We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”
Review of The Inn On The Wye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn On The Wye
Ranked #17 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were attending a friends celebration in Goodrich. After viewing the facilities in November they booked accommodation for 4 couples in the main building of this establishment.
A perfunctory welcome and we were directed to the chalets, not what we expected. Despite our hosts protestations and excuses that Bookings .com had reallocated the rooms, we were left with little option but to take the accommodation offered. Fortunately we spent little time there and the beds were comfortable; our original plans were to stay a number of days, thank goodness we altered them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amigo4lavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

So food was nice. Service not great. Got asked about 3times what theyd written on the pad that we'd ordered. Ordered drinks. Took 20 mins to come to us even after they asked "is there anything else?" So I said "just our drinks plz" and the girl just giggled.
The young lad on the bar was awesome though. Attentive. Apologetic. Happy.
The room in front of the bar with sofas was delightful for post dinner drinks.
A customer bought in his wet dog and ot sank out the area though and I was surprised the manager didn't say anything after he noticed the dog.
All in all great location. Just needs slight improvement in hospitality

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank missytiffy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We received an exceptionally friendly welcome on a truly dreadful day weather-wise to this place, which is set in a really gorgeous area. You can see Goodrich castle from outside (and I would highly recommend walking across there from the inn, it only takes about 15-20mins). It has a very cosy little lounge area near the bar, where you can curl up in front of a blazing fire on soft leather sofas, while there are tables outside for nicer weather.
We stayed in the chalets at the back which were comfortable and felt more private than staying in the inn itself. There were a couple of tweaks which would have further improved the comfort level- eg water glasses (we had to use our tea mugs), a shelf in the shower (very powerful and left your things bobbing in the water) and coat hooks, but overall they were very nice.
We ate in the restaurant one evening and were very pleased with the food and the attentive service. We also had breakfast in the mornings - a good selection of toast/juices/cereals was offered, as well as a full English if wanted (or variation on) or even kippers.
At the end of the day, however, the location was the real winner for us with this place. The surroundings are stunning, a real walkers paradise, and you can easily pick up a number of footpaths from this location, including the path up to Symonds Yat.

Room Tip: For a quieter night, stay in the chalets (further from the bar and from the road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esclarimonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

In short - the accommodation is a bit basic, and needs finishing, and whilst the decor downstairs is lovely and romantic and complimented by candlight, it is ruined by loud inappropriate music. The breakfast was very good but it would have been better to have known about it being included as it was not mentioned in the reservation. The bar suffers from being entirely made up for dining even after dinner service which makes it a bit awkward to stop for a drink if you don't want to sit in the lounge - and also puts me off eating there since dining service which has been out all night gathers dust. The dining area is also pumped full of loud music in the evening and at breakfast. We were woken in our bedroom at 7am in the morning by this. Staff are friendly but a bit inconsiderate if you think about the music situation.

The long story?

We enjoyed a lovely journey up the Wye Valley for my fiancée's birthday, the sun even made a surprise visit and the mood was set for an evening of romance in our four poster bedroom. We arrived at the inn, and it looked even more grand than the pictures. Parked up out the back and saw the chalets - can't say I thought much of these, not my cup of tea, but hey ho, we were booked inside anyway. As we entered the pub to check in we were sadly too astounded by the the choice of music and its volume to really appreciate the decor fully. There was one guy sat in the lounge area having a pint and reading the local newspaper on an early Wednesday evening and yet the playlist seemed tailored more to a run of the mill central city Saturday night filled disco dance floor. Hmmm. Relaxing. Romantic. Maybe we'll just grab a beer and take it upstairs.

Shown to the room by our friendly host (and no qualms there, maybe got a poor choice of music, but friendly nevertheless), and on entering we were a little dismayed to discover we could still hear the music. Quite clearly. So, no escape from Lady Gaga, OutKast and The Scissor Sisters for us. Ok, I understand that it's a pub, but the entire compliment of drinkers in the venue were holiday makers residing upstairs. Most of whom were over 40, and a couple who were cyclists enjoying a pint before trying to get a good night's kip.

We went downstairs and my fiancée had a couple of nice pints - good ale is served, and is not expensive. However we were again treated to the same music, and I mean the SAME - there can only be about 20 tracks on the playlist. There were candles lit al over the place which would have been very atmospheric had this music not interfered to the point of distraction. There were six or eight customers in total including ourselves when we were downstairs.

Music finished at 12:30pm-ish so we might have had a good nights sleep were it not for the fact that at 7am in the morning it started again. That's right. 7am.

Ok, I can understand it's nice to have some music to work to in the morning, but respect your customers please, I've never stayed in a guest house, Inn or hotel where breakfast was ruined by the local radio station. Perhaps invest in a selective amplifier system so the restaurant section can be turned down. Or just take the speakers oyut of there. That would almost definately help with the noise pollution upstairs.

In all, it's a real shame, the pkace has so much potential, a bit more love and time invested in the rooms upstairs would make them winners, the decor downstairs is beautiful, you can see a lot of effort has been put in, all for it to be ruined at the flick of a stereo switch. If it wasn't for the music I'd have rated it a 3 due to the amenities and cleaniliness - the shower room needed refurbishing, and there was rubbish under the bed; if the room was plusher and the little extra's were there I'd have given a four - I really don't think anybody would mind paying an extra fiver to have some biscuits and bottled water left in the room, or some glasses for that matter.

At the end of the day, it's clearly got a long way to go to become a desirable destination.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lowri_Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed for one night while touring the Wye river - great atmosphere and very helpfull staff.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and was verything we could have wanted quiet, warm and comfortable. The resturant is great and the food was delicous defnately recomment the mussels in orange sauce. Overall and excellent place to elax!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked in advance and followed up with a telephone call requesting a quiet room, and to book an evening meal, was assured that we would be in a chalet at the rear of the inn and that all would be ok.
Arrived 5.30 pm to a warm welcome, had a drink each before going to our room after a long day. Room was small but warm & practical. The wife took a shower, but when I then went to shower there was no hot water! Noise problem was immediately apparent from the chalets either side of us. We have stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world but nowhere have the walls been thinner! We could clearly hear the whole telephone conversation from one room (phone must have been on speaker mode as we could hear the whole two-way conversation), and as there were two young males in the other room with TV etc, we realised this would be impossible. I requested that we be moved, but was advised all rooms we taken. We felt that our stay would be a waste of time and decided to return home, I explained this at reception and was advised that I was expected to pay in full and offered a £15 voucher off the cost of a future stay (I think not) and to request to stay in the main building (as this was obviously considered to be quieter?). Departed 7.10 pm week-end break ruined!

Room Tip: Even asking in advance for a quiet room did not work, walls in the chalets are paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A party of 21 of us booked for Sunday lunch today with age ranges
6-74yrs.
The service was prompt and polite, the food arrived quickly and was hot and delicious, and one of the children was disabled and we were offered a room to use to change her.
Will definitely be going back

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
3.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
416 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
507 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
601 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
154 reviews
2.9 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Wye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Wye

Address: Kerne Bridge, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: £50 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On The Wye 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Inn On The Wye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Wye Hotel Ross-On-Wye
The Inn On The Wye Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing