We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate - not one of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adequate - not one of the best”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I like Premier Inn's, generally they're a good deal and you know what you're going to get. The same goes for this one, it's just that having stayed in about 5 different ones in the past month this one gets my lowest rating. There was no airconditioning, heating control in the room. ( a fan and a heater on the wall) - however the window did open, which was good as it was stuffy, I can only imagine how warm it actually gets in summer. There was also no lift, the receptionist had to help me carry my heavy bag up the stairs. More what I would expect in a hostel than a hotel. The location on a major road intersection roundabout was a little annoying but this was my own fault - (Ross on Wye is lovely but only walkable if you want to walk down a dual carriageway). Service at breakfast a bit haphazard. But the hotel the staff were really helpful and friendly and everything else was up to its usual standard.

Room Tip: I had a view over the fields, which was nice. But really I'm sure they're all very similar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    194
    66
    19
    11
See reviews for
155
297
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights and as usual were very satisfied. Nothing too flashy but good basic quality and comfort. This one is very quiet and well situated on the roundabout at the end of the M50. Absolutely no complaints.

We ate 2 meals and 3 breakfasts at the associated Beefeaters. The food was very good and tasty. We had both the full and continental breakfasts and both were very good value. It was good that the cooked element of the full breakfast was cooked to order and not on the common buffet basis - much better.

The major problem with the Beefeaters was that the coffee is absolutely awful. Weak, insipid - I couldn't finish my cup. It is heralded as Costa coffee but it still need to be made properly to be worthy of that name. I would go back because the food was great but I wouldn't touch the coffee with the proverbial barge pole!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spock999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This Hotel was one of the nicest Premier Inns we stayed in. The Staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again!! Breakfast was immense!! We had a really good night's sleep!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Clean,well organised staff,friendly . room clean and well maintained lovely views of fields as far as you can see . great night sleep . beefeater next to it for meals cara our waitress friendly and helpful evening meal good quality . down side...breakfast...sausages dry and baked up,snotty eggs,and all cereals etc laid out in a small corner in a u shape so you are dodging other guests.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankiebirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent warm welcome with special touches added for my mothers birthday. For the cost of the stay we were very impressed with the overall stay. The premier inn was warm, comfortable and it didn't feel like a chain, but felt personal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,158 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great friendly welcome.Clean basic Hotel.Plenty of blue badge parking.

We received a welcoming email before our arrival.Great idea.It had taxi numbers and info if you were staying over for a wedding.Satnav postcode,etc etc.

This is the best Premierinn I have been to.They were so hospitable,kind,knowledgeable.

Perfection.

Room Tip: Book early for best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We regularly stay at Premier Inn's for leisure and business as a first choice if we're not staying at a higher end hotel. On this occasion we were attending a wedding at a nearby venue and the Premier Inn was a good base for an overnight stay where we just needed accommodation.

The Ross-on-Wye Premier Inn has a much more personal touch about that most we've stayed in. Good customer service standards as usual but we felt the staff were much more attentive and it was more like a family run hotel than a chain.

The room was clean and the bathroom was well maintained with no mould or stains as you sometimes get.

We don't normally opt for the breakfast option but as we were travelling the next day we did. The service in the adjacent Beefeater restaurant/pub was very good and attentive. The breakfast and buffet was much the same as anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
149 reviews
1.7 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Address: Ledbury Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of the great outdoors in this idyllic spot by the Brecon Beacons and the Forest of Dean ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing