We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Whale Tump B & B
Ranked #35 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had 2 nights here and were very impressed. A really warm welcome from Andy and nothing seemed too much trouble. The rooms were very clean and well appointed ... I missed having a tv but I can appreciate that the noise may be unappreciated by other guests. A nicely cooked breakfast and lots of local advice left us feeling we would certainly return for another stay.

It was a little tricky to find but the view from the lounge and garden soon had you forgetting any small inconvenience endured en route. Well recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Gary_7Telford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here to extend a family visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, nothing was too much trouble and the facilities offered were extremely good value for money. Breakfast was superb and the views across the valley are breathtaking. We stayed in their Loft room and it has everything you could possibly need for a home from home experience. There is something extremely relaxing about waking up to the bird song and a beautiful sun rise. We couldn't recommend the Green Whale Tump enough and we will be returning again. Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely B & B with gorgeous views. Rooms were spacious, clean and very nicely done out. The lovely couple who run it went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Home cooked breakfast was wonderful and we took our 2 dogs who were also made welcome. Definitely go back. Ali and Mike Garvey

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous stay at Green Whale Tump. We had the Goodrich room which had lovely views and floor to ceiling french doors. The shower was excellent and the bed extremely comfortable. Hosts were so welcoming and the breakfast was very good. Only downside was that we only stayed for one night. Great base to explore in and around Ross on Wye!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was our second venue on a 3-night weekend trip and a much better place than the hotel we'd stayed in the night before-phew! The Green Whale was spotlessly clean, with our room in the loft of a purpose built building away from the main house. The place is owned and run by a wonderful couple called Andy and Ally, who were so welcoming, kind and helpful. So quiet and no light pollution, it is the perfect hideaway if you want to escape the rat race, with spectacular views from our lovely, comfortable room. Superb, home-cooked breakfast. Lovely sitting room for residents.

Room Tip: Ask for the Loft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My partner suprised me and my god was I suprised. Absolutely stunning views. Lushhh room above the garage separate from the house. Lovely friendly host andy who was so welcoming. Went for dinner at the inn on the wye nice pub but bit unorganised. But lovely dinner.
Also had a very reliable taxi man recommended by the host to bring us back to the b&b after.
Great breakfast very filling. Beautiful b&b. Clean. Practical. Lovely. Thank you

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank missytiffy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

What a delightful find.

Very welcoming, spotelssly clean, lovely quiet room and great breakfast, what more could you ask for?

We will return but for longer than one night next time. Very central to so many places to visit, we cant wait to re book!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
3.8 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
242 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
216 reviews
2.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Whale Tump B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Whale Tump B & B

Address: Green Whales Tump Bulls Hill | Walford, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: £70 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Whale Tump bed & breakfast has beautiful views over the Wye valley, an area of outstanding natural beauty. We enjoy a quiet rural location yet are only 3 miles from the market town of Ross-on-Wye and M50, 8 miles from Monmouth. Located in the historic border land between England and Wales there is beautiful countryside, castles, historic towns and the industrial archaeology of the Forest of Dean to enjoy. There are stunning walks and cycle rides straight from the door. Ali and Andy offer a warm welcome and home cooked food including evening meals with ingredients sourced locally from quality producers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Whale Tump B & B Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing