We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Benhall Farm B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benhall Farm B & B
Ranked #14 of 40 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely B&B, welcomed with tea, coffee and wonderful homemade cake on arrival. Room was lovely and clean with homemade biscuits. Carol and family were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good and the choice plentiful. Easy access to lots of lovely places to visit. Lots of nice places to eat but book in advance as they get very busy. We ate at the Red Lion twice and it was fantastic, staff, food and atmosphere really made our nights. Couldn't have found a nicer B&B, we'll defnitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie2868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm B & B, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thankyou so much for your comments it was good to meet you & hope to welcome you back soon Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds Yorkshre
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This stay was outstanding.We needed a place to stay near Ross on Wye and found Benhall Farm for our May bank holiday break, Well we struck gold. Our first stay on the farm and we could not have been looked after better anywhere. Carol is super and served us up a hearty breakfast each morning for our three night stay. The house is a delight with polished wood floors and a four poster bed, lovely views over the Wye valley from our room. Its a working farm with areal family feel to the house. Lots of history to the house as it was handed over by King Henry the eighth.
We also found the location perfect for touring the area which has Ross on Wye very close and other places close at hand, We visited Symonds Yat for a great bot trip along the river and had a great commentary on the history of the River people and the area.
This is a B&B with difference as the guests are made so welcome by Carol who is always looking to satisfy her guests. A genuine lady with a big smile and a lovely nature.
We'll be back!.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm B & B, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thankyou for your kind words we would be delighted to welcome you back to Benhall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We, as a family of three, have been staying at Benhall Farm for the best part of 9 years now. We have family in Ross-on-Wye and aim to visit at least twice a year and on each occasion always plan to stay at Benhall Farm.

We could stay at numerous other self-catering or bed and breakfast establishments within Ross or the surrounding area. Some would say they are more modern, cheaper, better located, more facilities, etc etc. But, and it is a big but, none of them would have the character or homely feel that Benhall Farm has to offer. You will not find 'square' modern rooms at Benhall. You will not find 'boring' corridors filled with doors to 'boring' rooms at Benhall. You will not find 'boring' travelling salesmen walking around in their Matalan suits with cheap plastic briefcases trying to look cool. If you want any of these go to a Travelodge.

If you want to feel as though you are at home, and not away with one of the many 'Matalan Men'. then Benhall Farm is the place.

It is without doubt, wonderful.

I am being slightly selfish and I don't really want to 'big' Benhall Farm up too much. But I want to keep this place as it is, wonderful and special. I love driving down the quarter of a mile driveway to the farm and parking up my dirty Land Rover. It looks the part. I don't want to see clean Audi's or BMW's there with the suit jacket hanging up in the back. They are best parked up elsewhere, well away from Benhall Farm.

Benhall Farm is a gem, hard to describe in words. You need to go there to feel it, to touch it, to smell it. Well it is a working farm.

PS; If you normally wear a suit, leave it at home. Pack your wellies and grab some of Benhall Farms wonderful 'outdoor feeling' with both hands and enjoy it. Trust me, you will never want to stay in a 'square' room again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffPlymouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm B & B, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thankyou Geoff
for your kind words it is always good to see you at Benhall
Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very nice and comfortable B&B nothing missed. Wonderful breakfast very helpful and went
the extra mile for us. Enjoyed visit to puzzlewood and clearwell caves iron mining museam.
On the morning before we left we walked around Ross on wye very nice little town.
P.S cake & coffee on arrival was verry nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm B & B, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thankyou it is Always nice to greet new guests we look forward to welcoming you back as friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We have been staying here in both self catering and B&B for some 13 years now almost once or twice a year, so I think that says a lot. Lovely part of the world and a very very nice place to stay, Carol is lovely and has very high standards and this is just so English, very nice people and plenty of character in this working family run farm. Very welcoming and always some lovely home made cake or biscuits in the self catering and B&B, nice touches upon arrival. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm B & B, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
As always so nice to see you return,
hope all went well & we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I came here with my Mum, we were visiting family in Ross-on-Wye. After a warm welcome and having been shown to our room,there was a generous pot of tea and cakes in the lounge awaiting us! Most welcome after a long journey. Our room was spacious, with a lovely view of the countryside. Carol has thought of everything, all the little touches were brilliant. Breakfast was amazing, with a huge selection of fruit, besides the cereals and fried breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and Carol is the perfect host. Everywhere is lovely and clean, and I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy4733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm B & B, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thankyou it was a pleasure to meet you do hope your Mum continues in her recovery & we can see you both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coelbren, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was our second visit and as expected Carol made us feel very welcome. Everything about Benhall farm and it's surroundings is just perfect. The barbel fishing is superb and over two days I caught 13 barbel and 1 pike. Two barbel were around the 10lb mark and the last one caught was about 12lb or more.
We can't imagine finding anywhere to compare to Benhall Farm - wonderful!

Room Tip: We had the room with the huge four poster bed which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rroger-rrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Owner at Benhall Farm B & B, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thankyou it was wonderful to see you again so glad you had good fishing.
& it wasn't to cold on the river back to read a book !
hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#7 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
2.5 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benhall Farm B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benhall Farm B & B

Property: Benhall Farm B & B
Address: Benhall Farm Benhall Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing break in our Georgian Farmhouse with wonderful views over countryside to Ross-on-Wye. All rooms spacious & en-suite, each room has a refrigerator stocked with a selection of teas & coffees, fresh milk & homemade biscuits. We serve a variety of breakfasts from locally sourced produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benhall Farm B & B Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing