We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is top notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This hotel is top notch!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is our third time visiting Ross-on-Wye and the third time we have stayed at the Kings Head, each time we come back with more of our family to enjoy the experience with us! Six of us stayed for a long weekend to celebrate two family birthdays. The hotel again was lovely, rooms were large and well kept and the staff were very welcoming. We ate in the restaurant on the first and last evenings, the food and service were excellent. Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend, we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle070767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    145
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
49
217
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Visited Ross on the Wye with a group of friends on a day out. As it was a Sunday there wasn't much open in the lovely old town. Our older friends were tiring and needed refreshments and a break so we found the above pub/hotel. Great old pub with original features. Great friendly staff and food and drinks menu. Settled for drinks and snacks which was spot on. The roast dinners that were on offer were also tempting but as we had dinners waiting for us at Holmes Lacy we resisted. Would recommend a visit if you are visiting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernSouly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were regular visitors some time ago to the Kings Head and on this visit we were pleasantly surprised that any changes were for the better. It has loads of character which has not been lost in any of the improvements. We stayed 28th February and 1st March in room 3 with a four poster bed, very comfortable. Great shower in the ensuite bathroom, my only complaint about the whole weekend was that the sink was too high, but we can live with that in the Kings Head !!!
The restaurant was well run by the knowledgeable and caring staff, it was full both nights, there was no panic, just an air of calm confidence. The meals were really good quality, pleasing to see that most of their supplies come from local farms and businesses. You have to try the chips and then the sausage at breakfast is to die for, it has flavour !!
All in all a very peaceful stay which is what we both wanted, when we left we felt we had been really well looked after. Yes, we will return

Room Tip: Room 3 had the four poster bed, room was a bit small but clean and comfortable, great shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for our anniversary. A lovely hotel, super comfy bed and amazing food. If you want somewhere nice to stay, book this hotel. We really enjoyed our night and would recommend highly to others. All the staff we met were great and very friendly, cannot fault the service! Many thanks for a great stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Welshcake1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I'm a real sucker for old buildings and I loved this gorgeous hotel which is tastefully decorated and furnished whilst retaining all its character and history. We stayed Fri 14th and Sat 15th February in Room 18 which is quite small but lovely with a fab new ensuite shower room and lovely far reaching view. There is a deep glass-covered well in the floor of the dining room where we had the most delicious breakfasts and evening meal from local producers. I would have loved to have stayed longer to have time to relax in the comfy library and bar. The excellent food (smoked haddock with poached eggs or full English breakfast, smoked salmon/king prawns/crab seafood platter and mouthwatering steaks), friendly helpfull staff, great service, spotless cleanliness, attention to detail, countless little extra touches and sheer comfort all make this an excellent hotel that we wouldn't hesitate returning to if in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainlandgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We took advantage of a great Sunday night deal to stay at this hotel for the second time in 2 years. We were given a super room (Room 6) which had lots of space, huge bed and a very smart en suite. Excellent dinner and breakfast. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patdavidroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. Very nice room, full of character, clean and nicely decorated. Up to date bathroom, powerful shower.
"Local" feel to the bar, the main dining room was under refurbishment so breakfast was served in the front smaller dining room, all very good. Staff very friendly.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,091 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#8 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Property: The King's Head Hotel
Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing