We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for better”
Review of Benhall Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Benhall Farm
Ranked #17 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for better”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I came here with my Mum, we were visiting family in Ross-on-Wye. After a warm welcome and having been shown to our room,there was a generous pot of tea and cakes in the lounge awaiting us! Most welcome after a long journey. Our room was spacious, with a lovely view of the countryside. Carol has thought of everything, all the little touches were brilliant. Breakfast was amazing, with a huge selection of fruit, besides the cereals and fried breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and Carol is the perfect host. Everywhere is lovely and clean, and I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy4733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thankyou it was a pleasure to meet you do hope your Mum continues in her recovery & we can see you both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coelbren, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was our second visit and as expected Carol made us feel very welcome. Everything about Benhall farm and it's surroundings is just perfect. The barbel fishing is superb and over two days I caught 13 barbel and 1 pike. Two barbel were around the 10lb mark and the last one caught was about 12lb or more.
We can't imagine finding anywhere to compare to Benhall Farm - wonderful!

Room Tip: We had the room with the huge four poster bed which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rroger-rrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thankyou it was wonderful to see you again so glad you had good fishing.
& it wasn't to cold on the river back to read a book !
hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A lovely place to stay. Warm and welcoming hostess. Good, comfortable, large rooms with plenty of sitting space. Good breakfast. Convenient for walking in Wye Valley and elsewhere. We would certainly stay there again if life wasn't too short!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Privett123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thankyou it was our pleasure to welcome you all to Benhall
we do hope you can return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Amazing! What can one say? The welcome was warm and friendly and it looks picture perfect - almost like a manor house where your rich relatives live. :) We were blessed with glorious weather for our 2 day stay and even though some may not like it, it's a working farm and if you ask nicely and grovel a bit, they'll let you go and watch the cows being milked. Beware of the slippery ground and the smell but for those of us who are madly in love with cows, what an experience. One of the highlights of my 6 weeks in the UK and Europe. Oh, the brekkie was brilliant and so were the gardens. Close walk/stumble to and from the local pubs. Definitely a return visit one day.

Room Tip: Try and get the front room on the left as you look at the house/manor - beautiful comfy bed and fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thankyou, sorry you felt you grovelled to see the cows milked all our guests are welcome to watch the milking
We do hope you can return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Had a lovely stay at benhall farm, very welcoming, good location to base yourself- lots of great food pubs nearby. Can visit Forest of Dean, symonds yat etc from here. Breakfast was great. Is a working farm and not woken up by cows!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thankyou so much it was nice to meet you all & do hope you can return soon Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winsford cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago and we liked it so much we came back again. Carol and Simon welcomed us like returning family and the cup of tea and coffee with cake (home made) on arrival was a bonus. With comfortable bed, quiet surroundings, excellent breakfast, what more could you ask for. Hope to come again in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thankyou for your kind words it was good to see you both once again & indeed hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Quiet and peaceful location with delectable breakfasts! Carol is a wonderful hostess and our welcome couldn't have been warmer! Our room was fabulous, spacious and clean, and we would like go back! We will be recommending Benhall Farm to our family and friends!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SColeDRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thankyou for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again soon & wish you well for your wedding in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,100 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
27 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#9 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benhall Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benhall Farm

Property: Benhall Farm
Address: | 1 mile north of Ross-on-Wye off the A40, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing break in our Georgian Farmhouse with wonderful views over countryside to Ross-on-Wye. All rooms spacious & en-suite, each room has a refrigerator stocked with a selection of teas & coffees, fresh milk & homemade biscuits. We serve a variety of breakfasts from locally sourced produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benhall Farm Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing