We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome if you like something a little different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hill House
Ranked #11 of 40 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome if you like something a little different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our weekend was so relaxing and chilled. The hosts are wonderful people who made us feel totally at home. The North suite was wonderful, with log burner and very comfy bed. Food was utterley delicious and amazing value. Loved the Bike Shed cinema room, felt completely away from the world :) Will definatly be back and highly recommend to all who know us. Thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanettealderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    19
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
106
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We travel by public transport And hoped for a pick up from bus station 'was not to be' but 3 taxi rides later ( drop off bags early -room not ready ) we finally settled in to our fabulous room tres comfortable 4 poster Duncan promised us a special Dinner for 2 Welsh champagne ( it's good) dragon breath chicken ,local produce ,amazing cheeses and real ice cream Made for a first class dinning experience And the Full English Breakfast local,organic sealed the deal. We want to return and share this Gem with our friends . Met charming Alex next day ,enjoyed views and walks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hill House last weekend, on the recommendation of a friend, for a wee honeymoon weekend. I knew what was in store, from the website, reviews etc, but my husband had no idea, it was a surprise for him. Remember that this is a b and b, not a swanky hotel, you are booking the room and not the house. We were booked into the Dryad Suite. When we arrived at the house, there were chickens roaming free through the garden, fabulous. We were warmly greeted by Duncan (the owner/chef/host extrodinaire). He showed us to our beautiful room. There is a little cabin bed in the first room you walk into, then you walk through into the main bedroom and are greeted by the enormous four poster bed, it is huge! Roll top bath in our large bathroom. The room was just fabulous and the bed super comfy.Views from the windows out to the beautiful rolling countryside. There is a little bar with some reasonably priced drinks in and a very acceptable and pleasant local bubbly, to which Duncan treated us one for our honeymoon. There is a little movie room (which we didn't use), with bean bags, a projector and dvd player.
Breakfast was served in a room through the kitchen. A large table where all guests dine together, not too closely though. Breakfast was fabulous!!!! Excellent sausages, beautiful bacon, free range eggs. Breakfast consisted of cereal (if you so wished), full English of two pork sausages, two bacon, fresh tomato, mushrooms, black pudding, eggs and toast. Just excellent! If you are lucky as were we on our first night, Duncan may cook dinner, which was also plentiful and most enjoyable.
We walked from the guest house to Goodrich Castle on the Saturday (8 mile round walk), which was nice and visited Symonds Yat East on the Sunday, with a little boat trip (very busy place). And jumped in the hot tub with a bottle of bubbly when we got back, heaven.
Our stay at the Hill House was just wonderful! It is not all pretty, shiny and sparkly, what it is, IMO, is shabby chic, with lots of charm, quirky bits, a wonderful host and just such a lovely place to be. We do intend to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rockysgirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Spouse and I have stayed here twice; once on the way back from a wedding and once for my 40th birthday. Having stayed before, there simply was no other choice for my 40th birthday. Duncan, Alex and their lovely children are a delight, as are the house, rooms, hot tub, sauna and grounds. We've stayed in the Dryad Suite and the North Suite and adored both. If pressed, I think I preferred the bed in the North Suite to the enormous 4-poster in the Dryad but it would be no hardship to try that one out again.

Although we didn't try Duncan's cooking in the evenings (gastronomic opportunities in Ross itself are numerous), his breakfasts are rightly legendary. And usually render lunch unnecessary.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the house but my favourite is the North Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissWednesdayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a place. Originally saw the place on the Hotel Inspector and thought what a great place. Stayed for two nights in the North Suite and what a great room and so glad to have booked. Duncan cooked supper on our second night and the three courses were huge incredibly good and offered great value for money. Breakfast was outstanding too.
Stunning views and a great place to relax. We will be back.

Room Tip: North Suite is very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jango1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just spent 2 nights at The Hill House guest house. The proprietors Duncan & Alex are lovely, very friendly and welcoming. The room itself was stunning (we stayed in the North Suite) & it was even nicer than I expected with a beautiful free-standing bath, balcony, large TV & DVD player & an upper level which sleeps 3 more people. The main bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The rest of the building is slightly shabby chic but in a charming way & full of character.

There is a huge shower/wet room, Swedish style sauna, hot tub, bar and a room you can watch DVDs in on a massive screen. There is also a huge selection of DVDs and books to borrow.

One of the most impressive elements of our stay was the food. The breakfasts are amazing - huge amount of food & very highly quality. I especially liked the fact that there are no set times for breakfast. We ate there the first evening and were given 4 courses and way more food than we could possibly eat. Duncan & Alex seem very passionate about using local, high quality ingredients and seem determined to ensure you leave a few pounds heavier than when you arrived.

The small niggles we had were that the hot tub wasn't working and there isn't always enough hot water.

Overall, am looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here late May 2013 for 2 nights for a family reunion. Unfortunately the weather was mostly cold and wet which meant we didn't use the hot tub (or sauna) and we needed the fire on in the lounge each evening. We took over the whole house which was great and we stayed in the beautiful Dryad suite which has a 4 poster bed to die for! It is Huuuge and extremely comfortable and actually very cosy despite the room being a bit chilly. You can pay extra for the fire to be lit and I suspect that in winter you would need the extra fire to keep warm as this is a very large spacious room and it was a bit on the chilly side despite being May. It would be great for a family and for a longer stay as it has loads of room and an extra small double in a separate room attached.
The house is amazing; each room is unique and lovely; there is a large "cinema" room with huge stock of dvds for most tastes, a library area, the breakfasts are fantastic and we also paid for an evening meal the first night which was great and to be recommended if you don't want to venture out. Although I'm not a vegetarian, the vegetarian options looked great and I was very tempted by them too (both breakfast and dinner)
I am torn about giving Hill house its rating. The thing is that being an old house, it was a bit on the chilly side and I think we needed to pay for the fire to be lit in the lounge which I was a bit surprised about, but they key thing that decided a "very good" as opposed to "excellent" was that there was no hot water (at all) in the morning as we had used all the water bathing the previous night apparently! So, it is a lovely place to stay and I would recommend it (particularly the Dryad suite) but it depends on what you are after.
Duncan & Alex are lovely hosts and if the weather is good you could make more use of the gorgeous terrace and hot tub and maybe if the heating had provided more hot water, it would have swung it for an "excellent." Really it is a great place to stay but I felt the lack of hot water could be an issue for some.
We also ate out at a nearby village "pub" called The Mill race, which was tasty but expensive and I have reviewed that separately. Duncan's food was much better value!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but check the hotel website as each serves different needs. For a family, the D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hobbotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
2.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
3.8 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lower Wythall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill House

Property: The Hill House
Address: The Hill House Howle Hill, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Hill House Hotel Ross-On-Wye
The Hill House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing