We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Staff warm and charming, nothing was too much trouble. food great value for a first class meal. Clean and quirky in equal measures. The setting is spectacular with walks and day trips close by. Well worth another trip later in the year for our anniversary

Room Tip: looking out over beautiful grounds and hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    109
    49
    32
    25
See reviews for
106
197
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stopped for lunch at The Old Court completely on spec and were not disappointed. A gorgeous place, full of character. We sat outside on the front lawn as it was a beautiful day and we had our dog with us, the garden was immaculate, dog bowls provided, lovely old stone tables to sit at. We had a speciality local lamb burger and the lasagne, both outstanding. Lovely salad with really interesting leaves, and an excellent dressing, homemade chips and some really nice herby garlic bread. Service was fast, efficient and very polite. Based on what we experienced we are looking into an overnight stay later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally-Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay, beautiful hotel and great staff, nothing is too much trouble. On arrival we were delighted with our room, spotlessly clean and very large. Food was wonderful - absolutely no complaints and would recommend to anyone. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmc5650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A beautiful building outside and in. Staff is friendly, albeit a bit inept. Prices are a total rip-off for what you get. My partner has an cast iron stomach, but the "Prawn And Crayfish salad" had him vomit for several hours.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traum T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback which i was extremely concerned to read. I went straight to the kitchen to investigate the products concerned and recent sales. The dish served was frozen prawns which are defrosted daily on chefs arrival and crayfish which come in 3 times a week in brine from our Fish supplier. The Crayfish themselves have a refrigerated shelf life of approx 14 days. With current sales we order between 4 & 7 buckets of these per week. Our sales are such that they do not sit with us longer than a few days. On the time of checking after your review the bucket currently open has 9 days to go on the best before date. In addition, we use prawns and crayfish in a starter dish, in a pasta dish and in our restaurant as well as in the salad you consumed. On the day you visited we sold 11 Crayfish & Prawn Salads, and a further 37 other dishes that used those ingredients. We have had no other customers call us, or give us feedback that they have had problems from our food on that day.
Given the above facts is it possible that you might be allergic to one of the ingredients, have an current illness or medical condition that reacts to shellfish or were generally unwell at the moment? And could one of those things or something else caused you to be unwell?
Finally, as an owner of a business that produces between 500 and 1500 meals per week, and has never had a proven case of food poisoning since taking ownership, I would request that you take a stool sample or have a blood test to PROVE food poisoning as you will understand your review contains a defamatory statement which could have a negative impact on a successful food business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Somewhere we would come back again, great place food good, lots of walks and a really friendly and clean place.

Just down the road is the River Wye were you can walk for miles alongside the river.

We stayed in the Symonds Yat holiday let attached to The Old Court Hotel, very clean and plenty of room for 2 adults 2 children and our dog

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I am a local and have been lunching at your hotel on numerous occasions over many years and have always been totally satisfied with the high quality and reasonably priced food.
About 3 weeks ago I visited with some friends on a day when you were hosting a wedding. We all had the fish cakes which were all potato and cold with a very tired looking salad. I put this down to the fact that there was a large wedding party being catered for.
Today my family from Birmingham were staying and as we were visiting the maze etc over the road I suggested we lunch with you. The food was grossly overpriced for the very poor quality we experienced. My grandson for £6 was served a frozen burger that was pink in the middle and in edible .
What has happened?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ingrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your visits here recently and please accept my apology for your dissatisfaction. I have spoken with our kitchen team and fed back your comments relating to your fishcakes and salad. I am surprised our salad appeared unfresh as we have deliveries daily from Bulls Hill Organic Leaf Farm so we don't have stock turnover issues with fresh food. In relation to your visit on Saturday I am sorry your burger was not to your liking; it is a frozen burger as we recieved feedback from customers that children do not like the steak burger; which is homemade with garlic, horseradish and herbs; so we have been serving this for 5 years with only happy customers! In relation to the price; our prices have not gone up since March 2013 on food. As a regular customer I am surprised you suddenly think they have gone up as I can assure you things are the same price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Never fails to disappoint, friendly staff, tasty food, excellent selection of vegetarian options. Today's choice was lasagne and chips and smoked haddock with new potatoes, both we're beautifully presented and incredibly tasty ( obviously freshly prepared and homemade, no frozen here ) Defiantly worth paying more for the specials. Don't be put of by the price it's worth the wait. Would highly recommend it to friends and will defiantly return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Many thanks for your recent feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your food. Yes most of our dishes are homemade here and we find our customers really do appreciate it! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
5.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
177 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#11 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
375 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,092 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court Hotel

Property: The Old Court Hotel
Address: Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing