We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea plus stay”
Review of The Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chase Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea plus stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the champagne afternoon tea as a birthday celebration, it contained a good selection of sandwiches and cakes. We were slightly disappointed that we had to remind the staff that we were waiting even though it had been booked well in advance. A couple on the next table came in without booking in advance and they got served before us. Within a few minutes this was rectified.
Good location, a few minutes walk and you are right in the centre of Ross. Very large car park on site.
The entrance to the hotel, grounds and bar/restaurant were very impressive but the rooms did not follow suit. Our standard double was not very spacious and was in need of updating in terms of decor.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsD88d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    163
    95
    43
    16
See reviews for
73
235
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Afternoon tea served on patio next to the car park. Fairly basic fillings and Chantilly Cream, not Clotted!! Had to ask for another pot of tea which was fairly weakish. Overall ya bit disappointing and one of the poorest Teas ever had.......

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had been given an afternoon tea here as a gift for our Ruby wedding anniversary. The afternoon we arrived the weather was lovely and sunny so we chose to sit outside on the patio, we had it all to ourselves. First we were served the champagne which was very nice (unusual for me as normally I don't like champagne) then the tea pot came out. And about 5 minutes later the food arrived. It was very nice. A selection of sandwiches, scones with jam and chantilly cream and a selection of cakes. I had to leave my scone and my husband had to leave two of his cakes as we were rather full. The waitress was very good and made sure we had every thing we wanted. The full price of this is £12.50 plus an extra £5.00 for a glass of champagne, I don't think we would have paid that much or travelled this far if we hadn't been given it as a gift.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was late booking a room for my wife and I and no standard rooms were available. I decided to book a more expensive superior room and give ourselves a treat. On entering our allotted room after climbing two flights of stairs (there are no lifts) I thought that there had been a mistake and surely this was not a superior room. It was smaller than most 'standard' rooms I have stayed at in hotels - only a foot or so space from the end of the bed to the unit on which the modest sized TV stood. The wardrobe was a two foot square unit in a corner and there was no proper drawer space only two shallow drawers in a writing desk and a similar one in each bedside cabinet. I protested to the manager who showed me another superior room which was the same size and he assured me that the superior rooms were slightly larger and had a view of the garden which standard rooms did not. Apart from cancelling our booking we had little option but to accept the room. A wedding was being held on the Saturday and the thump, thump, from the disc below could be clearly heard well into the night. The noisy wedding guests returning to their rooms added to our discomfort. Having said that, I have no other complaints about the hotel. It was in a lovely setting and had a renovated feel about it. The room was clean and the view over the gardens from the room was impressive (if expensive!). The staff were friendly and the food was good. The cheaper bar menu was also available in the restaurant if required.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the functions room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked on a deal including champagne and after reading some TA reviews our expectations were not sky high. However, we had a pleasant welcome, a good selection of sandwiches, cakes & a scone & a pannacotte. All were of a good standard and their was ample food for two healthy appetites. We ate on the outside terrace which was pleasant.

There was no individual choice apart from type of tea and once our food was delivered we never saw the waiting staff again. It would have been nice if they had enquired if all was well or offered to top up the tea. Apart from that it was a pleasant experience and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alnum9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The staff here are charming but just not enough of them! They did apologise for being so slow but it rather spoilt the experience. Bread would have been excellent had it not been reheated to boiling point. Delicious and generous helping of scallops (although I mourn the loss of the coral in cooking everywhere nowadays), risotto a little too firm and salty for my taste. Nice dining area and pretty location. Worth trying. Did not stay at the hotel, just ate in restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountessBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Overall no major issues at all... The room was a little noisy thanks to air con unit outside but didn't bother me overall and certainly didn't stop me getting a good night sleep.

Clean rooms , good food, friendly staff . Breakfast was really good also cooked to order .

No issues at all

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
375 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#8 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Property: The Chase Hotel
Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing