We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B in a lovely part of England near the Welsh border”
Review of Orles Barn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orles Barn Hotel
Ranked #15 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, Ohio USA.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B in a lovely part of England near the Welsh border”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our room was small but very nicely decorated, and a nice touch with bathrobes in the cupboard.
The full English breakfast was delicious, in the spacious dining room looking out onto the garden.
This place is very convenient to the center of Ross, and not that far if you are visiting Gloucester.

Room Tip: It was a little tricky to find, since the entrance to the hotel is on a slip road that comes directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandJean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    65
    28
    12
    12
See reviews for
35
239
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A real find ! We had booked in for one night only ( wish we had stayed longer ) on a tour of the area. We arrived to a friendly greeting and our room was superb. Tastefully decorated and with everything one could wish for in terms of facilities. ( nice to be able to sit with a cup of coffee and biscuit in your room after a long journey ). Bath and shower were both superb and everywhere was spotless. Beds are subjective and ours was a bit firmer than we like, but this is not a criticism.
The lounge area with it's small bar is comfortable and ideal for pre and post dinner relaxation.
We had hoped for a decent restaurant but this one exceeded all expectations. Sitting in the dining room one has a lovely view of the lawns and it was most relaxing. The food was simply stunning ,all made using locally sourced ingredients or home grown. Whilst many establishments claim to have a chef who is at best a cook, Orles Barn Hotel has a highly skilled Chef who produced some beautiful food that was nicely presented. The owners are very hands on and it shows in the high quality offered by Orles Barn Hotel.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are to the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for a wedding near by, when we arrived we checked into our room with no problems, the room was nice and spacious with low beams. on closer inspection the room had some faults, a couple of light fittings where hanging down in the bathroom and the shower door nearly fell off in my hands as i closed it. The only other downfall was the noise, walls very thin and could here people talking in other rooms as well as downstairs. The breakfast was hearty and very nice. The hotel went out of its way offering bacon buttys as some of our party left early in the morning for appointments, they also opened the bar early so we could have a drink before the wedding,
Would like to stay again if ever in area as it seems to be located centrally to most things

Room Tip: Try get a room near the back as front would be noisy due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamnewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stop over here. The hotel is just outside the town and is perfectly placed to see Ross on Wye. It is small, but beautifully decorated, and our room was spotless and tastefully fitted out. We had tea and coffee provided, and a caffetiere with fresh coffee as well. The dining room was fresh and comfortable, and the eggs benedict we had for breakfast were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcberry2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Having a fair bit of experience travelling the UK, my partner and I stayed here with high expectations. On the whole they were mostly met. I booked us the D'Arcy Spice suite, which comprises of 3 rooms on the first floor. The bedroom was lovely, the bathroom was nice but didn't quite live up to the romantic vintage roll top bath image I had in mind and finally the living room was small but cosy. I can't help but think whilst the furnishings were tasteful and well chosen, small things let it down. Every piece of electrical equipment seemed to have visible wires dangling about the place and although the decorating was in keeping with the feel of the rooms, it in truth looked like it had been rushed. The evening meal in the restaurant was EXCELLENT. The staff were incredibly attentive, the atmosphere was relaxed and the food was divine. The same could be said about breakfast. On the whole the stay was great, however had I not known I would have said this was a good 4 star, rather than the advertised 5 star - based purely on the suite we were in compared to other 5 star guest houses we have stayed in previously.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocka109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here in January

December and the first part of January are manic where she works so wanted to take her away for a break.

We stayed in the Orange room which was outstanding, as was everything about the place.

The staff was very friendly and polite, food was excellent as was the location being only a very short drive to the village.

I would defiantly stay there again and are more than happy to recommend Orles Barn Hotel

Room Tip: Orange Room is first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Whitehead_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have copied this review over from the restaurant site for this hotel on trip advisor as I love this place so much. Kerri the manager, Rich the chef and the whole team at this venue helped make our wedding day on 19th October last year perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and they helped us feel right at home from the Friday to the Sunday. The weather did its best to hamper the catering but didn't win, we did! Our guests for the wedding breakfast in the marquee were stunned by the high quality food and I can't recommend this venue enough for an intimate wedding. Our 100 guests in the evening were also well fed and looked after, as were we the whole time. We will definitely be back in the future, for our first anniversary if not before! Thanks everyone at this stunning and beautiful place, Mr and Mrs Chris Canner xxxxxxx

Visited October 2013

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but some are smaller, depends how much time you are spending in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
571 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,114 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
483 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orles Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orles Barn Hotel

Property: Orles Barn Hotel
Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Orles Barn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accomodation ideal for everything from a romantic weekend away to a bolt hole from business. Our Grill & Restaurant serves Modern British Local Food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Orles Barn has links back to the 14th & 17th Centuries and the first floor rooms have exposed beams and character features. The south facing garden stretches over an acre and is ideal for wedding receptions. Enjoy Walking? Around the hoterl area are plenty of walks to hand. after you have finihsed you can relax in our cosy bar/lounge with a local drink or maybe just a fresh coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orles Barn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orles Barn Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing