We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for a cold day”
Review of Pots and Pieces

Pots and Pieces
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Teashop and Coffee Shop, serving light lunches, cream teas and a wide range of cakes. Everything is homemade!
Reviewed 3 December 2014

I was going to keep this place a personal secret. Unfortunately the news must have escaped because the tea room was busy! A cold Friday morning started with a really good cup of fresh coffee and (generous) slice of cake. We spent the best part of the day walking the hills at the back of Ross. Without hesitation, once we had dumped the kit, it was off for a bit more than a brew. Very tasty soup and roll, followed by tea and again cake: just right for a cold day. My partner had a quiche salad. Contrary to the "I could eat a horse" comment, I was asked if I fancied helping out - it truly was a generous salad. Needless to say, I managed well enough!

The tea shop has a number of small items for sale, the sort that really attract and feature local crafts. These are not the usual gift shop pieces, rather those that emphasize the ethos of the tea room, just a bit more attention to detail. Sore point with my wallet.

The staff have always been very pleasant, even when rushed. Frequently trying to fit folk in as soon as table become free - well worth the wait. Still, they find time to chat and make you feel welcome.

We shall be looking at further walks in the area; if not we will still call in at Pots and Pieces, just for fun of it.

There, the secret is out, but don't rush all at once!!

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sleep_deprived_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PotsandPieces, Owner at Pots and Pieces, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review. We were pleased that you enjoyed everything so much and that you decided to "let the secret out"! We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 341 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2014

Lovely tearoom in the centre of Ross on Wye with the added bonus of a gift shop with some very unusual gifts. Good service, lovely food, especially the homemade cake. Very popular, we arrived at a good time as slightly after they were having to turn people away because there were no tables. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: October 2014
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PotsandPieces, Owner at Pots and Pieces, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

So glad you were able to get into our shop, we have had our busiest year ever, word is obviously spreading! Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review and we hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

Come here often when we are shopping in Ross. Always busy which is a good sign and always a welcoming atmosphere. Lunches are tasty and the tea and fresh cakes are always good. Would recommend.

Date of visit: October 2014
Thank 87rolandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PotsandPieces, Owner at Pots and Pieces, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Glad you enjoy your visits to Pots and Pieces and we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, it means a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Couldn't fault our recent visit to Pots and Pieces.
My husband and I have been here before and as he has a sweet tooth is always attracted by the scrumptious looking cakes in the window.

No sweets today. He had coronation chicken sandwiches with a side salad which he said tasted better than other commercially made fillings.

I asked about the soup and was surprised to be given a sample. Beef goulash. Lovely and warming with a little kick along with more than enough bread.

Well worth the money along with our hot chocolate and filter coffee we were very satisfied. It is nice to have great tasting food value for money, the excellent service we were given amongst lovely surroundings. We will definitely call in again on our next visit to Ross.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANGELA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PotsandPieces, Owner at Pots and Pieces, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so pleased you enjoyed what we offer so much you have come back and we didn't disappoint this time. Our aim is to give our customers a friendly welcome, nice environment, and high quality food and drink, after all, it is you who have probably had to sit in traffic to get here so you deserve the best! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We call in at Pots & Pieces when on our walks with the family and we find the staff really friendly and helpful. Would class it more of a high class coffee shop to a restaurant but the food is delicious and even if you call in near closing time they will still make you welcome with no short-cuts to save time. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and you would be hard pushed to find an eating establishment of such a high standard

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nannybetty103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PotsandPieces, Owner at Pots and Pieces, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send a review for us. We were pleased to read you enjoy what we offer at Pots and Pieces and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pots and Pieces also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Pots and Pieces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing