We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn On The Wye
Ranked #18 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is our 5th stay at the Inn on the Wye and in that time there have been several changes of management. New managers Roger and Kay seem to be aware of the potential the Inn offers, as well as the shortcomings... most of which they seem to be addressing. This was our third New Year visit and there was little (if anything) to disappoint. The family suite is great value for money - if a little tired on a fabric level however, every room was comfortable and warm. Our friends stayed in one of the chalet style rooms across the car park.
Service (contrary to previous TA postings) was excellent. The food, both evening meal, breakfasts and New Years Eve buffet was excellent - thanks Roger and team!
The overall atmosphere remains cosy and comfortable - we could have spent all day in front of the log burner!
We really hope that Roger and Kay are given the support to raise the standard again and make the Inn on the Wye a real jewel in the Forest of Dean's crown.
We will be back.......

Room Tip: The family suite is great for those with more than 2 children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emjay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed for two nights in the family suite, met with a friendly face and good food from the restaurant. The room was good, nothing fancy but everything worked, smelt nice, comfy beds, wardrobes, mirrors etc.

Breakfast was good and the owners are really friendly to chat to.

If you're staying in the area I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MetroCity2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The review about changing facilities- you were offered a room to change your child in, surely that's pretty helpful in itself?**

Stayed here over night as part of a 20 party Boxing Day meal.
The food was lovely, up to a brilliant standard for 'pub grub' and staff were very good too.

Very friendly asmosphere and a very warm welcoming manager/owner.

Would defiantly reccomend.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Boxing day 2013 as locals to Goodrich we try and support the local businesses, we have been to the Inn on the Wye several times but the service today was unacceptable. We stopped off on our walk and asked for 2 bowls of soup, the young boy serving said it would take 20 -30 minutes to arrive, however after 50 minutes still no sign so we asked were it was, no apology made for the delay and no one appeared to have gone to the kitchen to check why it would take so long to ladle out 2 bowls of soup. We left it for a total of 1 hour and 20 minutes still no sign, the young boy who appeared to be in charge had walked back and for passing us numerous times and not once did he speak to us or apologise for the delay. At this point we decided to leave and find somewhere else to have a lunch time meal. When paying for our drinks we spoke to another customer who had been waiting 2 hours for their food and was still waiting. It appears that ordering 2 bowls of soup was out of the staff capabilities and we will not return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank buttsy568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Fourth time in four years we've gone back to the Inn on the Wye for our family Christmas Day dinner. Booked back in October, as a party of five. Noted new owners this year. Disappointed upon arrival to find that we had been seated at a table in a concourse which up until now has always been a busy thoroughfare through the restaurant area: having to keep moving my chair in to allow people to sqeeze by behind me blighted my enjoyment of the meal - noticed that one other diner sitting at the table adjacent to ours was similarly inconvenienced. We had been asked to be there for 12.00 noon for the pre-ordered meal being served from 12.30 However they didn't begin serving the first course until 1.15, by which time we had been seated for more than an hour... Unfortunately this set then the precedent for the rest of the meal, with the main course not brought out until 2.00PM and sweets not served until after 3 o'clock. In between courses the waiting staff were busy touting for drinks orders; couldn't decide whether the delays between courses were due to a lack of resource in the kitchen, or a deliberate ploy by management to sell more drinks! Food was served hot, and was of a most acceptable quality, although we didn't manage to get through all of those side dishes of veg! Only regret came with the Christmas pudding which, despite being offered on the pre-order menu with a choice of "brandy sauce, custard, ice cream or fresh cream" was seemingly only available with custard on the day. Overall verdict: good food and excellent value at £46 per head on Christmas Day. But the restaurant was much busier than we have known it in previous years and the speed of service certainly seemed to suffer: being seated for almost four hours for a three course (pre-ordered) meal + coffee is simply far too long...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SundayDriver171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

In on the Wye I booked a weeks stay ended up being here three week loved my stay nothing was any trouble I asked I got Evan down to getting my breakfast early 7.15 due to me having to on site early the hoists and staff were friendly and willing to help the food was very good value for money the room had what ,was needed I had a very happy and welcome ing stay
Thanks roger and kay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My work colleagues and myself went to a Christmas party night,we were a party of thirteen people and when we arrived we found we were on two separate tables when we complained to the manager we were told that we did not stipulate we were a party.Then the food arrived a while later and the main meal was cold.Eventually the manager put the two tables together.If it had not been for the disco the evening would of been a total let down.We all had been looking forward to the evening and was very disappointed with the attitude and rudeness of the management.I would not recommend this venue for Christmas parties.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
3.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
512 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
864 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hostelrie at Goodrich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Wye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Wye

Address: Kerne Bridge, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: £50 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On The Wye 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Inn On The Wye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Wye Hotel Ross-On-Wye
The Inn On The Wye Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing