We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - Great Hosts!”
Review of Castle Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Lodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights (23/24 July 2013)at this hotel, having requested a move from another nearby hotel due to a problem with our room (incidentally our move was well-managed by the previous hotel staff) and what a gem this was. The room was tastefully decorated, the view of the river Wye was very restful, and the bed was comfortable. Having sampled Steve and Georgina's (5*) cooked breakfast the first morning, we decided to stay another night! We also stayed for dinner at the hotel and, once again, we were not disappointed with the food - delicious!! the hosts are very friendly and welcoming and deserve praise for the professional and value for money way in which they run their hotel. Thanks for a lovely stay - would certainly recommend. the river walk is a must :)

Room Tip: Room four has a beautiful view of the river and is tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

The owner of this hotel is fantastic! He saved the day for us by giving us a lift to pick up our car when we couldn't get a taxi on Sunday morning after the wedding we had attended nearby. He wouldn't even take any money for it! What a kind gesture and it was really appreciated. This is a lovely place to stay and it has its own unique quirky style. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanePWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We came back for our third visit in three years - a half-way house for us on our way to North Wales, and, as always, Georgina and Steve made us feel very much at home. Our room this time was even better (Number 2) and over the three nights of our stay, going and coming back, we were given every kindness. Steve went out of his way to help us - my wife is disabled - and between them they made us feel very special. Dinners and breakfasts were delightful, and Steve even taught us a few words in Zulu - he lived in South africa for many years! We had time to see something of Ross over a weekend, and also to visit the castle, which is literally just round the corner from the hotel. Both Steve and Georgina have put a great deal of work and effort into making Castle Lodge a place to stay. We'll be back again!

Room Tip: Decor is great and every room has its merits - room 2 especially for its very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfessorDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

What really made this hotel different from any other was the kindness and hospitality shown by its owners. i visited Ross on business and Georgina and Steve went out of there way to help me, really going beyond what could ever be expected. A very clean and well decorabed room, with great attention to detail, comfortable bed. all round a great stay, definately recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnieCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the bank holiday weekend. It was a truly beautiful place. The owner Steve was very helpful, friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The room was lovely, very stylish and clean with beautiful views of the river. The meals were fresh and lovely, we will definitely be coming back. thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryfiona21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My sister booked a night's stay at this hotel online, as part of a 'weekend getaway' treat! What neither of us anticipated was our coincidental arrival with a wedding party who took over most of the hotel: most importantly, the bar and restaurant - no food or drink available to the weary travellers after 3 in the afternoon! (I suspect had my sister been aware of this she would have booked elsewhere!) On the plus side, though, the view from Room 5 is absolutely stupendous: the river, the hills, the town of Ross amidst the bright green new foliage of woodland trees ... scarcely could be bettered. The location of the hotel is very convenient - for visits to Ross, and being close to the A40, for touring further afield. The room was comfortable and clean (although the orange + brown 70s swirly pictures over the beds not quite my taste, but that's being picky!). Staff were helpful + friendly and suggested alternative places to eat. In summary, had we been able to sample the chef's well reviewed fare, my scoring might have been 5/5!
Alison (+ Fiona) Shifnal, Shropshire

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Excellent value for money - very good comfortable room overlooking river in distance, don't be put off by location out front, it's really quiet and you can't hear any traffic. The couple that run the hotel while being very hospitable and giving details about places of interest do not encroach on your privacy. My husband and I stayed 5 nights and used the hotel as our base to travel to Brecon Beacons and many other places of interest. We left every morning after breakfast which was really generous, we hardly needed lunch, then returned in the early evening for a cuppa in our room sitting in comfortable chairs overlooking the river, which we walked along a few times, before enjoy a superb evening meal and a few drinks in the really lovely old fashioned comfortable pub, or in the lovely bright and airy dining room. We plan to go back in July this year for a few nights & look forward to it very much. Carol & Cameron Jones, Marlow, Bucks UK

Room Tip: Room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolJones27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
2.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,187 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
513 reviews
2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge Hotel

Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: £53 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the banks of the Wye, this lovely 16th-century country house awaits to warmly welcome you. Our family-run hotel offers its guests a stylish and friendly atmosphere. Dine with us in the Wilton restaurant serving the best of local and international cuisine (non-residents always welcome). We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Castle Lodge Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing