We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Ross stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a well-run pub/restaurant/hotel. We stayed 2 nights recently. The bar and restaurant are of a high standard - local beer, local food produce are a stand-out feature. Fish dishes are particularly good - even for breakfast!

Given the age and location of the building don't expect an entirely logical layout of the facilities. Bedrooms are comfy, though the windows being fairly ancient are not the easiest to open, and on a Friday or Saturday night don't expect an entirely quiet night as you're right in the centre of town.

Staff are generally friendly though when I said our TV picture had suddenly deteriorated there was an air of disbelief - our TVs always work properly! - another staff member later said "Oh it happens all the time here - the picture goes suddenly". If arriving by car - beware the very tight turning in to the small car park and take note of the Ross one-way system to get to the hotel. A less stressful way to get there is to take the bus to Ross as hotel quite near various bus stops.

If wanting dinner in the restaurant make sure you book a table well in advance as these get booked up quickly. And on a lighter note the covered over section of the car park has a mechanical bird-scarer that emits some interesting sounds!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth paying a little bit extra for.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, the comfort of your room, our friendly staff and the effort we put into serving locally produced food cooked to order.
The hotel’s car park can be accessed directly by turning right off High Street, which is a tight turn for larger vehicles. The alternative route is to drive up past the Royal Hotel on Palace Pound so that the entrance to our car park is straight ahead. This is the route we recommend for larger vehicles and which our suppliers use. Guests booking to stay at the hotel are sent a confirmation email with a map and directions.
We are sorry you initially had difficulty in receiving ITV 1 on the afternoon of your arrival. When you came down to reception and told me your TV was faulty I was a little surprised as the TV in your room is new with no other reported incidents of malfunction. The hotel has a reliable, modern amplified digital aerial system with all the standard Freeview channels. Fortunately, I was able to find that the cause in the poor signal on one channel on your TV was the aerial plug behind the TV being slightly loose, this was soon remedied.
Thank you again for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for The King's Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in this privately owned hotel "The King's Head" for one night in May- travelling with a large dog. We enjoyed our evening meal as well as breakfast there. Yes, there are many stairs, the building is a bit of a "warren" and the rooms are fairly average. However, the bed is very comfortable and certainly, a room at the back of the hotel gives you a chance of a good night's sleep. We particularly liked that we could sleep with a wide open window. The remarkable thing about The King's Head, is the friendliness of all its staff.They also went out of their way to place us comfortably with our dog at all times. The food was copious and of good quality, and the public spaces cosy. We went away with a smile on our faces.

Room Tip: Poor sleepers should ask for back room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne Gerd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed with our friendly team, the hotel's ambience and the local food we offer.

The King's Head is a historic former coaching Inn and unlike modern purpose built hotels, no one room is the same as another. The room you booked was our one standard King Size room, which as stated on our website where you booked, is due for refurbishment later this year and is therefore priced accordingly. We do also have Superior King size rooms, family and four poster room which have all been updated over the last few years. These do cost a little bit more, but we do feel they are worth the extra.

Thank you again for your kind comments. we look forward to welcoming you and your pooch again to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We are locals. Whenever anybody asks where to eat in Ross, we always recommend this pub/restaurant/hotel.
The service is good. Compared to other restaurants in town, I'd say this is usually the more pricey but my gosh it is worth paying extra for. Even the drinks seem to taste better here: it's as if they have worked out what tastes best through food and drink science!
Everytime we have eaten here since the current owner started, the food has always looked perfect- fresh ingredients and always tastes amazing. Despite being quite a classy place to eat, the portion sizes are really generous- none of this posh pea sized nonsense here! Since having children, we don't eat out as much as we used to, but whwn we do- this is our 1st choice every time. They always keep the restaurant clean and lovely looking. Being local, it's a long time since I've seen a hotel room here but given the photos on their various web pages, they are not afraid of spending money on renovation when they want to. Well done K.H. ! *****

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank crazycatlady33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent one night on dinner, bed and breakfast package - the food was absolutely delicious, especially the steak! Our room was very comfortable, nice wide bed and very quiet. Would definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a very average town centre hotel, nothing special. On the plus side, the Breakfast is great. On the downside, the rooms particularly at the front of the Hotel are noisy.We stayed for 3 nights and were pleased to get home for a good nights sleep. There was a road sweeping lorry working outside the Hotel at 5-30 am, followed by delivery lorries to the town centre shops from about 6-00am and in the Early hours of the morning Boy Racers with loud exhausts. The bedroom we had was quite small, but the bathroom was large. Would not stay here again due to noise.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the Hotel for a better nights sleep
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayRCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are really please you enjoyed your breakfasts with locally sourced Herefordshire produce.

A guest, enjoying a comfortable undisturbed sleep is of course a paramount concern to us. We do recommend guests who are light sleepers request a rear room when booking. We will always do our best to find a quieter room, but this is not always possible when the guest, as in this case, is part of a large group booking, as we do only have so many rear rooms available, being a small hotel of just 15 bedrooms.

A couple of the many reasons guests book the King's Head is its convenient location just off the town centre, and that it is a lovely old characterful building. Being grade 2 listed does mean however, we aren't allowed and wouldn’t want to replace the original Georgian sash windows with modern triple glazed units. What we can do to reduce noise, we have done. We have installed modern secondary glazing, and thick lined full length curtains. These measures do of course ultimately require the guest to leave their window closed when they are asleep.

The room that was booked for you, was one of our standard double rooms, our superior rooms are larger but cost a little more. We are pleased you enjoyed the en-suite your room had with its recently fully refurbished wet room with power shower.

Roughly half the hotel's bedrooms are at the front of the hotel and are just as popular as the rear rooms and are often specifically requested by returning guests


Thank you again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed one night with friends and ate in the restaurant on Good Friday evening
The room was great, lovely walk in shower and comfy bed
The restaurant was full and good atmosphere. The food was great but we had to wait rather a long time for it but when we enquired the waitress explained they had had an issue I. The kitchen. As the good tasted good and we were chatting with friends it was not a problem.
There was parking at the rear and we parked out two motorcycles in their garage that we believed they locked o er night. The operated CCTV so our pride as and joys enjoyed the stay as well

Room Tip: Entrance to parking at the rear just before the pub on the left
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyB1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We met up with friends and had a most enjoyable lunch.The choice of food available was very good and the service excellent.The restaurant area had a good atmosphere.We would certainly like to go back if we are in the area again, and it would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JanetS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
580 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: £75 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing