We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy and Not so Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had food here on sunday, 2 roast dinners and ham egg and chips, were all beautiful meals, problem was the waiting time to order the food, one person taking the orders at the bar meant queing for ages. I understand how busy you were with the added event outside, but surely you could have organised better. The other problem was the mint and horseradish sauce we had to collect ourselves, both in jars that had been used by other people, so NOT hygenic!!!
I will visit again as the food like I said was lovely, but if I see the sauces in jars I will walk straight back out. The young waiters and waitress's worked very hard and were very efficient so well done to you all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for The Old Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is really beautiful & set in some stunning surroundings, brilliant outside for family's etc . Lovely quaint bar, great for couples. Really friendly staff and great value for money. Will be coming back & would defiantly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped by here after a beautiful boat trip on the river with a friend. I have never been disappointed when I have come to the Old Court, lovely food to compliment the idyllic surroundings. If you need somewhere relaxing and has good food, definitely worth a visit! Beautiful gardens to sit in also.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Advisor2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I do not know why this hotel is listed under Ross on Wye as it is in Whitcurch, Symonds Yat. I have stayed there on numerous occasions as seen on Tripadvisor but this time it was totally different. We stayed in the Barn Self Catering Apartments and found it was just perfect.We could have had Breakfast in the Hotel but a small breakfast prepared by ourselves was sufficient at a later time.The Apartment was huge and we were glad with the extra room to relax quietly after a long day out.A very comfortable stay and will do it again. Evening meals were taken in the Hotel and were up to scratch. Will stay in the same place again next year. Thanks to Tori and all the Staff. Superb.

Room Tip: Any Room O.K but if a function on stay away from the back.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Staff warm and charming, nothing was too much trouble. food great value for a first class meal. Clean and quirky in equal measures. The setting is spectacular with walks and day trips close by. Well worth another trip later in the year for our anniversary

Room Tip: looking out over beautiful grounds and hills
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stopped for lunch at The Old Court completely on spec and were not disappointed. A gorgeous place, full of character. We sat outside on the front lawn as it was a beautiful day and we had our dog with us, the garden was immaculate, dog bowls provided, lovely old stone tables to sit at. We had a speciality local lamb burger and the lasagne, both outstanding. Lovely salad with really interesting leaves, and an excellent dressing, homemade chips and some really nice herby garlic bread. Service was fast, efficient and very polite. Based on what we experienced we are looking into an overnight stay later in the year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Sally-Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay, beautiful hotel and great staff, nothing is too much trouble. On arrival we were delighted with our room, spotlessly clean and very large. Food was wonderful - absolutely no complaints and would recommend to anyone. Will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenmc5650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
5.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
210 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
580 reviews
5.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
135 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,137 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court Hotel

Address: Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: £63 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing