We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Booked online and even with good reviews places can be a gamble but room, staff and evening meal all excellent! Also slap bang in the middle of Ross so easy to go and walk off the excesses afterwards!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank russ_fae_fyvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    147
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
223
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Friendly, efficient staff together with excellent food, and all at a very reasonable price. The hotel itself has awkward stairs but comfortable bar and lounge and brilliantly designed and decorated dining room. Beds very comfortable and more or less everything worked. Only minor criticisms are tasteless olive oil, and some vandal puts sugar in the porridge.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deale, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I stopped here on our way to wiltshire and in fact found the hotel on line by sitting in a mcdonalds in Wales.
It is a lovely inn with lots of character, the staff were very helpful and the rooms were very well presented. We stayed in a room on the second floor with a wet room, new one on me. It was amazing how they had incorporated a shower, toilet and wash basin in such a small space.
The food was good and the service excellent, particularly the lady who was running reception that evening and as it seems everything else.
Well done we would stay again!

Room Tip: Although this hotel is in the town it has it's own parking, right behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 1 night here after a long day on the road. Everything about the hotel is great, such a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere topped of with some good food, excellent rooms and friendly staff.
Loved it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Superb hotel, welcoming and the winning quality for me was the staff . Obviously a winning management policy . The food was of a high standard using local produce. It is what it is ....a very old coaching inn so be prepared for steep stairs and uneven floors . A delightful building plus the comfort of the beds, quality of bedding , and shower room, was of a high standard. Will return and enjoy the delights of Ross-on-Wye again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent 2 nights on a DB&B offer at the end of May.
When arriving please note there is a very narrow tight turn into the car park, but this was of course built for horses not cars.
From the car park you enter the hotel from the back and perhaps do not get a very good first impression, there are some scruffy houses and the outside seating area with smokers and you get to reception past the loos.
Once inside it is a different story, the staff are friendly and helpfull.
We had a room on the first floor, the stairs are narrow and steep but that is part of the charm of an old building, The room was very nice, with a blocked of fireplace with flowers in and a big modern bathroom with normal size toiletries not fiddly little packets. As the room was at the front we wondered about noise but the secondery double glazing worked well.
Dinner in the restaurant was very good, again the staff were lovely, I managed to lose an earring but it was waiting for me at breakfast. All the food was excellent.
The bar is a proper old pub are and my husband says the beer was very good there was also a good choise of wines.
There was a spolight out in the bathroom and one side of the illuminated mirror was out. I mention this at reception in the morning the spotlight was replaced but they could not mend the mirror as they could not get the part. The manager again apologised when we checked out (nice touch)
In all we had a very enjoyable stay. Ross is very nice and I would recomend the riverside walk.
It was nice to stay somewhere with character, as so many hotels are bland and the same, I would just say that if you have mobility issues this may not be the place for you.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was vey good.I cannot comment on the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a well-run pub/restaurant/hotel. We stayed 2 nights recently. The bar and restaurant are of a high standard - local beer, local food produce are a stand-out feature. Fish dishes are particularly good - even for breakfast!

Given the age and location of the building don't expect an entirely logical layout of the facilities. Bedrooms are comfy, though the windows being fairly ancient are not the easiest to open, and on a Friday or Saturday night don't expect an entirely quiet night as you're right in the centre of town.

Staff are generally friendly though when I said our TV picture had suddenly deteriorated there was an air of disbelief - our TVs always work properly! - another staff member later said "Oh it happens all the time here - the picture goes suddenly". If arriving by car - beware the very tight turning in to the small car park and take note of the Ross one-way system to get to the hotel. A less stressful way to get there is to take the bus to Ross as hotel quite near various bus stops.

If wanting dinner in the restaurant make sure you book a table well in advance as these get booked up quickly. And on a lighter note the covered over section of the car park has a mechanical bird-scarer that emits some interesting sounds!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth paying a little bit extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, the comfort of your room, our friendly staff and the effort we put into serving locally produced food cooked to order.
The hotel’s car park can be accessed directly by turning right off High Street, which is a tight turn for larger vehicles. The alternative route is to drive up past the Royal Hotel on Palace Pound so that the entrance to our car park is straight ahead. This is the route we recommend for larger vehicles and which our suppliers use. Guests booking to stay at the hotel are sent a confirmation email with a map and directions.
We are sorry you initially had difficulty in receiving ITV 1 on the afternoon of your arrival. When you came down to reception and told me your TV was faulty I was a little surprised as the TV in your room is new with no other reported incidents of malfunction. The hotel has a reliable, modern amplified digital aerial system with all the standard Freeview channels. Fortunately, I was able to find that the cause in the poor signal on one channel on your TV was the aerial plug behind the TV being slightly loose, this was soon remedied.
Thank you again for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,114 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
571 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Property: The King's Head Hotel
Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing