We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Whale Tump B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Whale Tump B & B
Ranked #31 of 40 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I can highly recommend this great bed and breakfast that then turns into a restaurant if that is what you want. Originally I had been looking for a house to rent for a long weekend for 4 couples, but could not find a house with enough bathrooms and so decided to go for bed and breakfast instead so that we al had our own bathrooms.
Set in the beautiful Herefordshire countryside this place is perfect if there are a few of you who want to all stay in the same place. there is a nice big living room with a fire place. well stocked up with books and games, something to suit all ages.
there are 4 rooms all very well appointed to a high standard of workmanship, very comfortable beds, clean and minimalistic décor which is very restful. 2 rooms have views over the countryside and the other 2 of the owners garden. there are 2 smaller rooms which have slightly larger shower rooms, and the large rooms have smaller shower rooms. The loft room was my favourite,very spacious, but the downside is that there is no wardrobe, only hanging hooks, which might be an issue if you are intending to stay for several days and have a lot of clothes with you.
Ali and Andy the owners are very welcoming and helpful. they prepared food for 10 of us on the Saturday night, it was really good clean food, well cooked and tasty, they did not mind that we brought a lot of champagne and wine with us and chilled this in the fridge.
Breakfast was delicious, and hot, you could tell it was good quality locally sourced as described on the website, and served at a time to suit us, which makes a nice change.
We had a fantastic weekend, very relaxed, easy going atmosphere. We visit Ross on Wye every year and will definitely stay here again, it was really great.
thank you Ali and Andy for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Loft room or the Goodrich rooms are the largest with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

It may have an unusual name but anyone staying here will have a whale of a time. It's in a beautiful location with lots of great walks on the doorstep. Andy and Alex are excellent hosts - Andy has a wealth of knowledge of the local area and he really enhanced our 3 days spent here. The room was comfortable, breakfasts excellent and we even got 10% off at the local village eatery because Andy made the booking for us. We'll hopefully be back!

Room Tip: Ask for Pine or Goodrich rooms as they have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armthorpe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

greeted with tea & biscuits in the lounge. nice welcome. the views r spectacular .the room not facing the valley but knew that on booking .comfortable, with en-suit. the breakfast bacon/sausage/eggs was locally sourced and u could taste the diff. from the supermarket stuff. overall one of the best b&b we have stayed at .there have been a few in our time

Room Tip: try for a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trixie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Having booked 2 nights at green whale tump b&b we turned up and the location was excellent we had booked a superior room with balcony the room we were shown to was neither. The room was decorated very basic in white 1 picture and 1 mirror on wall the balcony was only doors to open and a rail to stop anyone falling out not a step onto balcony. There was only a wardrobe in the room , no drawers to put clothing in. No TV in the room and the hospitality tray was very basic this is not what I would class as a superior room. Breakfast was luke warm and not what I would call a full English. the rear of the property was like a building site.
The views however from the room and gardens were fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andy w, Owner at Green Whale Tump B & B, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Green Whale Tump and sad that you did not raise any of these issues during your visit so we could have tried to make things better for you. We would have certainly have cooked you a new breakfast and, if possible, provided extra ingredients for your second day. Unfortunately there is nothing we could do about our house style of simple decoration with natural oak flooring and doors and Indian rugs. We have always thought a wardrobe with drawer provided enough storage but we can now realise that we need to look into this.
We are mortified though, that you should accuse us of not giving you the room you booked. We have two superior rooms on Booking.Com. The superior double room (known on our website as the Goodrich Castle Room) and the superior double room with balcony (known as the Loft on our website). I can assure you that you booked the superior double room not the superior double room with balcony. If you no longer have your booking information I will happily provide you with a copy from Booking.Com.
We are very sorry that this misunderstanding has spoilt you break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Spent two wonderful nights at Green Whale Tump. Met by Ali in the guest sitting room. Tea offered and sat outside drinking in the views over the valley.
Our room was the Goodrich room which was spacious and a great view. The shower was a bespoke wooden fame which was a esthetically a nice touch in keeping with the use of natural wood.
Breakfast was superstitious with local produce. The local pub is 20 minutes walk and does great food and takes 30 minutes coming back?
A super place to base yourself , we would have loved to stayed longer

Room Tip: Be guided by your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJW153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Booked a room for a special weekend stay. So glad we did!
Beautiful setting overlooking the valley and the river with a large door/window to make the most of the view. Very tranquil and slept with the window open without a sound from outside save the early morning chorus.
Nothing is too much trouble. Need a lift to the local inn? Not a problem. Information on the area? What would you like to know? Ali and Andy are the perfect hosts and treat their guests as long-lost friends. We don't often go back but this time we are already planning the next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

A warm welcome and a most relaxing stay. The views are outstanding, especially from the garden which has far reaching views over The Wye Valley. The images of the Goodrich Room do not do it justice - a lovely room.
Oh and a fabulous breakfast too!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesandCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
2.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lower Wythall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Radcliffe Guest House
Radcliffe Guest House
#10 of 40 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.4 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#16 of 40 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
3.8 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Whale Tump B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Whale Tump B & B

Property: Green Whale Tump B & B
Address: Green Whales Tump Bulls Hill | Walford, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Whale Tump bed & breakfast has beautiful views over the Wye valley, an area of outstanding natural beauty. We enjoy a quiet rural location yet are only 3 miles from the market town of Ross-on-Wye and M50, 8 miles from Monmouth. Located in the historic border land between England and Wales there is beautiful countryside, castles, historic towns and the industrial archaeology of the Forest of Dean to enjoy. There are stunning walks and cycle rides straight from the door. Ali and Andy offer a warm welcome and home cooked food including evening meals with ingredients sourced locally from quality producers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Whale Tump B & B Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing