We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place”
Review of Orles Barn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orles Barn Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our second time here, the rooms are spacious, fitted to very high standards and exceptionally well appointed, this time we stayed in the 'pixie apple' (the starlit ceiling over the bath is a delightful feature) and previously the 'orange pippin'.
The only thing missing for me is a fridge (to keep my insulin in), ice for cold drinks is readily available on request
Gardens are pleasant to sit in with a before dinner tipple!
The restaurant is as expected with a varied menu
Will stay here again next time we need a base to explore the region

Room Tip: recommend both rooms we stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    63
    28
    10
    12
See reviews for
35
233
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for one night and were very pleased with our room and breakfast .The young lady on reception also served at the bar and at the table. She was at all times helpful and gracious and is a real asset to this restaurant with rooms .The garden is pleasant to sit in and watching the chef pick fresh rhubarb and feed the hens was a pleasant distraction.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I booked a room for my parents to stay here for a weekend to attend a wedding. I received confirmation of my booking and made payment for their stay a good 3 months before the event. So imagine how shocked I and my parents were to find when they arrived on Friday to be told there was no booking and no rooms available. Disappointing is quite tame for what I actually feel; this place is a complete let down.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DeeWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is decorated and run to really high standards. The room was beautiful, immaculate and there were thoughtful details such as White Company toiletries and homemade shortbread. Friendly service and well located. We were there in very hot weather and fan was provided in the room. A fridge in the room and outdoor seating for the restaurant would have made the trip even better. We did not eat in the restaurant as we wanted to eat outside and the menu was very limited.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in the pixie apple suite the main lights in the room didn't work, the shower would all of a sudden turn red hot and burnt my back, there was a function on till 9pm thats fine but there were screaming children running throught the restaurant all evening,not very pleasent whilst your trying to have a meal the bed was rock hard it was like sleeping on concrete then to top off the experience there was a huge hair in my breakfast pretty disgusting really all i got was sorry, overall it was a negative experience certainly not the 5 star experience we were expecting me nor my partner will be staying again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koujo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked two nights here B&B and paid for one dinner. The food was excellent along with the service. The room we had was "Molly Delicious" which was small but comfortable. The room was clean and comfortable, tea and coffee available and home made biscuits was a nice touch. Bathrobes available and a very good shower. The only downside was that the room was over the kitchen so we could hear alot of banging and voices until 11.30pm and again in the morning around 8am when the extractor fan started. However if you don't want to go bed early then the room is fine. I do feel though that it doesn't quiet reach a 5 star rating but with abit of attention to detail such as mowing the lawns, having flowers in the flower beds instead of flattened earth, replenish the gravel on the drive so the liner doesn't show and some decorating touch ups would soon bring it up to 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janieleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a night with dinner at Orles Barn recently. The room was lovely, with a roll top bath, en suite and dressing room. Decor throughout the hotel is nice. But attention to detail was not quite there for a hotel rating itself as 5 star. The bed was very uncomfortable and the duvet felt like cardboard. There is significant road noise from the A40 which is literally just outside. Noise also from the bar below. Breakfast was over cooked and dried up, and there were minimal continental options (2 cereals, no pastries, no jam/marmalade, etc). Food at dinner was very mediocre. We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar, but there were no bar snacks, nuts, olives etc. Overall it just lacked a bit of care and attention, and did not feel like a 5 star place. A nice B&B but no more.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank darwinthebeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
2.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
176 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,091 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
453 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orles Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orles Barn Hotel

Property: Orles Barn Hotel
Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Orles Barn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accomodation ideal for everything from a romantic weekend away to a bolt hole from business. Our Grill & Restaurant serves Modern British Local Food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Orles Barn has links back to the 14th & 17th Centuries and the first floor rooms have exposed beams and character features. The south facing garden stretches over an acre and is ideal for wedding receptions. Enjoy Walking? Around the hoterl area are plenty of walks to hand. after you have finihsed you can relax in our cosy bar/lounge with a local drink or maybe just a fresh coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Orles Barn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orles Barn Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing