We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde worlde hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you like quaint and quirky, this is the place for you. Old hotel with original features. Comfortable rooms. Excellent restaurant. Courteous and efficient staff all round. In centre of old market town. Have stayed here twice now and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very old Hotel with historical interest situated in the middle of the town. A creaky building which adds to its character and has the added benefit of its own car park. The room allocated was spacious and very clean with its ensuite bathroom. All staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient and a hearty Herefordshire breakfast was consumed with relish. Wish I had been staying there longer to have more time to explore this charming town.
l

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A wonderful hotel in a classic style smack bang in the middle of the quaint market town of Ross on Wye. The superior room we booked is worth every penny it is large and fitted out in a classic style the bed is huge and luxuriously comfy and the power shower is as it says on the tin powerful. The restaurant has a fantastic menu which is only surpassed by the excellence of the staff serving the menu they are friendly and knowledgeable, a rare combination nowadays. We enjoyed our stay that much that we approached the management and asked if they may accommodate us for a further night this they did, it appears nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful professional staff at this establishment.

Room Tip: Go for the diner bed and breakfast option a bargain on all levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pimoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, your headline says it all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Kings Head with our daughter and her husband for one night after a family reunion nearby. We had requested Room 6, which we knew to be a great room and we were not disappointed. Our daughter & husband had Room 10, which was a super room too. Although it was a Sunday evening and the restaurant was very busy (always a good sign), our food was excellent. Breakfast was just as good. This is a gem of a hotel with fantastic offers, friendly staff and interesting and comfortable public rooms - we particularly enjoyed the library. We shall certainly return.

Room Tip: We like Room 6, which is on the front of the hotel and has a large bathroom with bath/shower. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank patdavidroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Booked online and even with good reviews places can be a gamble but room, staff and evening meal all excellent! Also slap bang in the middle of Ross so easy to go and walk off the excesses afterwards!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank russ_fae_fyvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Friendly, efficient staff together with excellent food, and all at a very reasonable price. The hotel itself has awkward stairs but comfortable bar and lounge and brilliantly designed and decorated dining room. Beds very comfortable and more or less everything worked. Only minor criticisms are tasteless olive oil, and some vandal puts sugar in the porridge.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I stopped here on our way to wiltshire and in fact found the hotel on line by sitting in a mcdonalds in Wales.
It is a lovely inn with lots of character, the staff were very helpful and the rooms were very well presented. We stayed in a room on the second floor with a wet room, new one on me. It was amazing how they had incorporated a shower, toilet and wash basin in such a small space.
The food was good and the service excellent, particularly the lady who was running reception that evening and as it seems everything else.
Well done we would stay again!

Room Tip: Although this hotel is in the town it has it's own parking, right behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brit022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,146 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
593 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
489 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: £77 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Head Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing