We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff Struggle On” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Admiral Hornblower

The Admiral Hornblower
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Admiral Hornblower
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oakham
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Staff Struggle On”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I think this is my third year staying at this Inn for the British Bird Fair weekend. Its always hard to find anywhere to stay even a year in advance, still less anywhere with good disabled access for several of our party.

Last year we were told that the company that owns this place (among others) was in administration and, while a buyer is sought, the pub, B&B and restaurant would continue. Our impression is that this is a profitable business that was not well run by its erstwhile owners and that as a stand-alone establishment it could pay its way. This is, however, no more than an impression.

So, after a year the Admiral Hornblower is still a going concern but is beginning to suffer lack of investment.

Its biggest asset are the staff who were all personable and helpful and did their very best to make us all comfortable. They looked after us very well and made every effort to help with any issues short of being able to spend much money doing so. The biggest issue was that one of the beds in our twin-bedded room had springs sticking up making for a fitful night's interrupted sleep. Night two was much improved by the provision of a second duvet to use as a mattress topper.

The accessible rooms have one drawback... no ramp down from the french doors to the car park so one of the able-bodied party had to always be on hand... although the staff helped whenever they were asked or noticed the problem.

Generally the place is looking a bit shabby, although still thoroughly cleaned, such as the roof of the dining room leaking during torrential rain.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and a very quick and flexible service. The dining area was under a lot of pressure for evening meals and ours were for the most part very good. I didn't complain about my food when the main ingredient (tuna) proved to be cold as everything else was piping hot... in fact the chunky chips bordered on volcanic!

We've re-booked in the hopes that it is still going strong next year... someone should take on this excellent staff team and give the place the make over it needs.

Room Tip: WiFi in the annexe is too weak to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpyoldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    39
    20
    14
    10
See reviews for
27
61
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

There is a point where quaint oldy worldy becomes tatty and this is well past this point
The furniture looks like it came from a junk shop, and £80 pound a night seems expensive for a room where the paint is hanging off the ceiling and woodwork and the wall paper is hanging off the wall
The wifi didn't reach as far as the room i stayed in, the hotel suggested stealing wifi from Ladbrooks betting office nextdoor
Overall you should get a lot better for this kind of money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevr232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Looking at earlier reviews chose this for a stop over between Yorkshire and Portsmouth.
Room was small, single, metal-framed bed crammed in next to window which would not open so no fresh air (no air-conditioning either). Room was at front overlooking main street so noisy.
Dinner was pretty terrible - in fact after the main course (overdone shoulder of lamb) I had ot order a burger to satisfy my appetitie.
Bar staff friendly and attentive.
Breakfast a huge disappointment, especially the bacon - pumped full of salt water.
Would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

5 of us stayed 4 days on a cycling holiday. V friendly staff. Great food & beer. Big beer garden. Well placed in centre of town. Small car park, but we all got in OK. Right behind the hotel, so good for the bikes. Big breakfasts. Recommend the Wheafsheaf & the Grainstore in town. Lovely cycling routes in all directions. Avoid Calico nightclub if you are over 30.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a big twin, with private balcony overlooking car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danglefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed two nights on Thursday and Good Friday. We had room 8 which is out the back of the pub and nice a quiet - but be aware, the windows are quite low and look out onto other peoples properties - worth remembering whilst getting dressed!
The room itself was comfy with lots of furniture - loads of storage if staying for a while. A hairdryer was provided (nice touch) and there was a tv and digital box - but we didn't use to comment on this. Tea an coffee facilities were provided (including decaf) and some biscuits. The ensuite was a good sized shower, sink and toilet with good space around all and shelving for your bits and bobs. Possible downsides were the decor/finish in teh bathroom, there was no plinth to the shower tray and the shower doors didn't shut properly, a tile was cracked on the floor and the toilet cisternm was quite possibly the slowest filling cistern in the world! BUT - there was nothing dirty or unsafe and it all worked OK.
Breakfast was included and they very kindly amended mine to accomodate my food intolerances and preferences (tinned tomatoes rather than fresh - I prefer them!). The food itself was lovely and it was also a nice cup of coffee.
Another thing that impressed us (but we know others would hate it), was that they asked us if we wanted the room refreshing/cleaning whilst we were having breakfast - we said no as we didn't need anything replacing and hate to see towels and sheets washed for no reason. I would imagine if we had wanted fresh biscuits or cups they would have replaced them if we'd asked - they were very friendly and accomodating staff.
My final hint would be to find the car park at the back - the entrance is through a small housing 'estate' that all have bright blue doors and is opposite Tesco's.
Overall we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and I would recommend staying here to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The staff really went out of their way for us! so helpful- and they fed 39 people for breakfast when they were expecting only 29! they were brilliant and we all had a fabulous time. I recommend them. Tim cooked me a specula dinner- and those 39 breakfasts- Ro made the rooms so welcoming and clean. Thanks to all for such a great time and good luck in the future.
Best wishes
Carolyn

Room Tip: Room 1 is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Set in the beautiful town of Oakham with direct rail connections to Peterborough and Leicester. Beautifully presented.clean, comfortable, lovely full English breakfast and friendly staff.Nice garden area which in the summer is lovely (i popped in last summer for a drink in the garden), nice setting. A few shops worth visiting, my favourite Baubles and Bangles a few yards away. Overall stay lovely.Twin room.tv.tea/coffee making facilities. Parking. Tv. I would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 2012travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakham
0.1 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
3.1 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Plough
The Old Plough
#1 of 1 in Braunston-in-Rutland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Hornblower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Hornblower

Property: The Admiral Hornblower
Address: 64 High Street | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oakham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Admiral Hornblower 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Admiral Hornblower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiral Hornblower Hotel Oakham
The Admiral Hornblower Oakham, Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing