We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just had a fantastic weekend away celebrating my wife's birthday. Everything about the hotel was superb. Such a great location, what a fantastic view of the river we had from our room. The room it self was excellent, never slept in such a big bed. The food in the restaurant was out of this world, could not fault it all weekend. The staff and the owners were so friendly, they couldn't do enough to make our stay so great. We would both rate this as one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, would definitely stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it . 11 out of 10. Thank you so much for a superb weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were warmly greeted for our two night Secret Escapes stay and appreciated the complementary coffee and biscuits after our challenging journey in the foul weather. Our spacious first floor double-aspect river-view room was charming and comfortable, and the view of the swollen river was certainly dramatic, if a little disconcerting. On the first night we entertained some friends for dinner in the restaurant and they, like us, were very impressed by the variety, quality and presentation of all the food. We were agreeably surprised that we were able to choose from both the Market Menu and the more expensive a la Carte menu. Throughout our stay, the service and the attention to detail were exemplary. We also enjoyed the breakfast in the conservatory. We highly recommend this hotel and we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicholasp391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had an overnight stay through Secret Escapes together with dinner. The hotel is on the banks of the Wye which was in flood though the hotel had never flooded in its 500 year history! We were warmly greeted by the lady owner who told us we had been upgraded to the river room on the 2nd floor. This was very comfortable with period features and a well appointed en-suite. We had a very good view over the river and Ross itself which was an easy 15 minute walk away. We were also invited to take tea and biscuits on arrival which was a welcome touch.

We expected our choice of dinner to be from the set menu but the charming waitress said that we could "mix and match" from this and the a la carte. So for the main course we both ended with a very special Herefordshire fillet which was beautifully presented. With an excellent choice of starters and puddings this was a meal to relish!

There was only another table for 4 in the oak room though this did not detract as the room was very atmospheric with its beams, shutters and candles. A well stocked bar and wide wine list complimented the meal itself.

After a good nights sleep we were served a nourishing breakfast in the conservatory which overlooked the patio and garden - though the weather prevented us from enjoying those facilities.

If you are looking for a break in the beautiful countryside around Ross then I would recommend Wilton Court for its position, its history, its food and above all its friendly and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Try the River Room - the view is quite special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 209964Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have just returned from a short break at the Wilton Court "Restaurant with rooms". We found it through a Secret Escapes deal. Not only is it dog-friendly, it is extremely people-friendly too. We had room 10 on the second floor, with a stunning river view. It was beautiful, with sloping ceilings, lovely wallpaper and lots of beams, antique furniture, and and even an exposed bit of wattle and daub. The large bed was very comfortable. The en-suite bathroom, though small was fine, with plenty of hot water

The excellent breakfasts and dinners were served faultlessly by the friendly staff, who were always attentive but never pushy. We parked in the private the car park just outside the gate, and could see the car from our window. An added bonus was the proximity of an enclosed stretch of grassland just along the road, through a kissing gate, where we could allow the dog to exercise freely in safety.

The one slight downside was that the wi-fi did not work

We shall certainly be returning here and are pleased to recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a very pretty attic room, with super river views. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed mid Dec on a Secret Escapes deal. Our room was upgraded to a very pretty room in the eaves with a view of the river, the decor was so pretty and quaint, the room was very comfy and clean, lovely tray of tea, coffee and biscuits. Bathroom was small but very functional. Slept very well. Breakfast was very well presented and tasty.
We ate in the bar area and had a great meal, we chose the beef as it was recommended on a previous review - it was gorgeous. My favourite part of the meal was the cheese board, each cheese was very local and flavourful.
We only stayed one night but wish it had been longer. Would def return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

A really great place to stay - you feel like part of the family.
Even our dog was made welcome. And the food is fabulous; especially the plate of chocolates you get after you've dined. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Can't fault the location, food, service and general areas (bar, lounge and restaurant). All first class and upto their 5 star claim. However don't be fooled into thinking your room is going to be like one of the three they show on their website. No doubt those rooms are in the building somewhere but we never saw them and neither did our friends who accompanied us for a three night stay. We were in rooms 5 and 6 and they definitely not 5 star. More like 3 to 4 star. Very clean but bit too snug for any real comfort although think 6 had the edge on 5. The latter bathroom you couldn't swing a vole in, let alone a cat. The shame is that had we known what sort of room we would get we would still have gone. The Great Escapes deal was still good value but having looked at the website our expectations on the rooms were obviously too high and it left us with the feeling that we had been cheated.
After that feel need to reiterate that everything else was excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for you. Would we go again? Probably but with a more realistic expectation on the accommodation side.

Room Tip: Think said enough on this subject.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RoyS1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
602 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Restaurant with rooms Wilton Lane, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: £133 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Wilton Court Ross On Wye
Wilton Court Restaurant With Rooms Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing