We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful fresh home cooked cakes and friendly atmosphere”
Review of Pots and Pieces

Pots and Pieces
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Teashop and Coffee Shop, serving light lunches, cream teas and a wide range of cakes. Everything is homemade!
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff. Quick service. Had a Latte and a Hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows.The Lemon drizzle cake was to die for - moist and zesty. Lovely.

Thank JanetD702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PotsandPieces, Owner at Pots and Pieces, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We were pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Pots and Pieces. You visited on our day off so you met our lovely staff who enjoy making customers feel welcome, I will let them know you appreciated their service. Sara is also pleased you enjoyed her Lemon Drizzle (it is a bit special isn't it?!), we have built an amazing reputation for our cakes and the Lemon Drizzle is a close favourite to the Coffee and Walnut. We hope to see you again sometime and please tell your friends about us if they are heading our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 294 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I visited Pots and Pieces last year and we were so impressed with the quality of the food that on our recent journey to South Wales we made a detour to Ross simply to visit this wonderful tea shop. As before, the sandwiches were excellent - really fresh bread and our choice of filling, a generous portion of ham with a side salad and crisps, was first class - in a completely different league from coffee shop chains. The home made coffee cake and the lemon cake rounded off an excellent meal. Service was efficient without being rushed, and the tables were cleared as soon as they had been vacated. Toilet facilities were clean. In short, everything about Pots and Pieces is faultless. If only we lived locally, we would be very regular visitors to this excellent tea shop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richmonds958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PotsandPieces, Owner at Pots and Pieces, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

We were pleased to be able to welcome you back to Pots and Pieces and thank you for your kind review. Customer feedback is appreciated by us and our lovely staff, so we were pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your return visit. We look forward to seeing you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Good service, cream tea comprised 2 scones (plain or fruit), choice of jam and clotted cream. Scones were warm and very nice. They also sell some interesting knicknacks and jewllery so worth a mooch around inside even if you're not eating.

Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PotsandPieces, Owner at Pots and Pieces, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Pots and Pieces. So pleased you enjoyed your Cream Tea and yes, we are always happy for people to mooch to their hearts content! Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We called in here for coffee and cake on a cold morning a few days before Christmas. The tea shop had a festive feel; warm and welcoming, tastefully decorated with Christmas music playing in the background.
We were served by friendly staff and enjoyed delicious Christmas pie served warm with brandy cream, millionaire's shortbread, hot buttered tea cakes, coffee, tea and creamy hot chocolates. Compared to tea shops in our area we were pleasantly surprised by the prices at Pots and Pieces.
Quality crafts and gifts for sale add to the overall appeal.
We will definitely be recommending Pots and Pieces to any friends visiting Ros-on-Wye.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PotsandPieces, Owner at Pots and Pieces, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us a review on Trip Advisor. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your visit so much, we seem to be achieving our aim to give visitors and locals a relaxing and quality experience at Pots and Pieces but it works both ways, we gain enjoyment from many of the varied customers we meet in the shop. It would be lovely to welcome you again when you are next in Ross-on-Wye and thank you for telling all your friends about us. Have a very happy Christmas and a splendid 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I stopped off in Ross-on-Wye en route home to Leicestershire from South Wales. With an array of tea/coffee shops in the town centre to choose from, we opted for Pots and Pieces having spied a Tripadvisor Excellence sign. The toasted tea cakes were first class and we both chose the home-made coffee walnut gateau which was moist and full of flavour - Mary Berry would give it full marks! Midway through, one of the proprietors left the cafe to help an elderly lady cross the road - a nice gesture. The standard of service was excellent and the proprietors deserve to do well

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richmonds958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PotsandPieces, Owner at Pots and Pieces, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Sara was delighted about your thoughts on her cakes and we are pleased you found us as a result of the Trip Advisor sticker in the window!
We hope you enjoyed your brief visit to Ross-on-Wye and that you get another chance to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pots and Pieces also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Pots and Pieces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing