We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Court House
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Inn On The Wye(Ross-on-Wye)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Glewstone Court(Ross-on-Wye)
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Lodge(Symonds Yat)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
26
20
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
20
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure car parkbed and breakfastenjoyed my stayforest of deanbeautiful buildingcooked breakfastlots of charactera lovely place to stayguest housechristophercourthousefridgebedroomcenturytelevisionhosts
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great service, the owner even met me in the pub to hand over the keys to my room, as they were going out. Found the whole place friendly and peaceful. lots of character and the room was just amazing, totaly enjoyed my stay there great value for the money, and am still talking about the trip even 6 months down the line.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leeec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Lovely hotel with original features, enjoyed a night in this hotel with my partner the owners were very pleasant and helpful and our room was large and airy the bathroom was quaint but very small breakfast was great everything you could need

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Old Court House is an extremely historic building in the centre of the "olde worlde" town of Ross of Wye. The rooms are speacious and well appointed, sensitively adapting to the architecture. Breakfast is excellent and owners very helpful and friendly. Happy to recommend to all except those with difficulties getting up historic stairs!

Room Tip: Don't expect "bog standard" - it's not!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed over in Ross-on-Wye for the national ploughing championships and thanks to three knock backs from b&bs we were directed to the old and traditionally quirky guest house. It was lovely inside and the breakfast to die for allowing us to order anything. As for the rooms, we stayed in the attic room which was lovely with original features in every corner and we loved it .AMAZING

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank Macauley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very disappointing stay a this hotel: Large rooms; but not clean. Electric wires exposed and safety problems. On main street; noise from front of building. Very basic; owner not made any effort. Fungues in bedroom on carpet, Breadfast was OK, fine for a B and B

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Desmond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCourtHouse53, Owner at The Old Court House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

We are sorry if you did not enjoy your stay in our B&B. Although I do have to note to note that your review would appear to be in the minority.
I will do my best to answer you points.
Cleanliness is not always easy to maintain in a 400 year old building but I can say that we had just experienced a burst radiator and this may explain the state of the carpet and some of the stained paintwork, the mould by the way was rust marks from the radiator.
Sorry but we don't have any exposed or dangerous wires as the whole electrical system is protected by earth leakage circuit breakers, any exposed wire would have tripped the system in Nano seconds, maybe it was the extension that we supplied so that you could run the fridge, kettle and microwave in our "basic" room.
I don't know what you expect to raise a room above a basic level but I would have thought the above items along with the shower W.C., hip bath, flat screen T.V., super king-size bed, and fire might have gone some way towards it.
As for the noise, well we are on the high street and as a listed building we are unable to fit double glazing.
Well at least the breakfast was O.K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews