We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“lovely old hotel”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

e have often eaten here but never stayed. We usualy stay at the royle,and decided i wanted a change,The first room we were given the bath plug did not work properly,we were soon moved to another room ,the tv was a little small ,the room was of a good size and nice and cleen,the bar is like a traditional pub and there is also a newley refurbished lounge nice to relax in,breakfast was good, nice coffee,the evening meal was very nice,the bar meals are good too sandwiches like door steps.we had room 11 at the front of the hotel it was nice and quiet .The staff are a nice bunch and very helpfull,We come to ross quite a lot ,i think we will stay here again next time

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieD580423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    146
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
220
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fulmer, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Kings Head in Ross on Wye for a night over the Easter weekend. We stayed in room 3 which is the 4 poster bedded room and found it very comfortable and peaceful with a wonderful recently refurbished bathroom. The restaurant at the Kings Head serves great local food at reasonable prices. The staff and management were very friendly and recomended that we drive to Symmonds Yat East to take in the view. Despite the rainy weather it was spectacular with views over the forest of Dean and the river Wye.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We statyed at this hotel for two night for a wedding. The hotel is situated on the high street of the town and has a good sized car park.
Our room was on the top floor and the stairs were quite steep and narrow to the third floor. The room was clean with a good selection of tea and coffee. The double bed matress was a little soft and did prevent a good night's sleep. The shower tap was very stiff and took some effort to tighten.
Staff at the hotel were very polite and the breakfast was very good with a great choice.
We also stayed for an evening meal which was reasonably priced but the portions were somewhat lacking.
The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of the town's amentites and was a great base to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swift1496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great accommodation..excellent food & very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyrider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Kings head hotel is centrally located so is ideal for shops and restaurants. We found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. The hotel is old and has much character. There is a car park for residents at the rear of the hotel. Our bedroom had everything we needed, beds were comfortable and furnishing were of a reasonable standard. We had a room to the front of the hotel which we found to be noisy late at night. Breakfast was tasty and staff attentive. We would definetly stop again but would prefer to have a room to the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulharrison58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived: the staff were, without exception, cheerful, friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel itself is absolutely charming, being several hundres years old and so full of character, from the cosy, wood pannelled bar to the maze of landings upstairs leading to the individual rooms. Ours was very spacious, with a thoughtful selection of lovely toiletries in the bathroom and a well-laid out room with ample space for clothes, luggage and plenty of space to move around! The food in the restaurant is excellent and, again, the service very good. Breakfast lived up to all expectations and we look forward to returning to the hotel next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: We were in room 12, which overlooks the main street. Only one or two late-night revellers were heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stumbled across this hotel in the centre of Ross and were most impressed by its restaurant. The food was excellent, including really varied and flavoursome vegetables. The service was very good, and we came back on another occasion to enjoy a meal in the attractive bar area, which is redodlant of a byegone age, yet in spick and span condition. Again, the food and the service were beyond expectations. We would certainly want to go back and would unhesitatingly recommend the Kings Head Hotel in Ross.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stroud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Property: The King's Head Hotel
Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing