We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely character hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for our anniversary. A lovely hotel, super comfy bed and amazing food. If you want somewhere nice to stay, book this hotel. We really enjoyed our night and would recommend highly to others. All the staff we met were great and very friendly, cannot fault the service! Many thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Welshcake1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

I'm a real sucker for old buildings and I loved this gorgeous hotel which is tastefully decorated and furnished whilst retaining all its character and history. We stayed Fri 14th and Sat 15th February in Room 18 which is quite small but lovely with a fab new ensuite shower room and lovely far reaching view. There is a deep glass-covered well in the floor of the dining room where we had the most delicious breakfasts and evening meal from local producers. I would have loved to have stayed longer to have time to relax in the comfy library and bar. The excellent food (smoked haddock with poached eggs or full English breakfast, smoked salmon/king prawns/crab seafood platter and mouthwatering steaks), friendly helpfull staff, great service, spotless cleanliness, attention to detail, countless little extra touches and sheer comfort all make this an excellent hotel that we wouldn't hesitate returning to if in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainlandgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We took advantage of a great Sunday night deal to stay at this hotel for the second time in 2 years. We were given a super room (Room 6) which had lots of space, huge bed and a very smart en suite. Excellent dinner and breakfast. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patdavidroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed one night on business. Very nice room, full of character, clean and nicely decorated. Up to date bathroom, powerful shower.
"Local" feel to the bar, the main dining room was under refurbishment so breakfast was served in the front smaller dining room, all very good. Staff very friendly.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have just got back from a wonderful stay at the Kings Head Ross-on-Wye for new year.
The hotel is lovely. The rooms are very clean and the bathroom is fantastic. The best shower I have had in a hotel.
We ate their both nights and the food was wonderful, highly recommended as was the breakfast.
Overall a great experience good value for money and a big thanks to the staff for being really helpful in returning my left items very quickly. ☺

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Every meal here is superb, top class food at affordable prices! Our room was very big with a huge bed and lovely beams! Great shower and toiletries provided. I can't fault this hotel, lovely professional staff and a hard working friendly owner!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Rated it excellent based on an overall view.

Food : More than excellent and superb value
Room : The negatives: The place is 600 years old.... absolute rabbit warren upstairs, uneven floors, twisted stairs and god forbid there was ever a fire in the place.... The rooms ( well 18) was small...and badly sound insulated.. could here the person next door snoring all night...:
Positives: Super comfortable bed, great shower.... ( hand basin needs to be treated with kid gloves as it spits at you) But come one for a building this old and the issues associated with getting plumbing working here they have done a great job. Oh and did i say about the food...... awesome and some of the best food eaten in 2013..... For the 80 quid ( booked directly , 85-90 on the web sites) Its a tad over priced but it is right in the center of town... Car park is tight to get onto with a motorcycle on a trailer behind BUT great parking once off the road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yachtprojectsphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are really pleased you had an excellent time and enjoyed our popular restaurant.

I was however, concerned about your comments about the fire safety of the hotel. We take the safety of our guests and staff very seriously. On purchasing the hotel eight years ago, one of the first things we invested in was a modern state of the art fire alarm system to the L2 standard. This is checked weekly, we also have annual PAT tests, gas safety checks, risk assessments etc. We have modern emergency lighting, which is also checked, and luminescent directional signs for escape routes and exits. The hotel of course has been inspected by the local fire authority.

The room you booked was a standard double room, we do have larger rooms but they do cost slightly more. The room you stayed in was refurbished earlier this year and the soundproofing between it and the next room was improved at the time. I'm surprised you were able to hear snoring in the next room as all the rooms close to yours weren’t let on the night you stayed. Whilst we sympathise with you, if your night was disturbed by another guest, I would like to assure you that we do make every effort to make the hotel as quiet as possible. However, there are limitations to what is possible in a listed building. Fortunately, no other guests reported hearing snoring on the night of your visit and to be fair it’s not something we have had complaints about before. We do have phones in all our rooms and guests are encouraged to ring the night manager if they have any problems.

We believe the rates we charge are fair and reasonable. We do not aim to be the cheapest around but offer value for money whilst still being able to maintain the hotel in good order and pay our staff a reasonable wage. For just over £66, the difference is VAT which we don’t get to keep, you had free parking for your car and trailer in the centre of town, designer toiletries, free coffee/ tea and biscuits, free filtered water, a refurbished bedroom and en-suite with a great walk in power shower. Fresh linen, fresh towels, free Wi-fi, flat screen TV, super comfortable bed. and of course breakfast for two cooked fresh to order using local ingredients.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,146 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
593 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
489 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: £77 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing