We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B at its best”
Review of The Tithe Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tithe Barn
Ranked #5 of 14 Oakham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hythe Kent
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“B&B at its best”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Two nights here before staying at a hotel on Rutland Water.
Found by chance in the "Discover Rutland" Magazine.
Excellent room with a fantastic bed over 6 foot wide
Superb facilities and everything in the room a traveller could need for a short stay.
Breakast was served at a good time with lots of choice.
Friendly owners who put you at ease on arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
45
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This B&B is in a quiet location with well appointed rooms and free wifi. There are some nice welcoming touches like the sherry in the room. We had one of the cheaper rooms with a separate but reserved for us bathroom across a corridor. We were very happy with it. The room was very clean and the staff friendly. For breakfast - there is the option of the Full Monty or a ½ Monty. The Full Monty was plenty big enough! In the event the ½ monty would do most folk!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crassus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Loved it!
Room 5 was lovely, clean, comfortable and spacious - but then it was a double and twin and there were only the two of us. Bedding all clean and it was SO comfortable. We even had a decanter of sherry! The shower & toilet were also spotless. (If there is a downside it was slightly small - but it was an en-suite.)
TV worked fine and there was even wifi - there was a tiny issue with that but the owner was upgrading the system at the time!!
Staff couldn't be more helpful and polite. The young man who served us at breakfast was a delight. Talking of breakfast....we had the HALF size English and blooming yummy! It was one of the best we've had. The quality of (local) produce was very good. On the final day we decided against having that again so we enquired about something not on the menu - scrambled egg on toast. Wow. Fluffy or what??!! And the toast was fine too.
The owner came out and talked to us to ask us how we/things were but not overbearing. He helped us out with what to do - especially after the torrential rain and thunder & lightning!
He also showed us the outside rooms (Room 6) which has a conservatory and is definitely worth considering! Oh, there's a king size bed too!
Overall, fabulous. And, no, we are not the owners trying to push up our rating - we are two very satisfied customers who will have no hesitation in recommending it to our discerning friends - oh, we have already!
Nick & Teresa, Benfleet

Room Tip: Try 5 or 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We toyed at this BnB as part of a tour of the UK, mainly staying in BnBs in the same price category. This was the best of the bunch.

The BnB is was easy to find, very attractive and our room was lovely.

Breakfast was excellent.

Parking was very convenient, right at the back of the property.

The wifi dropped out a couple of times, but was otherwise good.

The location was vey convenient for Rutland Water with a pub in walking distance and lots of other lovely villages nearby.

I'd like to go back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clareball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chimoio, Mozambique
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

What a lovely, pleasant stay. I spent two nights at the Tithe Barn. The staff were friendly, the room clean and tidy with a lovely very comfortable bed. The en-suite bathroom was not large, but was well organized with everything one could need. The special little touches (complimentary sherry, mints, a variety of teas etc) added to the feeling of being genuinely a treasured guest.
The breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4us2enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We booked in at late notice whilst on a weekend touring break around the Rutland area.

Good points :

Polite staff
Clean and tidy room
Very big bed (a big plus point) with nice bedclothes
Nice big towels and bathrobes
Complimentary sherry
Good breakfast though so choice beyond usual fry up (such as kipper)
Quiet village location within easy reach of Oakham, Rutland Water, Uppingham etc

Not so good :

Lack of proper curtains meant that the room was very bright as we were having a super-sunny weekend and on the sunny side of the house in room 7 - so I awoke at the ungodly hour of 5.20am and couldn't get back to sleep as I usually need a dark room.
There was hardly any loo roll left for us so we had to start using tissues.
Radiator on full blast in the bathroom when we didn't need one (and couldn't turn it off!)

Room Tip: Not Room 7 if you don't want light to wake you up early in summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChilledByNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

myself and my husband stayed here for a romanic getaway in april, from the moment we arrived we were really well looked after the owners are very friendly and accomodating, we stayed in the superior king size room it had a huge bed and a fantastic layout with a large bathroom the attention to detail was second to none with everything you need provided for ( even sherry in the room ) we had a fantastic nights sleep.
the breakfast was amazing and well presentend with plenty of choice with great local produce and home made jams, we are booking again for a winter stay, would highly recomend staying here for any occasion. great find and better than some 4 star hotels we have stayed in!! enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakham hotels
2.8 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
869 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
6.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tithe Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tithe Barn

Property: The Tithe Barn
Address: The Tithe Barn Clatterpot Lane | Cottesmore, Oakham LE15 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Oakham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tithe Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rutland B&B is situated in a handsome converted Tithe Barn, which dates back to the 15th Century. Set in some of England's least discovered yet most staggeringly beautiful countryside in the county of Rutland, we offer very comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation in a charming and friendly atmosphere. The house is set in an attractive village location, away from any busy roads, and offers a welcome retreat for all our guests. It retains many of it's original features and unique charm, and we offer professional and friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tithe Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tithe Barn Oakham, Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing