We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oakham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint and full of character”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely 2 night stay here. Great location in market st, close to town and the perfect base for sightseeing. Lots of lovely restaurants close by. Lovely warm welcome from staff. Room comfortable with a lovely view over the very pretty courtyard. Lots of little 'nooks and crannies' to sit around in throughout the hotel. Special mention for the night porter, Lami....so friendly and accommodating. Great breakfast choice. Well cooked, well served and perfect portion size with quality produce. Only downside....bar ran out of white wine and no shower in bathroom. Will definitely visit again. Thank you

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the "Whipper". For some reason, we had a very high consumption of the white wine you preferred that day and we had no more in stock that evening. I was not aware that you had a challenge with the shower and I will look into that and see what went wrong. My apologies for that.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Whipper-In.

Best wishes,
The Whipper Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    190
    82
    46
    39
See reviews for
54
282
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from afternoon tea at this hotel.

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and led to the lounge which was cosy and nice.

Our order for tea and coffee was taken quickly and within minutes the drinks and sandwiches arrived. The sandwiches were nice but as already stated in other reviews, the fillings were a bit underwhelming.

The cakes, on the other hand, were lovely. The scones were a little small but the Victoria sponge and lemon drizzle more than made up for it.

On the whole a perfectly nice afternoon tea and would recommend :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mango1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience about your Afternoon Tea at our hotel. I have spoken to our kitchen brigade and made them aware of your comments about the sandwich fillings which are usually just right. At this occasion it was obviously not the case for which I apologise and I am pleased that the cakes made up for it! We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Whipper-In very soon.

Best wishes,
Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent two very pleasant nights at The Whipper-in. The room allocated was not suitable for our needs and so was immediately changed to a much better one. The twin beds were very comfortable, the bedding crisp and the bathroom was spotless. Our stay was enhanced by the very friendly and efficient staff. We wish Robert and Cornelia every success with bringing this hotel up to standard. The food at both dinner and breakfast was generous and delicious. A lovely place to stay whilst exploring this relatively 'secret' area of the country.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We were delighted to read about your comfortable and pleasant experience at your recent stay at the Whipper-In. We do pride ourselves in giving genuine hospitality to our valued guests and we are passionate about food.
Thank you very much for sharing this and we do hope to be able to welcome you back very soon to our hotel.

Best wishes,
Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow upon Soar, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My mum received a voucher for Mothers Day for afternoon tea for two. How exciting, we thought and we chose the Whipper-In Hotel because of its location.
We arrived an hour early in bad weather (the plan had been to mooch around Oakham but it was raining heavily) and asked whether we could come in. The staff were very accommodating and our table was already set and ready for us, so they were obviously ready for our visit. We were surprised at the speed with which the cake stand arrived; no sooner had we sat down than it appeared, laden with sandwiches, cakes and fruit. It became very apparent that the sandwiches had been made well in advance - they were very soggy and this made them very unappetising. Had we arrived on time, the sandwiches would probably have been disintegrating. The cakes were stale, although the scones were enjoyable. It wasn't a particularly pleasing experience - it was meant to be a treat, something we don't do very often....in fact it was something I had never done. Had the sandwiches not been soggy, they would still have been disappointing: Ham and mustard, cheese and pickle and smoked salmon, cream cheese and cucumber....rather uninspiring fillings that can easily be made at home. We didn't complain because we didn't want any fuss but I know I should have said something. Why prep the cake stand so well in advance? Anyone with a modicum of sense should know that sandwiches go soggy and cakes go stale. We would have been happy to wait for freshly prepared food and this review would never have been written.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanderSpeedwell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Madame,

We are really sorry that your afternoon tea service was not up to our usual high standards. Please do accept our sincere apologies. Should you have brought this to our attention on the day, we would certainly have done the needful for you to be satisfied.

We would certainly want to invite you back to the Whipper-In so please do give us a call and ask to talk to the General Manager quoting your comments posted on here. We will be delighted to treat you to an Afternoon Tea proper with our compliments, ofcourse.

We look forward too hearing from you.

Best wishes,
The Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oakham hotels

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I dont understand the reviews i have read. The staff seemed lovely but after i had walked into the hotel and looked round i wasnt intending to stay. Everywhere needs a complete make over. The restaurant? more like a cafe and the lounge is grubby. There wouldnt be a point in dressing up and coming down for dinner. When i looked at our room i thought the window was open the window frame was completely rotten. Sorry if this sounds bad but i was shocked i have never been in a place like that before and hopefully never again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainesteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Ms Steele,

Thank you for your comments. We offered you to change your room upon arrival since the one allocated to you was not to your liking. Regrettably you had already made up your mind, within the hour, that you did not want to stay with us. Your comments on our restaurant and lounge are of course a matter of taste as it pertains to the product. I am certain, if given the chance, you would have been very satisfied with the ambience, our friendly service and fine cuisine as shown in our customer reviews.

With our best wishes,
The Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dartford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Have just returned home from a lovely stay in a very welcoming hotel. Fantastic value for money and very,very comfortable to stay in. The night porter was extremely friendly. A lovely black male with a smiley face and a warm welcome. Bed was very comfortable and sheets were immaculate.Breakfast was outstanding so was the service .The staff were attentive without being annoying and the lady that we checked out with was lovely,warm and friendly. We are already planning to stay again in November and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insaneinez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experience at the Whipper-In. Our Night Porter is a valued employee as are the rest of the team. Our people are our strength and it gives us pride that we were able to provide you with our best service and comfort during your stay. We look very much forward to welcoming you back in November this year.
With our best wishes,
The Whipper-In Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stopped overnight on way to London. Executive room which was more like a suite and agree with others that more lighting would have been helpful, though may have detracted from the style of the place. We required a light bulb replaced and this was done immediately.

The staff could not have been more helpful and at dinner a new waitress dealt very well with a most distasteful couple at the next table. The food was good at both dinner and breakfast and was of a standard expected for the Inn. One crit is that Wifi is only free in public areas and not in the rooms, a factor that breaches my 'policy' of only fully recommending places where it is totally free. However, it was only £3 for 24 hours!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Whipper-In. We are very pleased that we could provide you with great food and service during your stay. We are in the process of upgrading our wifi network to be faster and more accessible. We are aware that a few rooms could benefit from brighter lighting and that is on our to-do-list as well. We hope we will be able to welcome you back soon again to the Whipper-In.

With our best wishes,
Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakham
2.9 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
2.6 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
2.0 mi away
The Old Plough
The Old Plough
#1 of 1 in Braunston-in-Rutland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Whipper-In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Property: Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Address: Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oakham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Whipper-In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century coaching inn is in Oakham town centre, in the old market square. It has free parking and original features, including real log fires and ancient oak beams. The Brook Whipper-In Hotel is a traditional country hotel. It is less than 500 metres from Oakham Rail Station, which has regular direct trains to Leicester, Peterborough and London Stansted Airport. Hotel Rooms: 24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brook Whipper-In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whipper In Hotel
Whipper In Hotel Oakham
Brook Whipper-In Hotel Oakham, Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing