change. Would stay another time quite happily. Couple of staff need some further training. Clear used crockery before bringing next course and then finding nowhere to place it. Salt content to cooked food better than so many other establishments but still a little overused for our liking. Bottled water in bedrooms would be nice. A very pleasant experience generally.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TaffWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2nights October 2013. Can only say hotel was average. Quite dated although very clean. Our superior room was uninspiring and not worth the £140 per night we paid. Food was limited choice and again just average. Staff however we're helpful and friendly. Would we return? Doubt it.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flowergirlCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed on a Groupon break and was certainly not disappointed. Very nice room overlooking the side lawns. Meal on first night was excellent and breakfast was very good with a very wide choice of cold/continental/cooked. Only a 10 minute walk into the town of Ross.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckhmold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is certainly a very good hotel for short breaks, I booked it as a surprise for my husband's birthday. I specified no stairs or room near to lift. Despite this the hotel took my booking and when we got there we were told no lift and two flights of stairs plus to climb.
However it is a lovely hotel and would recommend it, but not for those less able to get about.

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable, luxurious and clean, nice atmosphere in the bar and friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mavestrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Came here on my works do last year and I have to say the food was terrible. The starter was a Ham terrine, but it looked like it was slopped out of a Sheba tin! The food was cold and tasteless. Nowhere near enough gravy on the plate to accompany the dry meat! The atmosphere was good and a very welcoming and warm hotel. Just the food let it down.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetongies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Property: The Chase Hotel
Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing