We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate”
Review of The Bridge House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bridge House
Ranked #4 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First rate”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A beautiful top-end B&B. We stayed for three nights, and it was our first visit to Ross-on- Wye. We were very impressed with the accommodation, which has been sympathetically but beautifully refurbished by the lovely young couple, Darren & Elena, who run it. The decor and furnishings are of the highest quality, and the house is situated in a very convenient spot with great parking facilities. The garden is spacious and well kept, with beautiful views out to the river and fields beyond. There are garden tables & chairs provided and also a fire pit if, weather permitting you wanted to dawdle a while in the evening out there with a glass of wine or cup of tea. There is also a very comfortable lounge area and daily papers are available for all to read.
The bathroom was lovely, I want one just like it! the shower incredible, and I loved the french bathroom products, which I am going to track down & buy more of. The breakfast was probably the best we have had, and we have stayed in quite a few B&Bs over the years, using good locally-sourced organic produce. Darren & Elena were very helpful and gracious hosts, they offered lots of helpful advise and tips to help us make the most of our stay, and we would recommend The Bridge House without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
150
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Simply the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Beautiful house, beautiful rooms, beautiful views. Breakfast was superb and Darren and Elena are very welcoming and hospitable. Very child friendly with separate gardens for those that might prefer a bit more peace and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheYoungUns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

On arrival greeted by Darren and offered to take our bags.Booked in and taken to our room which was large and very clean ,first class .then tea and coffee and home made cake in the garden. Breakfast was excellent ( salmon on scrambled eggs ) as was the full english .Very good location with lovely views .If you dont want to tavel far just opposite down the road a little way is a nice pub and restaurant with views of the river . Come highly recommended. If in the area don't miss this luxurious B & B . The town centre is a 15 min walk away which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: room 6 back of house with views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you think of this as a hotel you may be a little disappointed. However, if you think of it in its true context - Bed & Breakfast accommodation - then you will not be disappointed. The room was very comfortably furnished and had all that we would expect in it. The breakfast was delicious. It took a little time to come but that was to be expected when it is individually and freshly cooked. Most of all, the proprietors, Darren and Elena, do their best to make you feel welcome and to ensure your stay is enjoyable. The location is also superb, with views of Ross and the river from and across the garden. One small issue - WiFi is very poor unless you are in the lounge. Darren - I suggest you get a repeater.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was very good. One shortcoming for some, no stand-up shower (only the old teleph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjs1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a truly excellent B & B.
Very stylishly decorated throughout much of it in keeping with this charming Georgian house. There is a comfortable lounge and a really lovely breakfast room with a view to the river Wye and the town of Ross beyond. The garden, where we were served tea and lemon cake on arrival, runs down to the river. You can walk along the river path into town in about 15 mins.
The bedroom was superb. A lovely king-size bed, firm, with crisp white linen. The bathroom was exceptional - the fittings would not have been out of place in any luxury hotel. The shower was of another class altogether. All spotless and shiny and looking as if it had just been fitted.
The breakfast: easily the best I've had in a B & B. Wonderful fruit salad, excellent coffee and a great choice of really good quality cooked food. A choice of newspapers. You don't often see
guests lingering in a guest house breakfast room, but the combination of the decor, food and view added up to a really pleasurable experience.
Plenty of parking at the rear.
A friendly well-behaved dog.
Nice people running it too - professional, informative, and welcoming.
Overall, this a very classy place. Luxurious, comfortable and with a fine, relaxed and stylish ambience.

Room Tip: Rooms with river views are quieter than those on the road side. There is some traffic noise in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DockBrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for one night with the aim of having a relaxing weekend away in a picturesque setting, and Bridge House was the perfect place to stay. Our room was absolutely spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the B&B), and every piece of furniture was clearly carefully chosen, from the four poster bed to the plush black velvet armchairs. Darren had recommended a few restaurants for our evening meal, we chose the Wilton Court and the food was amazing. The breakfast was really well cooked, and perfect fuel for a long walk at Symonds Yat! Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone, couldn't fault anything.

Room Tip: We had room 4 at the front of the building, which we were warned had more traffic noise than the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwassiSwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

If you're lloking for a break that will make you feel spoilt, then Bridge House is for you!
Darren and Elena welcome guests as if they are old friends.
From the exquisite entrance hall to the beautiful bedrooms, there is a 'wow' factor that continues throughout. The decor and furnishings are of the best taste and highest quality, and the Hypnos beds ensure a great night's sleep.
Everything looks and feels brand new.
The dining room overlooks the beautiful meandering river Wye and the large mature garden leads down to it.
With Elena's welcoming tea and home-made cake to Darren's awesome cooked breakfast with home- made hash browns, we cant wait to re-visit. They really have thought of everything.
In our exoerience, you usually get what you pay for, but Bridge House is worth evey penny and more.
Psssss. . . . Don't tell everyone

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a certain charm of their own and you won't be let down which ever you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge House

Property: The Bridge House
Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge House: a luxury Bed and breakfast by the river, with the best river views in Ross-On-WyeThe Bridge House is a luxury family run bed and breakfast beautifully located on the bank of the River Wye next to Wilton Bridge, a few minute's walk along the river will take you to the centre of Ross-on-WyeThe Bridge House has been lovingly refurbished as a luxury Bed and Breakfast. Dating from 1740, the Georgian House is nestled in a peaceful village on the outskirts of Ross-on Wye.The Bridge House is a unique place to stay with friendly, informal service. There are six individual bedrooms, most with fabulous river views, and there are also stylish comfortable spaces for guests to relax, blending the authentic 17th century with modern tones and warm luxury furnishings. The Bridge House is both family-friendly and a romantic retreat, a perfect place from which to discover Ross-on Wye and explore Herefordshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Ross On Wye
The Bridge House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing