We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great dog friendly spacious cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage

Sitting Room with TV & wifi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room with TV & wifi
Master bedroom Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Sitting Room with TV & wifi
Master bedroom
Kitchen
Fireplace
Bedroom 2
Dining Room
Sitting Room
Multi game table
Parking
Garden
Lovely views from the gardem
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LouisMayn...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great dog friendly spacious cottage”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

8 of us plus dogs spent a long weekend in the Ganarew Cottage and the cottage was spacious enough for us all. All rooms were spacious (Although we did fight over the master bedroom + en suite), with fresh bedding and towels. On arrival we were treated to a great tasting cake as well as some staples of milk, tea, coffee, bread and jam to start us off. Supplied with some logs to get the wood burning stove going, as well as lots of recommendations for pubs and places to walk. Can also highly recommend the Saracens Head for dinner near Symonds Yat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jocb832
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We booked this cottage for my birthday as it looked so wonderful on the website ..... well in real life it's even more wonderful.
There were eight of us and there was more than enough space. The lounge is warm and accommodating and the log burner was fabulous. The kitchen is spacious and the extra fridge plus the freezer in the garage area was really useful. The bedrooms are lovely and airy and light, the en suite room is huge and a delight to sleep in.
We were welcomed with a cake, bread and lovely jam, such a thoughtful touch.
The area has so many gorgeous places to visit and great pubs to eat in.
We only stayed Fri to Mon and I think we all would have wanted to stay longer. We will definitely return.
Thank you Katie for a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Many thanks for the kind words. I'm so pleased you had such a great birthday weekend. Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
945michae...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Completely as described”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Spacious, clean and warm. The family group comprising 6 adults, a 5 year old plus a 7 week old infant, were all comfortably accommodated both in the living area and bedrooms with the "boys" (30 and 27 years old) taking full advantage of the games available. And the log burner provided a welcome centrepiece on the autumn evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation
Liked least: Car parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2017
Many thanks for your review. I hope to welcome you back sometime soon. Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S
1 review
“Lovely well equipped holiday home.”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a fantastic stay in this lovely, comfortable and well equipped cottage.

The upstairs is incredibly spacious, with a very large master suite and three other large double rooms. Plenty of space for a large family.

We were lucky to have some sunny weather and were able to enjoy the outside area and the BBQ with some visiting family.

Katie was very helpful and communicated all the necessary information effectively. The lovely homemade cake, bread and jam were a welcome arrival gift.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homeliness and space.
Liked least: Lack of a second shower.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the goodies. Maybe we'll see you again soon. Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo P
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spacious but cosy cottage”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Although the weather was a little disappointing, our stay in Ganarew Cottage definitely was not. Everything from decor to linen was of a very high standard, including very comfortable beds (not often found in holiday cottages) Lovely setting in a pretty hamlet but also convenient to Monmouth and the Forest of Dean. Will definitely be booking this cottage again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the accommodation
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soup2016
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spacious holiday home in a beautiful setting .”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at the cottage with our family of 8 adults and 1 baby and 2 dogs . There was plenty of room for all of us . As a base to explore a beautiful area it was great . There are so many different places to visit that suit all tastes . We particularly enjoyed Godrich castle , Clearwell caves and walking to Symonds yat .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. I hope you see you back one day.

Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariaandj...
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perfect location perfect cottage”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Booked this cottage for me and my wife's birthday. Couldn't have been happier with our choice. We took our family and dogs with us and we all felt the same - we didn't want to go home! Lovely, roomy, comfortable and an idyllic spot. Four huge bedrooms one en suite and the rest with wash hand basin. Lovely bed linen and we asked for the beds to be made as doubles and they were massive! The kitchen was really well equipped and the dining table and chairs were perfect for family meals. We loved the lounge - three comfy sofas, throws and cushions. We would definitely come back here. Loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roominess
Liked least: Nothing loved it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2016
Many thanks for your lovely feedback. I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing