We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely quiet place in the country for a short...”
other travellers have booked this property
Tree Tops is nestled in 6 acres of beautiful woodland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tree Tops is nestled in 6 acres of beautiful woodland
The exterior of Woodpecker Annexe The well-equipped kitchen in the annexe
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Tree Tops is nestled in 6 acres of beautiful woodland
The exterior of Woodpecker Annexe
The well-equipped kitchen in the annexe
Looking out of the kitchen into the porch
Guests have a private terrace where they can enjoy the peaceful garden.
The ensuite bathroom
The porch is a handy place for walking boots and firewood.
Tree Tops has some interesting geological phenomena in the woods.
Tree Tops in the snow
Guests enjoy the gardens at Tree Tops
Explore the woodland at Tree Tops
Canoeing on the Wye is popular.
The new elevated deck with adjoining woodfired hot tub
Lovely views from the elevated deck!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen K
1 review
“Lovely quiet place in the country for a short break”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Tree Tops has an exceptional location away from the crowds on a wooded hillside. We were welcomed by our host who showed us around and also had provided a lovely welcome pack, including some eggs from her own hens. There was a wood-burning stove and plentiful supply of logs, so we were very cosy. The amenities and furnishings are comfortable and excellent.
We spent some time visiting local places, I would particularly recommend Goodrich Castle, Symonds Yat Rock and also walks along the Wye Valley.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2018
Thanks so much for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you both! Kind regards, Marion and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merle G
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“We love coming to stay here, paradise in the woods.”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have been to Tree Tops 3 or 4 times and love coming back - when you arrive there are delicious little bantam eggs waiting in the kitchen, biscuits, milk and tea. This time, there was a fire laid on in the wood burner making our little home already warm and cosy in January. Marion and Simon, the hosts, are friendly and interesting, but not intrusive . In summer we have our breakfasts on the patio and build a campfire fire to enjoy a warm evening . The real treat of Treetops, though, is the woods. Walk out the door, and you are in a nature paradise, a mature mixed woodland, with ancient twisted hederow trees. Couldn't be better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your kind comments - we love having you to stay and look forward to seeing you next time! All best wishes, Marion and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steveandt...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, exceptional stay! Loved it!”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Tree Tops - Woodpecker Annexe.
Location was stunning - beautiful and so peaceful. Our accomodation was very comfortable. Marion and Simon couldn't have done any more for us to make our stay better - they constantly went the 'extra mile' and made the holiday extra special.
Amazing eggs from very happy hens, best ever tasted!
We couldn't do all we wanted to even during our two week stay so will be back for sure!
Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments - it was lovely to have you staying at Tree Tops and we're glad you enjoyed your holiday. See you next time...!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter m
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good accommodation in great location”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Although a short stay, we enjoyed the property and location. We felt very welcome when we arrived. On this occasion we self catered and the cooking facilities are good and the all in one room and sitting area is spacious and comfortable - it's a very cozy place to stay. All in all very good value with lovely views and very peaceful.

The location is great for hiking with access to many routes and whilst only a short stay we didn't need to use our car. You can walk to Ross OW in about an hour.

We will definitely return but stay for a bit longer the next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
We're glad you enjoyed your visit - thanks for booking with us! It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to seeing you next time. Marion and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lashima
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic spot! Our two night stay felt like a week's worth of relaxation. So tranquil and the hot tub was absolutely magical. Marion couldn't do more for you. The grounds are enchanting to explore, and the little touches like fresh farm eggs made us feel at home. A superb get-away spot, will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
It was lovely to meet you both - thanks for your kind comments! See you next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
226terryw
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“An idyllic place to stay for a visitor to the Cotswolds and beyond”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife and I used Tree Tops for a “home base” for 2 weeks while visiting relatives & friends in the UK after a long absence. This location was perfect for us, as we wanted to be close enough to relatives and to visit the gems of the Cotswolds and beyond. During our stay, we visited places such as Symonds Yat, Upton on Severn, Monmouth, Chepstow, Malvern, Bourton on the Water, Northleach, Painswick, Tewksbury, Winchcombe, Cheltenham , Toddington & Stratford upon Avon to name a few.

The annexe is spotless, very comfortable and great new appliances – all you could need.

Hosts Marion & Simon were very welcoming & chatty – you can’t help but enjoy their company.
Marion is an excellent host, explaining everything on arrival, providing a starter pack of tea, coffee, milk etc and some fresh flowers. . Marion also popped by every few days to make sure all was well (it was).

Simon is a semi retired highly skilled timber artisan, as is evidenced by the cut timber on the property and the newly constructed hot tub, something we look forward to using when next we visit (the view from this is stunning). Both Marion & Simon are very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the local flora & fauna, which is delightful. Both are working hard to increase biodiversity.The garden is a real treat, and a great place to sit outside with a coffee or glass of wine.

A daily visit from Rita the chicken never failed to raise a smile.

The sounds from the surrounding woodland make Treetops the most idyllic place to stay.
My only regret is that we did not have enough time to stay “home” for a day or two to explore the grounds via the various walks, and enjoy the peace a little more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranqulility
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
It was a pleasure to have you staying in our annexe. Thank you very much for your kind comments. See you when you return to the UK!
Best wishes, Marion and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Enjoyed it all there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing