We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chase Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Gorgeous old building with lovely gardens and great view, but within easy walking distance of the town centre. Service was friendly and helpful but the room was very ordinary, with not the slightest attempt at any décor – not a picture anywhere. Also, no face flannel – a mean-spirited policy that one finds frequently in cheaper UK hotels. I knock one star off my assessment for this one failing alone.
But the room was clean and the price fairly reasonable. Our room did not have much of a view but I’m sure some would.
On the other hand, Harry’s restaurant in the hotel was truly excellent both for dinner and for breakfast. The décor was again very bland but the food compensated.
Overall a good place to stay. We only had one night but would have been prepared to stay longer if we could.

Room Tip: I'm sure the front rooms have a much better view. Some rooms may be noisy if there is a wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank What
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    171
    98
    43
    17
See reviews for
75
245
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Highly recommended afternoon tea! Lovely selection of sandwiches and cakes served with a pot of tea and a glass of champagne.A great birthday treat!Lovely outside seating area with shade or comfortable seats inside if preferred.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaH286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Unable to sit in in room due to the loudest cheap wedding disco until past midnight. Unable to shower sunday morning as NO pressure. Unable to flush toilet either,,,,, breakfast very good although i said no to an egg, there was a gap on the plate. Food staff ok, no menu suggestions, had to keep asking for drinks, lacking in personality, good food presentation but sadly they forgot to add any flavour.
Rushed from the patio to restaurant when we were there THIRTY mins early to relax before dinner and we had menu shoved at us outside..... Slightly confused as was well before we were due to eat.

My partner has trouble sleeping and we heard everything through the paper walls. She also had to wait to dry her hair as the hairdryer was broken.
Bathroom was tiny, neither of us could put our toiletries in there, no shelf space. They did give us a superior room for no extra cost but it was not superior, ok size, one space for hair drying, coffee making, wine and magazines,

We took our own drinks as the bar was so quiet so had wine in our room on second night :) was much nicer than sitting in an empty bar paying £4 for a 500ml bottle of cider!
Staff all ok bit no one dazzles us. Bill was wrong and got a half hearted apology.

We stay away a lot and will never use this hotel again. First time in a smaller hotel and they ruined it.

They told us about disco but never said we would get refunded if we cancelled,,,,,,,, RUBBISH website as still cannot find where it says you get a refund if you cancel because of the disco!

Room Tip: Stay at a YMCA, you will sleep better,,,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Adaeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Was told disco noise would be heard, asked anout cancelling and was told to go via website even though it said NO refund so we went. AWFUL disco noise and no apology. Rude manager seemed to imply anxiety was exagerated and told me i could have cancelled. At NO time did they say we would be fully refunded. Upgraded to a so called superior room which was average with little work space for drinks, hair dryer, vanity case, etc. original room was tiny, dark, and you could hear the kitchen fans with windows closed!
NO water pressure for an hour, no toilet flushing, teeth cleaning or showers and NO apology. Hair dryer broken and waited 20 minutes to be told to use another room. Food was ok, my rice was ROCK hard, curry tasted reheated. Left most of two courses but was not asked why. Overcharged by £15 on check out and had to get a new bill. manager sent standard email and justified everything seemingly in a tone that i was fussy and a nuisance. Refused to refund one nights accomodation and said we should come back!!!! Ruined my birthday weekend as shattered all day sunday (june 15th) was quiet on sunday evening and we had a far better meal at wetherspoons which is a 3 minute walk away. No toiletries on day two so had to find the trolley and get our own... Blonde hair stuck to shaving point the whole time and we are both dark haired. FROSTY attitude from Colin, so if he treats us like that, I pity his staff. Do not be fooled by the lovely grounds!

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms over the function room when there is a disco pumping out music with the doors wide o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sleepyd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Me and my now husband got married here on Easter Sunday in April and we had an absolutely fantastic day!
From the very first time we met Jan the events co-ordinator, we felt at ease with her and she was very happy to answer any questions we had and always got back to my emails very quickly. The 2 or 3 meetings we had with her at the hotel before the wedding were always very relaxed with complimentary tea and biscuits and we loved the hotel more each time we went back.
We chose the hotel for our wedding due to the size and location of the hotel. Initially we were going to have our ceremony in the Garden room but due to our final numbers, it wasn't big enough and so had it in the Oak Suite instead but this wasn't an issue as the rest of the room and the bar is screened off for the ceremony.
During the drinks reception and canapés, the staff worked very quickly to turn the Oak Suite around for the Wedding Breakfast and reception with minimal disruption to our guests
The staff on the day were fabulous and everything ran like clockwork.
The food was fantastic and some of our guests commented on it being the best food they had had at a wedding!
Unfortunately the weather wasn't great and so we couldn't take full advantage of the stunning grounds for our formal wedding shots outside but this didn't matter as we did get some lovely shots in the lobby area and the stairs.

I stayed with my bridesmaid the night before the wedding in an executive room (room 6) and this was a great size room with a seating area and was perfectly big enough for myself, my 3 bridesmaids, my mum and niece getting ready along with the hair and make up lady!
We had one of the 2 bridal suites (room 1) and these rooms are fab with large four poster beds and lovely views over the grounds.
Most of our guests stayed over with reduced room rates in standard rooms and so it was great to have breakfast with them on the Monday morning.
Breakfast was served in Harry's restaurant and was lovely with plenty of choice and plenty of staff on hand.

The hotel is a fab little hotel and in a great location within a 2 minute walk of Ross-on-Wye town centre.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a wedding of course, but also for a short break with great access to some lovely places in the Herefordshire countryside.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, then book an executive room for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beebntt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business for one night and was very impressed by the hotel location and service . On the edge of town but you wouldn't know it as seems like a country hotel in lovely grounds and really quiet and beautiful .
Hotel changed my room for me without fuss as I had the kitchen extractor fan outside my window and being a hot night I wanted the windows open . The receptionist assured me it goes off at 10pm but I chose to upgrade to a superior room overlooking the garden . This is considerably bigger and the view is lovely , well worth the extra £15 .
The food was very good and well priced for a hotel . It is quite busy but ideally located for a British holiday or a business overnight . The cleanliness was very good and the shower powerful and hot .
All in all a great experience and one I would recommend .

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank triumphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Let's start with the good points -
Great location. Lovely views. Very good breakfast.

And now the bad -
The walls at this hotel are paper thin. We had been pre warned of a wedding taking place on the night of our stay and advised there would be noise until 12.30am on Sunday. Fair enough, we thought. And duly, we were unable to sleep until the event ended. We were looking forward to a lie in on Sunday morning, so weren't unduly troubled. That was until appx 8am the when we were woken by staff loudly conversing directly outside our room (room 8, opposite the cleaning/utility cupboard). There was talk of the rooms that had already checked out, shifts, days off and the need for shoe shine on the next floor. By 8.20am I could bear it no longer. I got out of bed and asked the lady, sat ripping open polythene bags on the floor directly outside our door, if she could possibly keep the noise down. This was the worst £120 nights sleep I have ever had. I have since emailed the hotel to request a full refund as the whole point of us staying here was to be fresh for our 3.5hr drive home the next day. As it stood, it was a complete waste of money as we were left groggy, bleary eyed and tired throughout the following day.

Room Tip: Avoid room 8, situated opposite a utility cupboard in use by cleaning staff early in the morning (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cocomyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
151 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Property: The Chase Hotel
Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing