We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wilton Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Ross-on-Wye
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I recently had a special birthday celebration lunch at Wilton Court. We were all given a warm welcome and were very well looked after. The food was excellent as we have come to expect at this hotel and was enjoyed by all my guests. Living locally we have enjoyed many meals here none of which could be faulted.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    73
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
62
383
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights in August. The room we had was very pretty & comfortable, the bathroom however was extremely small, so small in fact that it was quite difficult to clean your teeth over the hand basin without banging your head on the glass shelf. Also it was seperated from the bedroom by a glass paned door ( with curtains) which felt quite exposed, you really need to know each other well!
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and were sadly dissappointed by the standard of food & the ambience. Whilst the main hotel is full of character, the dining room is in an extension which unfortunately lacks atmosphere & cosiness of the rest of the place.
We had a slight problem with the breakfast too, I think maybe the cook was not a dab hand at poaching eggs, whilst the waiter did apologise & explain that there was a problem with my poached eggs (it was taking ages), when it arrived there was a distinct taste of vinegar.........
Maybe we just hit a bad day, as I note the majority of views are very favourable, we felt rather let down.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toffeecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

The wilton court was a lovely hotel. The service was excellent and the rooms were tastefully decorated with some lovely touches. The bathroom was a little small but the room more than made up for it! Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed here with my husband and our dog for a 3-night break at the beginning of October. Genuinely warm welcome from the owners. We had a lovely four poster room with views of the river. The food was excellent - we stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis which was excellent value. We dined in the Conservatory and had a drink in the bar afterwards which was very cosy. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyrose82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed at Wilton Court for 4 nights in September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The welcome was warm and friendly. Our room was fairly large with a nice garden view. The bed was huge and there was plenty of seating for relaxing and a large television too. The bathroom was a decent size. The food here was outstanding and we enjoyed three dinners in the restaurant. Breakfast was also very good with the added touch of home made marmalade and jam. The cooked breakfast was perfectly cooked and there was a selection of juice, fruit and cereals. The staff were all friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed but efficient. On the other night of our stay we decided to have a lighter meal so resorted to the room service 'lite bites' which was beautifully presented and delicious. Another nice touch at Wilton Court was that we could get a jug of real milk at any time for our cups of tea in the room.

The hotel has parking just across the road so very convenient. There is a nice walk by the river into Ross. We had lovely weather while there and found plenty of places to visit in the surrounding areas. We would certainly stay at this hotel again and would recommend it for a relaxing stay with excellent food and helpful, friendly owners and staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myshkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We had an outstanding few days over the New Year period; the welcome was immense, the food, wine and accommodation superb. It was a simply outstanding experience: the only difficulty is getting a booking! Popularity brings its own problems.

Room Tip: Book rearly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband and I visited Wilton Court for the first time last year and enjoyed it so much we knew we had to come back. (See our prior review of October 1, 2010).The proprietors, Helen and Roger Wynn, are inn keepers extraordinaire. They are kind and attentive to their guests and care deeply about the quality of accommodations and service they provide. They demonstrate this in many small ways, from their warm greeting upon our arrival to the box of chocolates awaiting us in our room (Room 8, a very spacious and comfortable room with windows overlooking the lovely garden). Their staff is well trained and professional, striking just the right balance between friendly and reserved.

Aside from the charming accommodations and attentive service, we came back to Wilton Court for the food. It is just superb. The ingredients, the preparation and the presentation are flawless. I wish we lived close enough to visit the restaurant much more frequently (unfortunately, we live over 5000 miles away, which is not conducive to popping in for dinner.)

Both Roger and Helen are also wonderful sources of information on local sights and activities. This year Helen suggested a driving tour of some of the local "black and white" (Tudor style) villages and provided us with an audio CD for the purpose. We ended up having one of the very best experiences of our whole trip, courtesy of the Ladies Spinning Society in the village of Dilwyn. (There are also some amazing Norman churches in the area that are simply not to be missed. Ask Helen for her recommendations.)

In sum, Wilton Court is a very special place. Treat yourself and go.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyer91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
2.0 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.0 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#7 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Court Hotel

Property: Wilton Court Hotel
Address: Wilton Lane, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilton Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wilton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire
Wilton Court Ross On Wye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing