We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable guest house, delicious breakfast and in an excellent position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Guest House
Ranked #15 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

On arrival Judy made us very welcome even though we arrived early. She told us about all the local restaurants and pubs where we could eat during our stay. The rooms were spotless and we occupied the two four poster bedrooms which were very nice. Parking is convenient outside the guest house. The breakfast was superb..lots of choice and really well presented.If we are in the area we will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolem428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you here again. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Great place to stay if you are visiting Ross-on-Wye and the surrounding area. Good value, olde world character, friendly and helpful proprietor yet not intrusive service. Wish I could breakfast like I did everyday! Try a stay here for yourself I don't think you would be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms have river front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeryHappyCustomer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response, which is much appreciated. So pleased you enjoyed your stay at The White House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Great location just below old castle walls near A 40 end of Ross-on-Wye. Room spotless, breakfast very satisfying. Judy, the owner is friendly and very knowledgeable on places to eat. A cup of tea on arrival was just what we needed! Very near a relaxing riverside walk and a reasonable pub. Glad we stayed!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotcookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response, which is much appreciate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

As an experienced traveller who usually stays at 5 star hotels, I found this B & B refreshing in every way and a jewel in the Ross on Wye crown. Everything with this B & B was perfect. It was clean, quiet, comfortable, good value for money, in a great position for parking and the reception was friendly. The breakfast was first class and I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich0939810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response, which is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

On arrival at the guest house we were greeted by the owner, who offered tea/coffee straight away. She was very pleasant and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome.
We were able to choose what time we wished to have breakfast, which is a nice touch.
The room was clean, and the bed very comfortable!
At breakfast, the food was great, both in quality and quantity.
On departure, we were led to the door and bid a cheerful goodbye

Room Tip: Ring the hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anno28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response, which is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I arrived at the White House earlier than I had arranged and was met by the proprietor, Judy who assisted me with my luggage and then proceeded to give me a full run down on all the best places to eat at in Ross on Wye and which to avoid. She was very welcoming and helpful.
I parked right outside the hotel and was given a visitor parking permit by Judy.
The place itself could not be better located, right opposite the river Wye and in a quiet location but only a short 2-3 minutes stroll to the town centre. My room had a river view and was clean with a good sized, comfortable bed, flat screen T.V., tea and coffee making facilities and a nice clean bathroom with a good, powerful shower.
I had a comfortable nights sleep and the following morning was served a superbly cooked, full English breakfast with top quality products used. There was also a choice of cereal, fruit juices and fresh fruit too.
Nothing was too much trouble for Judy. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone who was on a short break or business trip and will use it the next time I have business in that area.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burt0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2011

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response, which was much appreciated. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed for one night and found it to be in an ideal position overlooking the river. The landlady was friendly and very helpful - tea or coffee on arrival and she gave us lots of information about eating places in Ross on Wye. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. We would happily recommend this guest house.
Patt and Bob Prime

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response, which is much appreciated. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radcliffe Guest House
Radcliffe Guest House
#11 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#5 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Guest House

Address: Wye Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: £32 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house in Ross on Wye Town centre. All rooms en-suite with river views. Easy walk to all town centre amenities. Excellent restaurants close by. Friendly owner caters for vegetarians, vegans and other diets with prior notice. Hypo allergenic bedding. Quiet part of town but close to everything. Pet friendly and child friendly. Packed lunches by prior request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The White House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Guest House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing