We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend”
Review of Orles Barn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orles Barn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anniversary weekend”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just returned from a lovely relaxing weekend at Orles Barn,we stayed in one of the suites which was really nice(bedroom with TV,large bathroom and separate lounge with large TV).All the staff were friendly and very obliging and the food in the restaurant was excellent.Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    64
    28
    10
    12
See reviews for
35
235
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

On arrival we given a jar of cookies ... They looked and tasted homemade... Totally lush and a really nice way to welcome folk after travelling..
We were taken to our gorgeous room - Annie Elizabeth, which has been tastefully decorated, the en-suite is very clean and of a high standard; the bed for us was abit on the hard side, however it's very difficult to meet everybodies needs when it comes to sleeping, still it was comfortable and a good nights sleep was had.
Breakfast... Well what can be said??? Totally outstanding!!! Plenty of choice, nicely presented ,
tasty and served on hot plates (obviously not the cereals..lol... It's a pet hate of mine cold or cool plates!) .
Bar prices are very reasonable, which makes a pleasant treat for a night cap...
Location is good, only 15-20 min walk into the centre..
All in all a lovely place to stay..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank step324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We first came cross Orles Barn on the T V show Four in a bed,and decided it was the place for us.
We were shown to our room The Pixie Apple Suite which was superb.Everything you would expect was there for our comfort.
We found the hotel very comfortable and all the staff went that extra step to take care of our needs.
We never used the restaurant on the evening but the breakfast was one of the best .
All in all i can fully recomend the hotel to anybody

Thanks to all

Room Tip: They all seem to be good rooms,but the pixie apple was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just spent the weekend here and found it excellent. The whole place is very beautifully decorated in relaxed French Grey (we learnt). Despite the 30degree heat we had a fan in our room and the lovely garden to relax in. Food was excellent as was service. It was lovely to sit in the garden and have pre-diner drinks. Despite the fact that we were the only occupants on Sunday night we still received an excellent diner with everything we wanted. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyRosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Went to Orles Barn for Sunday lunch today and it was fantastic. We arrived and had a drink out in the garden whilst we mulled over the menu. Our order was taken outside and then we were taken into the restaurant just before our food came out. The food was heavenly - good portions and so so tasty. The beef was full of flavour and the quality was clear to see - it made for pretty good gravy too!! We viewed one of the bedrooms today as we are getting married here next year and wanted to show my parents where they would be staying - they loved it and the standard of the room was very high. We have in fact viewed all rooms and stayed in one and they are all wonderful - uniquely decorated and so stylish yet homely, comforting and welcoming. I challenge anyone to come here and not fall in love with it - I cannot wait for my big day here next year! I haven't forgotten the staff - all wonderful, welcoming and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannaroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We visited Orles Barn for a mini break over last weekend 6th July 13 staying two nights. On arrival we had a lovely welcome & the staff couldn't have been more helpful & accommodating. Beautiful room, clean, comfortable bed, fresh coffee which is a god send to me as hate instant with a passion! Wine was delivered to our room as requested, along with breakfast the following morning. The food in the restaurant is delicious & will definitely visit again & recommend to friends - five stars to the chef. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay & thank you to the new owners for making our time with you such a pleasure :o)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberSkyePhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlesbarn, Owner at Orles Barn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate everything you said and it would be a pleasure to see you again.

Kerri, Rich, Tim and all the team at Orles Barn :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have celebrated our joint birthday this weekend at Orles Barn, what an amazing place. The service, food and rooms are of excellent quality. Very welcoming, friendly and relaxed, beautiful setting, excellent furnishings, everything to an extremely high standard. Well worthy of *****. The new owners certainly know and have experience of how to run a 5 star establishment and how to treat their guests. Everything we asked for we got!!! Nothing was to much trouble. The staff are also very friendly. I asked for a starter and main that wasn't on the menu and it was no problem at all for the chef to cook this for me!!! We were so impressed we have booked again at the end of August. Absolutely amazing!!! Keep it up your doing a perfect job!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlesbarn, Owner at Orles Barn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review....you were both a delight and such a breath of fresh air!
I was delighted that you loved D'Arcy Spice as it is a particular favourite of mine (which you know) and that you enjoyed Orles Barn.
We all look forward to seeing you back here in August and will make sure that the pork dish that you had as your amuse-bouche will be a special starter just for your return!!

Thank you
Kerri, Tim, Rich and all the team here at Orles Barn x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orles Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orles Barn Hotel

Property: Orles Barn Hotel
Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Orles Barn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accomodation ideal for everything from a romantic weekend away to a bolt hole from business. Our Grill & Restaurant serves Modern British Local Food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Orles Barn has links back to the 14th & 17th Centuries and the first floor rooms have exposed beams and character features. The south facing garden stretches over an acre and is ideal for wedding receptions. Enjoy Walking? Around the hoterl area are plenty of walks to hand. after you have finihsed you can relax in our cosy bar/lounge with a local drink or maybe just a fresh coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orles Barn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orles Barn Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing